KFC

Picanto

I also have a fav, but its long time ago and no more.

Anyone remember Texas Fried Chicken? The skin is crispy but down side is the skin is very bland. But inside the chicken meat is super tasty. I wish they had KFC skin and Texas meat. Ultimate if like that.

Anyone remember eating Texas Fried Chicken b4?

Anyone remember Texas Fried Chicken? The skin is crispy but down side is the skin is very bland. But inside the chicken meat is super tasty. I wish they had KFC skin and Texas meat. Ultimate if like that.

they had a branch at katong near the old immigration many eons ago....

I first tried Arnold at City Plaza in mid - 80s, now usually go to Pasir Ris Park becos near my hse.

Really love their Spring Chicken.

Second choice will by Popeye - love their biscuit.

I use to work in KFC as a cook for a short while, that was 25 years ago (those day still have waiter), do agree that the standard have drop.

But still go there occasionally for old time sake.

which brand more expensive?

i ate once before when i was young at bedok branch. the only impression i got was that the whipped potatoe was very salty. saltier than kfc lol

last night, when i was watching WWE RAW, the show was sponsored by KFC, USA and i liked what i saw - apparently, they have rolled out KGC in USA now !!

Kentucky GRILLED chicken !!!

wonder when it will hit our shores !!

yeah... i agree....

people who like to eat fried chicken, should eat at Ikea. Theirs are good and taste like a real chicken!!

maybe my luck not good .... bought half a dozen wings from ikea tampines, and they were not very well cooked ... still got blood in the wings ... maybe did not defrost fully !!

read an email from somewhere that eating too much chicken wings is unhealthy cos its the part where they inject growth hormones...might cause cancer or sumthin...dunno true or not?

KFC chicken are supposed to be steamed for a good half hour in order to get the the moisture going into the flesh for the chicken flesh. i think the 1/2 hour is a rough yardstick, they have a chart to extrapolate the timing required for different weights.

After this steaming then would the chicken parts be deep fried in very hot oil. They are then placed in ovens to lock in the crispiness and moisture.

From what i know, ever since KFC Singapore was bought over by a M'sian company, QC went south. The batter is not even applied properly. I doubt they even steam the chicken parts anymore.

Bro,

you chun or not? Since when got KFC chicken steamed first then fried? Where got steamed chart?

I know becos I make chicken before ....opps, I mean I work as a KFC chef before during my school breaks many many years ago.

This is how KFC chicken is done then (I dun think there is any change as the recipe and steps are SOP one):

a. Every packet has 18 pieces (comprises 4 drums, 4 thighs, 2 breasts, 4 wings, 4 ribs = total 2 chickens)

b. Wash chicken, remove fats

c. Dip chicken into mixture of milk/egg plus dun-no-what (all prepack secret ingredients)

d. Drain chicken and coat with secret KFC flour (also prepack secret recipe)

e. Put chick into special cage. If I remember correctly, each cage can put 1 packet of chicken (ie 18 pieces)

f. Pressure cook in special cooker about 12 minutes.

Those who like chicken wings should try the coffeeshop at Lorong Ah Soo, Blk 121. There's a Golden Rooster stall in the old-style coffeeshop there. I always buy their wings. Even tastier and less oily than IKEA. IKEA literally causes oil to drip off my fingers. $1 per pc and buy 10 pcs get 1 pc free. I always pack $10 worth home for my family.

Then a bit OT, but at Lorong Ah Soo, Blk 134, across the road from Blk 121, in an ulu coffeeshop, there's a Hainanese western food stall which is similar to Aston's style and pricing. But food is much better than Aston's! Try the steak and assam fish.

Those who like chicken wings should try the coffeeshop at Lorong Ah Soo, Blk 121. There's a Golden Rooster stall in the old-style coffeeshop there. I always buy their wings. Even tastier and less oily than IKEA. IKEA literally causes oil to drip off my fingers. $1 per pc and buy 10 pcs get 1 pc free. I always pack $10 worth home for my family.

Then a bit OT, but at Lorong Ah Soo, Blk 134, across the road from Blk 121, in an ulu coffeeshop, there's a Hainanese western food stall which is similar to Aston's style and pricing. But food is much better than Aston's! Try the steak and assam fish.

what is the price like?

Bro,

you chun or not? Since when got KFC chicken steamed first then fried? Where got steamed chart?

I know becos I make chicken before ....opps, I mean I work as a KFC chef before during my school breaks many many years ago.

This is how KFC chicken is done then (I dun think there is any change as the recipe and steps are SOP one):

a. Every packet has 18 pieces (comprises 4 drums, 4 thighs, 2 breasts, 4 wings, 4 ribs = total 2 chickens)

b. Wash chicken, remove fats

c. Dip chicken into mixture of milk/egg plus dun-no-what (all prepack secret ingredients)

d. Drain chicken and coat with secret KFC flour (also prepack secret recipe)

e. Put chick into special cage. If I remember correctly, each cage can put 1 packet of chicken (ie 18 pieces)

f. Pressure cook in special cooker about 12 minutes.

I concur this SOP. This is the same SOP 25 years ago....... :)

Kentucky Fried Chicken....we do chicken rice......i mean right.....hehe.

KFC no good one...

The bones of the chicken all extremely dark-coloured = not fresh

If you notice, KFC chicken have 'freezer smell'

KFC no good one...

The bones of the chicken all extremely dark-coloured = not fresh

If you notice, KFC chicken have 'freezer smell'

Last time good, now standard drop liao lah.

that is why must be careful when cut cost, cut until standard all drop liao.

Last time good, now standard drop liao lah.

that is why must be careful when cut cost, cut until standard all drop liao.

but their business still so good...........even mac chicken i think lose to kfc.

Chicken chops are $5.90, sirloin steak is $11, assam fish is $7.

There's others like the usual fish and chips, Hainanese pork chop, Hainanese beef stew, pasta, etc.

The main courses come with two side dishes. You can choose from coleslaw, rice, whipped potato, fries and french beans. You can also choose from 3 sauces, I think it's brown sauce, black pepper sauce and mushroom sauce. That's all I remember.

Probably less variety than Aston's for side dishes but if comparing the standard and taste of food, I think it's better. I first went there with my colleagues for lunch, they gave me a perfect medium sirloin steak which I can never get from such western food outlets, not even Aston's. But don't tabao the steak, it gets cooked in the packing so by the time you get home, it's cooked more than you want it.

Open until 10.30pm. Just went to tabao last night. :D

Think they have a webby, www.westernchow.com or something like tt.

i tried aston's once at sembawang shopping ctr...had their chicken chop, or was it grilled chix?...it was horrible!

are we toking abt the same aston's? paiseh...

for really good chicken chop (deep fried kind) i recommend the newly opened halal malay run food court at north point! [thumbsup]

i tried aston's once at sembawang shopping ctr...had their chicken chop, or was it grilled chix?...it was horrible!

are we toking abt the same aston's? paiseh...

for really good chicken chop (deep fried kind) i recommend the newly opened halal malay run food court at north point! [thumbsup]

[shakehead] , then i will be giving the Sembawang Br a miss already.

Then you should try this Western Chow.

I heard my colleague say they have a branch in Bishan and AMK coming soon too, but I don't know where. Probably got to check out their webbie.

I didn't try the chicken chop there, only tried the steak and assam fish. But many of my colleagues had the chicken chop, it does look much nicer than Aston's. The meats look slightly larger and thicker than Aston's too. Doesn't mean that restaurant standard at coffeeshop prices means smaller portions....

Anyway now Aston's franchised out to kopitiams and food courts, not sure how those taste like, I only tried two of them, the Tampines branches plus the main one at Katong, not much difference in standard. But Aston's is overhyped, I agree.