Sony 1st Gear June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 horn can be used on 3 occasion: hello, WTF!, horny ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardtkh Clutched June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 erm.. i think i use the horn very often.. eg, when car in front of me still day dreaming around 3~5 seconds after the light turns green.. or cars stopping in 'straight ahead' lane trying to turn right or u-turn but not in the correct lane which thus blocks the traffic, hoggers on expressway travelling less than 90km/hr on the extreme right lane etc... am i too much?? sometimes i kena 'middle-fingered' also... lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rawjak Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 i work around ubi area. there r so many L drivers driving around which i made immune to their driving abilities. i've seen many a times those impatient drivers horn like as if there's no tmr. there's one occasion at a traffic light controlled junction the green arrow already lit up. the L was about to make a turn when the engine stalled. the car behind horn the L like crazy n made the L keep on stalling 3 4 times. i was in the 3rd car behind them. no choice we were stucked there for 2-3 green arrows until i finally made the right turn. the instructor seems oblivious. maybe he also immune liao lo. so in this kinda scenario must horn or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg_yop Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 patient is precious Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littlered Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 (edited) ...so in this kinda scenario must horn or not? Try this experiment.. On Monday, horn at every bugger who you think deserves the horn. Slow movers off the lights. Those that don't signal and cut into your lane. Those who road hog. Those who talk on the phone while driving. Etc etc. Be liberal with the use of the horn. Give them long blasts, short blasts, knnccb blasts. Vary them as you like. Then at the end of the journey, note how you feel about the whole drive. On Tuesday, tell yourself you'll not touch the horn in anger for whatever reason. No matter if you've been wronged. No matter if that you think that guy needs to be warned (pls take evasive action if necessary). No matter even if you just want to say hello. At the end of the day, note how you feel about the day. Compare Monday and Tuesday. See which drive is more enjoyable. Then you have your answer. Edited June 20, 2009 by Littlered Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fenderbender Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 Worst is those big-thing-small-thing also horn. Reverse parking tap horn. Move off tap horn. See other cars get close, panic horn again. See pedestrian dig nose, horn. See stray cat/dog, just horn. Low-tiko see chio-bu on the sidewalk or crossing road, must horn. Wife/GF don't want to 'give', horn. Unable to 'give' wife/GF, big horn. Really driving amateurs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 the horn is urs in ur car. u wanna horn, just go ahead lor. no right or wrong. the only time wrong is when u get horny with a car tat belongs to someone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirrorimage 1st Gear June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 just anyhow horn la...pre-emptive also good. as long as end of the day no accident is good. pre-emptive horn can be light taps...long taps would be the vulgar get out of my F way kind of horn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 In Singapore people feel offended very easily. So if u horn even to prevent an accident, they will feel insulted and then not happy. Even overtaking some slow drivers will make them feel insulted. After overtaking them, some will overtake you back and then slow down in front of you again. I think its something to do with losing face. People here have very big faces! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Author Share June 20, 2009 In Singapore people feel offended very easily. So if u horn even to prevent an accident, they will feel insulted and then not happy. Even overtaking some slow drivers will make them feel insulted. After overtaking them, some will overtake you back and then slow down in front of you again. I think its something to do with losing face. People here have very big faces! I ever seen some horror cases where a light tap on the horn ends up in the guy who kena horn playing punk on expressways at high speeds, which might relate to dangerous accidents.. Thus, my purpose of this thread, what is the reasonable level? Today on my way back home, saw an aftermath of accident involving a lancer and a Taxi at brickland road, hope both drivers are safe, saw the airbag burst for the lancer.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Author Share June 20, 2009 horn is there to be used. if u have to brake more then gently, then the car in front is wrong Yes, your concept of the horn is similar to mine Of course like other bros said, I will use it after the incident, not during unless it is safe for me to do so.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Author Share June 20, 2009 Yep, this is my POV as well. When you need to take emergency evasive action, you don't have time to horn man! Just avoid the accident, thank your lucky stars, and at the guy/woman afterwards! However, I feel it's alright to horn when some dic-head in front of you wants to filter, at the last minute, from a 'going straight' lane, to a 'right/left turn' lane. Reasons being either forgot to filter earlier, or more irritatingly, wanted to cut queue 'cos impatient to wait like everybody else ! Not only is this extremely dangerous to vehicles travelling behind, but also mega inconsiderate to fellow road users. For goodness sakes, if you missed your chance to turn, just go to the next goddamn junction and make a u-turn! Another type of people is those who are slowly eating into ur lane kind... This kind at least horn can come into use, some is like half a car length and eat into ur lane at 20degrees.. jam brake and if suay the car behind bangs in you.. @ssholes who cant bother to check blindspots.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Author Share June 20, 2009 I think the TS meant horning AFTER he jam brakes to show his displeasure. I am curious, how about those inconsiderate drivers??? example, right lane turning lane is jammed so this guy cuts into the center lane, then drive ahead and tries to cut back in. Fails due to jam so he waits on the center lane. will u horn??? I will horn the hell out of him but I see a lot of singaporeans will wait quietly behind the guy blocking the center lane.... If i have no problem understanding what you mean, one typical place to see this is at jurong east, near IMM and creative there.. some people just don't understand the idea of queuing up and tries to cut queue, in the end slow down the traffic for the other lanes... and yes, i will horn at the bugger while trying to filter into the other empty lane when its safe to do so.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 to me the use of the horn is mandated when the possibility of an accident is imminent. definition of imminent though can be subjective. in my case, i carry out scenario planning and projection from previous road experiences as well as current situational circumstances. if i believe that there is reason for an accident to occur, even if the chance is slim, i will horn. e.g., i am driving along the driveway of a carpark and someone drives to move out of his parking lot way too close to my approach, perpendicular to my direction. i will horn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 3-4days back, after dropping a colleague, was following the turning route infront of Jurong East library out to bt batok blk 1o1 for roasted duck lunch. saw white ody stopping diagonaly right infront of library, blocking traffic flow, n a teenage girl was talking to some1 inside the ody. waited for 2O over seconds till another ride following my back tapd his horn. then ody moved out slowly, while making right angle turn tat ody lady driver turnd back show her f--king angry face to me as though i'was wrong by horning her. y cant she stopd her ride parallel to the road so as not to block others, n yet can show her f--k face like she is above the law. wat to do when u meet such a bitch driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Author Share June 20, 2009 just anyhow horn la...pre-emptive also good. as long as end of the day no accident is good. pre-emptive horn can be light taps...long taps would be the vulgar get out of my F way kind of horn. cannot anyhow horn la... anyhow horn later the guy stop you to 'chat' with you you never know when you might meet a gangster on the road yea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Author Share June 20, 2009 IMHO, there is no right or wrong to use the horn/high beam in this scenario If you horn, it would serve as a reminder for him to wake up from his ideas & check his blindspot the next time he attempt to cut into another lane. Hopefully .... Sometimes high beaming doesn't work as well as horning cos that fellow infront might not even notice about it There was once when i was driving my Nissan March when an Ah Pek whom was busy talking to his passengers that he didn't even noticed that i was jus half a car's length at the side of him when he simply jus started to sway into my lane My left was a concrete wall and there was nothing much i could do except horning, horning, horning & at the same time jam my brakes At the split of a second, he finally hear my Mickey Mouse horn & sway back to his own lane. Bro, best is practice defensive driving & stay alert cos there are always tons of this type of people on our roads daily Time to install huge ass horns to blast at this kind of people lor.. maybe the ah pek hearing no good, but passengers should help keep a lookout, for their own safety isn't it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie June 20, 2009 Author Share June 20, 2009 Try this experiment.. On Monday, horn at every bugger who you think deserves the horn. Slow movers off the lights. Those that don't signal and cut into your lane. Those who road hog. Those who talk on the phone while driving. Etc etc. Be liberal with the use of the horn. Give them long blasts, short blasts, knnccb blasts. Vary them as you like. Then at the end of the journey, note how you feel about the whole drive. On Tuesday, tell yourself you'll not touch the horn in anger for whatever reason. No matter if you've been wronged. No matter if that you think that guy needs to be warned (pls take evasive action if necessary). No matter even if you just want to say hello. At the end of the day, note how you feel about the day. Compare Monday and Tuesday. See which drive is more enjoyable. Then you have your answer. Yes, i understand that concept, its unarguable that on that particular tuesday you will feel much better about the drive, but often this is how we will feel when we are on the road, until some buggers start to screw up the mood.. Most of the time i realise that those who talk on the phone are more prone to causing accidents, at least a few near-accidents i witnessed was cause by this.. Its quite dangerous if you don't horn at them, and just brake, because of the braking distance, so its safer if the driver corrects his mistake.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...