Mzrmazda3 6th Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 some many lampong chicken to supply a national chain meh? Ha ha ha .... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 My wife's a Malaysian, she only eat MY KFC. She says SG KFC not nice, she misses MY KFC. Seems like the spice they use are different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 I find MY KFC to be of sub standard, the chicken is tiny and dry by comparison. Have TS tried popeye chicken for a change ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 i tried Popeye's. The Cajun spices is a refreshing change from the usual fare of fried chicken in our little island. However the spice is only skin deep. Especially for the case of breast meat, beyond the thin layer of flesh after the skin, the meat starts to feel dry, tacky and tasteless. One then has to resort to condiments and refreshments to remedy the situation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 how about Ponggol Nasi Lemak the fried chicken wing and drumstick ? it is heaven made. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 I think Arnolds is good also seconded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sammy_koh Neutral Newbie June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 yeah popeoye chicken is nice and teasy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 the chicken wing at Ikea also superb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 Very true, really CMI. I stopped eating KFC and have switched to Arnold's Chicken, so much nicer. Cripsy on the outside and juicy on the inside. My recommendation, go for the Whole Chicken. For me, City Plaza is quite nostalgic, reminiscing the good old days when I used to grow up near Katong Shopping Centre. Hey I stay at Jln Seaview, where are you? City plaza had A&W for a while.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 Supercharged June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 how about Ponggol Nasi Lemak the fried chicken wing and drumstick ? it is heaven made. Imo, i dun really find anything special abt Ponggol Nasi Lemak the fried chicken wing and drumstick. To me n my frens, that place really 浪得虚名。 Queue so long for such exp$$$ n mundane nasi lemak, totally not worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 Anyone tried Dallas ? Any feedback ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 Very true, really CMI. I stopped eating KFC and have switched to Arnold's Chicken, so much nicer. Cripsy on the outside and juicy on the inside. My recommendation, go for the Whole Chicken. For me, City Plaza is quite nostalgic, reminiscing the good old days when I used to grow up near Katong Shopping Centre. Agree with you. I like Arnold Spring Chicken the BEST ! Less fat, cripsy and super HOT while fresh .. down side is super crowded during peak hour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 arnold chicken the skin not as crispy as KFC...the chicken is white the inner flesh can be quite dry and bland especially the breast meat...like popeye... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 Imo, i dun really find anything special abt Ponggol Nasi Lemak the fried chicken wing and drumstick. To me n my frens, that place really 浪得虚名。 Queue so long for such exp$$$ n mundane nasi lemak, totally not worth it. I would rate Ponggol Nasi Lemak as slightly above average. But i think it is not worth the long queue. I would go for the Malay stall at Adam Road instead. Much better, shorter queue and price is about the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 I'm guessing that our KFC chickens are from neighboring countries coz of Halal requirements. makes no economic sense to import from US, anyway. my guess is also they buy those 2nd grade chickens due to cheap costs etc.... the parts are probably deep frozen for a long time.... kind of not fresh anymore. Please avoid eating KFC too much. i stumbled about a Korean BBQ chicken outlet at West Coast Plaza. they use olive oil for cooking.... alot more healthier and the chicken meat is white and fresh. of course it costs alot more than KFC..... Yes, I think the chicken are mostly from local sources. So when you go to KFC overseas, it's a totally different experience. I make it a point to try KFC or some other fast food in other countries just to see the difference. Best I tried was at NZ, I think, maybe 'kampung' chicken Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 Agree with you. I like Arnold Spring Chicken the BEST ! Less fat, cripsy and super HOT while fresh .. down side is super crowded during peak hour ya lor ahahahaha yummyyy! not like KFC the whole piece of chicken is like 70% FLOUR/FATS. they have another branch at pasir ris if i'm not wrong. oh i also like the whipped potato =D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 KFC chicken are supposed to be steamed for a good half hour in order to get the the moisture going into the flesh for the chicken flesh. i think the 1/2 hour is a rough yardstick, they have a chart to extrapolate the timing required for different weights. After this steaming then would the chicken parts be deep fried in very hot oil. They are then placed in ovens to lock in the crispiness and moisture. From what i know, ever since KFC Singapore was bought over by a M'sian company, QC went south. The batter is not even applied properly. I doubt they even steam the chicken parts anymore. I think part of the reason for poor QC is that many fast food outlets here employ 'cheap' labour... you often see teens, some barely out of lower sec (?) behind the counters. Of course, pay peanuts, get monkeys. How to expect quality?? The outlet in my neighbourhood sometimes run out of soft drinks, or run out of certain chicken parts, prob because of poor kitchen/production mgmt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 I think the best fried chicken is the fresh malay style fried chicken from the neighbourhood hawker centre. nowadays getting fewer and fewer. those chicken leave a yellow color on your fingers.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...