ACCA

Robo

nowaday acca need 3 experience meh

i thto cpa is the one that need :huh:

there barrier to entry to accounting profession is quite low

just get acca can already

a determined FT can do it

tiagong even got FT chartered accountant willing to work for less than fresh nus ntu grads

the 2 professions that have very high barrier to entry are law and politician [:p][laugh]

the legal professional act is very strict on foreign lawyers practising in SG

If you talk about legal practice in Singapore...prabably yes.

But if they go inhouse as inhouse counsels? Just go MNC and you'll know what I mean. Some of them came from Uni that is unheard of <_<

nowaday acca need 3 experience meh

i thto cpa is the one that need :huh:

there barrier to entry to accounting profession is quite low

just get acca can already,a determined FT can do it

tiagong even got FT chartered accountant willing to work for less than fresh nus ntu grads

the 2 professions that have very high barrier to entry are law and politician [:p][laugh]

the legal professional act is very strict on foreign lawyers practising in SG

actually i dun really care abt salary.. sad to say make more from investment than hardwork.

But i think i am too young to retire and stay at home and do nothing.

career switch to accounting at 35, a bit late leh.....

you probably get a 23 year old mei mei as your superior if that is your intention [sly][laugh] [laugh]

hmm.. then shld i spen $20k for a master in acct for 16 mths?

ACCA seem to be tough.. but alot cheaper and next time can do pte accounting at home.;)

If you talk about legal practice in Singapore...prabably yes.

But if they go inhouse as inhouse counsels? Just go MNC and you'll know what I mean. Some of them came from Uni that is unheard of <_<

inhouse no need to be called to the bar mah [:p]

anyone doing a mid-career switch from IT to FIN ?

Am complementing on doing ACCA or Master in accounting with kaplan.

IT is getting boring and alot of squeeze from FTs..

So want to venture to something else while financially stable as part of a long term plan.

Is it hard to get hired for a junior acct position when over 35 ? Dont mind starting all over again.

In accounting you can still get hired if you are willing to join those audit firms which tends to hire fresh grads. There you work in a very junior position, get low pay, work long hours, but it is a good practising ground to gain experience.

And in accounting, there is always a demand. Every company needs an accountant, either full time or part time. Unlike IT which can be easily subcon out to local or overseas support teams like some companies here.

If you are really keen, then go for it.

actually i dun really care abt salary.. sad to say make more from investment than hardwork.

tiagong sell IT system can earn a lot of marnie [sly][laugh][laugh] but must throw in some freebie here and there [sly][grin]

hmm.. then shld i spen $20k for a master in acct for 16 mths?

ACCA seem to be tough.. but alot cheaper and next time can do pte accounting at home.;)

if do pte at home, i print you one certificate for $200 can liao [laugh] [laugh]

do a business degree or mba lah, accounting not a job for human [sweatdrop]

In accounting you can still get hired if you are willing to join those audit firms which tends to hire fresh grads. There you work in a very junior position, get low pay, work long hours, but it is a good practising ground to gain experience.

And in accounting, there is always a demand. Every company needs an accountant, either full time or part time. Unlike IT which can be easily subcon out to local or overseas support teams like some companies here.

If you are really keen, then go for it.

thanks for your encouragement..

In your case, you should continue in your comfort zone, in your current job. But work wise be more relax, don't be so stress, don't take up projects, be more bo chap...till retirement (if possible).

if do pte at home, i print you one certificate for $200 can liao [laugh] [laugh]

yalor

all except one of my firends is still doing accounting

he fc 18k per month, got marnie but no time to spend [:(]

the rest of us in internal audit, zhao tax [grin] , compliance, aml, forensic audit

yalor

all except one of my firends is still doing accounting

he fc 18k per month, got marnie but no time to spend [:(]

the rest of us in internal audit, zhao tax [grin] , compliance, aml, forensic audit

I don't mind getting 18K a month but no time to spend!!! At least my family has enough to spend it is good enough. :D

Hei...isn't audit (be it internal or compliance) also part of accounting?

In your case, you should continue in your comfort zone, in your current job. But work wise be more relax, don't be so stress, don't take up projects, be more bo chap...till retirement (if possible).

i like *STRESS* .. ha ha ha ...

oei oei oei

pm already say mai idle liao, mai da bai gong work life balance, must cheong

you still tell him relag [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Nowadays many jobs also not for human.....not only in accounting. [:(]

i like *STRESS* .. ha ha ha ...

one particularly profitble part of accouting is tax

but unknown to most, the guy that make the most is the tax accountant but the tax lawyer

you need to be real laywer, work for iras for a few years, then you join law firm to be tax consultant [scholar]

tiagong jin ho tan [sly]

one particularly profitble part of accouting is tax

but unknown to most, the guy that make the most is the tax accountant but the tax lawyer

you need to be real laywer, work for iras for a few years, then you join law firm to be tax consultant [scholar]

tiagong jin ho tan [sly]

Jin ho tan is one thing. But responsibility heavy!

Wait file sala tax claim for client can go to jail one lor... [sweatdrop]