Boyboy 1st Gear June 5, 2009 Share June 5, 2009 u very free issit? i let people waste THEIR money. no point wasting my breath. i will mention a few times but it's still up to them to make their choice. no need for them to acknowledge that i am right, cos it doesn't benefit me (benefits THEM ) anyway, my getz 1.1 must pump 98 . not sure whether vpower in SG got diff but malaysia vpower no effect. btw, normal getz pump 92 enuff hor. mine special case, ignition advanced and tuned on RON 97 petrol. so even 95 also really CMI. i switch back to SG petrol but cannot bear to pump 98. suffered on 2 tanks before deciding to bite the bullet and pump 98. will stick with 98 henceforth. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 5, 2009 Share June 5, 2009 Itz not placebo effect. Vpower and 98 very distinct difference. Not so sure about the mileage though cos my driving style is not constant. u pay, u pump, u enjoy, good for u honestly, i go by $ per km. quite sure 95 causes my engine to suffer. but i never tried vpower so i wun condemn it. but if u wanna pump vpower every tank, then i think it's really overkill imho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Williee Neutral Newbie June 5, 2009 Share June 5, 2009 im saying the shell boss should be a idiot like wat u phrase who ever lose would have 2 raise the price first as a forfeit. than he always lose yet still bet. wun that make him an idiot. got it idiot and the name calling starts. hahahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Williee Neutral Newbie June 5, 2009 Share June 5, 2009 looks like shell boss won golf tonight. wahahaha caltex start the price hike first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fred86 Neutral Newbie June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 Usually I am using esso 5000.. now seems like shell 95 better FC for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nautilus 2nd Gear June 7, 2009 Share June 7, 2009 Usually I am using esso 5000.. now seems like shell 95 better FC for me. Esso 5000 really CMI. No power and poor mileage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmokh Neutral Newbie June 7, 2009 Share June 7, 2009 Well thatz your fren's experience. In my case, the difference is obvious expecially the roughness/sound of the engine. Different engines may behave differently. In any case I pump V Power only if it is priced at 98 price. Some bashers just cant stand it if some people like to pump more expensive petrol, BTW otz not your money they are using and many people definitely can afford it. If itz too exp for you then dun pump, dun kick up a fuss and stay within the topic. Sorry ah, not talking about you Tigershark. Same here. I only pump Shell when V-power on promo. Personally I'm on Caltex cos my company got corporate discount. Also for mileage wise, Shell just give me like 30-40km more than Caltex but the discount is not enough to cover the mileage difference. As long as the mileage difference is <60km, Caltex is still cheaper for me. I beg to differ about the Platinium is not in 98 anymore. Before Caltex did the change, my mileage difference between the 2 brands was like 50-60km. Taking all things constant, ie both brands i use 98. After the switch, I find Caltex better for me. From my colleague, his dad has been caltex all the while and he claimed that it does makes the engine cleaner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched June 7, 2009 Share June 7, 2009 From my colleague, his dad has been caltex all the while and he claimed that it does makes the engine cleaner. There's no way we can know if engine is clean. Maybe he find the engine smooth but that depends a lot on engine oil used. I rather clear carbon once in a while to get real world, noticeable effect than to get expensive petrol which may or may not have improvement. But then if I drive in NSHW, I'll get the more expensive petrol without thinking. Clear carbon with good petrol makes my car rev. willingly and smoothly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear June 7, 2009 Share June 7, 2009 Amazing how so many people love to pump premium petrol when their cars don't need it. No wonder the oil cartel loves us! We're happy to give them our money and they're happy to take it! Of course it doesn't matter that not everyone loves to subscribe to the oil cartel's BS because since so many people love it, they can forcefeed it to us anyway. I've tried Shell's VPower and 98 both on my current car for several tanks now. At least 3 tanks of Vpower were spent on hard driving and at least 3 were spent on just normal driving - 0 boost and keeping revs under 3.5k. Same for 98. My conclusion was that Vpower was a whole load of BS and wasted money. Not only did I get a lot less mileage each time (something like 100km less per full tank) but even qualitative factors like engine smoothness and power weren't any better than if I'd pumped 98. Honestly, can someone tell me what CONCRETE advantage Vpower is supposed to have over normal 98 octane petrol? If I valued engine smoothness so much that I'd be willing to pay good money for it, I'd have gotten a car with a V8. Or gone to rebalance the engine or something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear June 7, 2009 Share June 7, 2009 There's no way we can know if engine is clean. Maybe he find the engine smooth but that depends a lot on engine oil used. I rather clear carbon once in a while to get real world, noticeable effect than to get expensive petrol which may or may not have improvement. But then if I drive in NSHW, I'll get the more expensive petrol without thinking. Clear carbon with good petrol makes my car rev. willingly and smoothly. Precisely! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legod1 Neutral Newbie June 7, 2009 Share June 7, 2009 aiyo which petrol better is as mentioned by some other bros is subjective cuase different engine and engine oil maintenance level will give varying results. but just going for minimum required in manual may not be optimal fuel economy choice esp if price diff small - do experiment a bit unless your owners manual got say RECOMMENDED octane. i mean if 91 is minimal using 92 will run and not damage the car but running 95 may give slightly better performance and fuel economy which is classified here as recommended octane. running 98 then will give absolutely no benefits provided all things remain constant except octane only. thats why i not surprised by varying degrees of feedback over premium fuel and different octane fuels used by bros here. shell not stupid to market a premium v-power petrol with absolutely no diff from normal 98. they added certain additives etc that give certain benefits - some cars feel it more some cars less. if car is very new possibly no or little diff but over time i think should have some diff but problem is as pointed out by some folks difficult to FEEL or notice it. as most of us dun drive cars too long (beyond 5 years or 10 years) its not untrue to say that choice of say engine oils and fuels is all the same. yet if you say do tuning or modifying car for more power then obviously better grade fuel will afford you better performance almost all the time. another point to note being i dun know how true but i liked the platinum over v-power when prices same. now it being cheaper i liked it more but question is whether its the same platinum nobody can answer for sure but i would like to think caltex no point bluff as their petrols even the gold 98 and 95 and 92 all very well recieved even b4 their offer and a BIG BIG company like them need to bluff meh??? in the past i did some experiments with my car, i run normal 98 and v-power and found better fc with v-power yet its marginal and taking into account price diff etc still wiser to stay on normal 98 that was when prices at highest peak. now with prices dropping i am using v-power and if it rises again i will be back on normal 98. (caltex which i like my place here dun have and going out of the way to pump it not cost effective) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legod1 Neutral Newbie June 7, 2009 Share June 7, 2009 Precisely! caltex main claim to fame is techron which cleans the fuel combustion parts of the engine and its well documented. and i dun see how he can say he rather pump cheaper when caltex prices as cheap as all other brands and go NSE clear carbon??? the chap is just saying he use caltex and not some exotic premium petrol and even so platinum is same price as any normal 98 and marginally more ex than other normal 95!!! seriously i see no point in your argument, think you guys got carried away and missed the poor chap's point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Murphys33 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 my current ride is a bmw e90 325i. The only objective comparison that i can make is that caltex platinum gives me an average of 50km more of mileage per tank. That said, i alternate between v-power and clatex platinum - when the promotion is on, i pump v power otherwise, i default to platinum. v-power gives me better pick up and this appears fairly evident when i go up KL. This is rather subjective and i have no way to quantify it. On noise floor and engine vibration, i tend to note that platinum has the edge here. On niose floor and engine vibration, i tend to think that engine oil matters more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 for my car, i realised Caltex can't work for me...... i always pump 95 grade. my usual petrol is Esso or Shell. then because of extra 2% i get if i pump Caltex. so i try lor..... and i pump for few tanks of Caltex 95. i can feel the difference for my car.... the diff is no pick up power and higher FC.... the no pick up power is so different that i thought my tyres are under inflated or my air filter is choked! i start to check this and that.... i suspected its the Caltex petrol.... i switched back to Esso or Shell 95.... wow... the difference can be felt again.... i think it varied from car to car and how sensitve the driver is.... some drivers are really numb to the differences Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fred86 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 My friend told me... ESSO is recommended for 2L Cars.. because the fuel harder to burn... better for 2L and above cars... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 Caltex platinum also doesn't works for my ride..very flat and lifeless...don't know why? Tiger and hum seems to work and could free the push factor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 My friend told me... ESSO is recommended for 2L Cars.. because the fuel harder to burn... better for 2L and above cars... What? Diesel is harder to burn than petrol but you don't see people rushing to pump diesel into their GTRs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...