Alvinnoob 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 been in the sales line for almost 5 years, oil&gas sector. been toying the idea of switching to accountanty. any sound advise? plan to take ACCA part time, probably within 2 years get level 2. And change to some account job. while taking the final level. what would be the pay like after level 2? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 you start from scratch lor... audit asst... 2k+ per month i think min level 2 to get in big 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alvinnoob 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 wah... interesting.. press the restart button, sell car away. move to other country in 2 years after being with audit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 I am also considering taking ACCA. Someone has advise to take CPA instead? What are the differences? Is ACCA better than CPA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatodin 3rd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 I am also considering taking ACCA. Someone has advise to take CPA instead? What are the differences? Is ACCA better than CPA? ACCA = Professional Qualification CPA = Professional Membership To be a CPA, get your professional qualification first, be admitted as provisional member and then take ICPAS pre-admission course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
At3li3r Neutral Newbie October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 ACCA is good to have but tough to pass. Currently in Shipping industry and in level 2 of ACCA but already struggling at F6. Anyone taking part time and is around F4-6? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 Working and studying is hard, but do that with 2 small kids ... ... i plan to take ACCA / CFA, but now kids still small, hard sia. But acccounts can be self taught and thru experience. i specialised into credit managment and am now a regional credit controller in a listco. A bit regret din stay in gen accounting, coz FC positions are quite a lot, as compared to credit positions, which are quite niche like treasury and tax. Now if i want to go back to a FC role, i think i have lost touch and not much exprienced in gen acctg liao leh ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 a few more lateral movement and you can jump straight to cfo, bypassing the traditional fc route. fc to me is still a bean counter whereas a cfo is a financial strategist, realising the long term financial goals of the co. also the right hand man of the ceo. investor day who go and meet the press? it's the ceo and cfo and maybe the coo. fc still in office closing the monthly accounts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alvinnoob 1st Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 pardon me.. but what is FC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donghai Neutral Newbie October 30, 2010 Share October 30, 2010 think its financial controller? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 anyone doing a mid-career switch from IT to FIN ? Am complementing on doing ACCA or Master in accounting with kaplan. IT is getting boring and alot of squeeze from FTs.. So want to venture to something else while financially stable as part of a long term plan. Is it hard to get hired for a junior acct position when over 35 ? Dont mind starting all over again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 pardon me.. but what is FC? Definitely not Fuel Consumption It's Financial Controller of an organisation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 anyone doing a mid-career switch from IT to FIN ? Am complementing on doing ACCA or Master in accounting with kaplan. IT is getting boring and alot of squeeze from FTs.. So want to venture to something else while financially stable as part of a long term plan. Is it hard to get hired for a junior acct position when over 35 ? Dont mind starting all over again. start from sratch and be audit assistant? you are crazy man that kind of a job is only for young people, lots of time to burn, no committement type Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 start from sratch and be audit assistant? you are crazy man that kind of a job is only for young people, lots of time to burn, no committement type if not how to clock 3 yrs of experience for ACCA ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 start from sratch and be audit assistant? you are crazy man that kind of a job is only for young people, lots of time to burn, no committement type Kate Spate can turn into Hermes remember? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 if not how to clock 3 yrs of experience for ACCA ? nowaday acca need 3 experience meh i thto cpa is the one that need there barrier to entry to accounting profession is quite low just get acca can already a determined FT can do it tiagong even got FT chartered accountant willing to work for less than fresh nus ntu grads the 2 professions that have very high barrier to entry are law and politician the legal professional act is very strict on foreign lawyers practising in SG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 Kate Spate can turn into Hermes remember? yes yes!!!! end up become mp wor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 career switch to accounting at 35, a bit late leh..... you probably get a 23 year old mei mei as your superior if that is your intention [laugh] anyone doing a mid-career switch from IT to FIN ? Am complementing on doing ACCA or Master in accounting with kaplan. IT is getting boring and alot of squeeze from FTs.. So want to venture to something else while financially stable as part of a long term plan. Is it hard to get hired for a junior acct position when over 35 ? Dont mind starting all over again. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...