DarkSide Neutral Newbie September 2, 2009 Share September 2, 2009 (edited) Trouble is.... The new HDB projects built by private developers are priced too close to condo prices...Half mil for 1st hand public housing? See The Pinnacle... We are not talking old-skooled,traditional SG housing estate type being cannibalised by the recent surge of condos... Before this , ppl queued like crazy for DBSS,BTO...whatever... "They" are pushing for that kinda projects before the masses ran to full-fledged condos... "They" fell flat on their faces and now on damage control PR exercise... So might as well buy condo...Ultimately, conservancy and carpark charges are not much cheaper than condo maintenance fees... At least condos come with properly done manicured lawns , pool ,security and proper maintenance... not some lazy-axxed Bangla and even lazier property officers... Somethings someone not telling truthfully... The truth is out there.... So, if you think HDB is good enuff for you and family... Good for you... If I want to bleed $$$ monthly, at least I want to know where it's goin and see where most of it had gone to... Not to a blackhole called TC or HDB.... Hahahahahaha! Edited September 2, 2009 by DarkSide ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 I LUV my HDB All i need is cable, Broadband, Aircon and my wife by myside i happy liao. Happy staying in your HDB . Hehe I told my wife and she said she's glad I am willing to forgo thicker wallet for a more comfortable lifestyle for her and my coming-soon baby I guess we can agree to disagree. I make more money so that my family can stay in better comfort. I am glad I don't have the same wavelength as you do. I guess that's just me. On a side note, I know of this guy who used to make 17k a month. He doesnt drive a car, cited its expensive....take cab is cheaper. He stays in a HDB, say buy condo siao....HDB better. So he makes lotsa money but it doesn't translate to comfort living for his family. Well...maybe different values. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 Happy staying in your HDB . Hehe I told my wife and she said she's glad I am willing to forgo thicker wallet for a more comfortable lifestyle for her and my coming-soon baby I guess we can agree to disagree. I make more money so that my family can stay in better comfort. I am glad I don't have the same wavelength as you do. I guess that's just me. On a side note, I know of this guy who used to make 17k a month. He doesnt drive a car, cited its expensive....take cab is cheaper. He stays in a HDB, say buy condo siao....HDB better. So he makes lotsa money but it doesn't translate to comfort living for his family. Well...maybe different values. Agree with you. I think I have the same mindset as you. Some people just like to see $$$ growing in the bank.....and they sort of lose their focus on why they struggle to earn the $$$ in the first place...... $$$ is only a means to an end.... Some people slog all their lives and never enjoy the fruits of their labour even till their death bed......the children will prob just waste the inheritance away as they did not earn the $$$ themselves....easy come, easy go.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear September 3, 2009 Author Share September 3, 2009 I don't see much difference between a HDB and a average condo, both are pigeon holes anyway. Landed house also has its problem too, from what i observe from friends and relatives who stay in landed house, mosquito, insects, hot and no wind etc. I think the best is to stay in pent house. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auto_emocion 2nd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 I don't see much difference between a HDB and a average condo, both are pigeon holes anyway. Landed house also has its problem too, from what i observe from friends and relatives who stay in landed house, mosquito, insects, hot and no wind etc. I think the best is to stay in pent house. a shelter is a shelter, but the quality of life is totally different. They call it HDB-Lessee vs Pte-Subsidiary Proprietors. Penthouses isn't that great if you ever stayed in one. equally as hot and warm during summer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 You type.... so...many pointers and yet you missed the most important point! ... The amount of maintenance funds you contribute can at least be 'privately' managed and accounted for...not what you get for the pigeon holers where they 'don't know who's hands are on the money' and what hell was LOST for doing what not! They ( the pigeon holers) didn't even have a say but yet it was their hard earned money! ================================================================= I always say the truth which might appear to be nasty but hell...if you want to read and hear nice things...tune in to your local radio and TV shows! Dont be too happy. You look at NKF and Ren Ci as examples. They are charity organisation with good intentions but what happen to the funds? So anything is possible. I already dont trust any organisation or group holding my money anymore except myself, let alone HDB or Condo maintenance fund ever since the Durai case. The main thing is to that they do their job keeping the surrounding clean and well maintenance. If not call or write email to screw them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holohide Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 if i compare a HDB in punggol and a condo in sengkang or near to punggol the returns from a condo in punggol will fare even worst. I'm talking about comparing a HDB in Marine Parade with a condo in Sengkang... you sure you will get the same result? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear September 3, 2009 Author Share September 3, 2009 How do you define quality of life? Does staying in condo mean a better quality of life? I don't think so loh. U can stay in HDB but still enjoy a quality lifestyle. Is all about your priority in life. I have seen ppl who are cash rich staying in HDB, house fully paid, change car every 4-5 yrs and is fully paid, own country club membership, every year go holiday with family. I have also seen ppl staying in condo, have to think twice when spending, buying car got to think here think there and end up still driving their 7yrs old car, no holiday so far. So tell me who is having quality life? And i don't see anything wrong with staying in 99 yrs lease, afterall we don't live that long so what is the diff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holohide Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 (edited) There are also people staying in condos who can enjoy a quality lifestyle... Edited September 3, 2009 by Holohide Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 How do you define quality of life? Does staying in condo mean a better quality of life? I don't think so loh. U can stay in HDB but still enjoy a quality lifestyle. Is all about your priority in life. I have seen ppl who are cash rich staying in HDB, house fully paid, change car every 4-5 yrs and is fully paid, own country club membership, every year go holiday with family. I have also seen ppl staying in condo, have to think twice when spending, buying car got to think here think there and end up still driving their 7yrs old car, no holiday so far. So tell me who is having quality life? And i don't see anything wrong with staying in 99 yrs lease, afterall we don't live that long so what is the diff. Nicely put mate...though I don't quite agree on the car part as motivation to choose between HDB and condo hehe. Otherwise, I think you hit the nail spot on! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 Agree that it is all relative and down to the different circumstances each individual is in.... It's like asking why drive a lexus when you can drive a camry (since both are toyota), then you start to ask why drive a camry when you can drive a kia (since both are cars) and finally, there will be some that ask why even bother to drive when you can be driven all around by SBS, SMRT and Comfort???? Frankly not all lexus owners are in debt and neither are all public transport users debt-free either.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 Agree that it is all relative and down to the different circumstances each individual is in.... It's like asking why drive a lexus when you can drive a camry (since both are toyota), then you start to ask why drive a camry when you can drive a kia (since both are cars) and finally, there will be some that ask why even bother to drive when you can be driven all around by SBS, SMRT and Comfort???? Frankly not all lexus owners are in debt and neither are all public transport users debt-free either.... ermmmmmmmmm this particular Lexus owner is (in debt) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 ermmmmmmmmm this particular Lexus owner is (in debt) Good for u! Supporting the economy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 At the end of the day.....to put it bluntly, having more money means more options....... If you have money......you can afford to have cars, condos, country clubs, expensive holidays....BUT it's your prerogative if you choose to live a prudent lifestyle like living in HDB...take BMW.....go Genting for holiday... If no money.....living in HDB is no longer about choice.....taking the BMW is no longer about choice.....going to Genting for family holiday is no longer about choice.... So, I do not see any point in arguing condo is better or HDB is better.....if you can afford to stay in condo but choose to stay in HDB...good for you.....but do not criticize others who made a lifestyle choice so long as they can afford it...... If you can only afford to stay in HDB.....all the more please do not have the sour grapes mentality that afflict quite a number of singaporeans.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 At the end of the day.....to put it bluntly, having more money means more options....... If you have money......you can afford to have cars, condos, country clubs, expensive holidays....BUT it's your prerogative if you choose to live a prudent lifestyle like living in HDB...take BMW.....go Genting for holiday... If no money.....living in HDB is no longer about choice.....taking the BMW is no longer about choice.....going to Genting for family holiday is no longer about choice.... So, I do not see any point in arguing condo is better or HDB is better.....if you can afford to stay in condo but choose to stay in HDB...good for you.....but do not criticize others who made a lifestyle choice so long as they can afford it...... If you can only afford to stay in HDB.....all the more please do not have the sour grapes mentality that afflict quite a number of singaporeans.... You sound like a mini-star..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2bfree Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 At the end of the day.....to put it bluntly, having more money means more options....... If you have money......you can afford to have cars, condos, country clubs, expensive holidays....BUT it's your prerogative if you choose to live a prudent lifestyle like living in HDB...take BMW.....go Genting for holiday... If no money.....living in HDB is no longer about choice.....taking the BMW is no longer about choice.....going to Genting for family holiday is no longer about choice.... So, I do not see any point in arguing condo is better or HDB is better.....if you can afford to stay in condo but choose to stay in HDB...good for you.....but do not criticize others who made a lifestyle choice so long as they can afford it...... If you can only afford to stay in HDB.....all the more please do not have the sour grapes mentality that afflict quite a number of singaporeans.... Kudos. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 At the end of the day.....to put it bluntly, having more money means more options....... If you have money......you can afford to have cars, condos, country clubs, expensive holidays....BUT it's your prerogative if you choose to live a prudent lifestyle like living in HDB...take BMW.....go Genting for holiday... If no money.....living in HDB is no longer about choice.....taking the BMW is no longer about choice.....going to Genting for family holiday is no longer about choice.... So, I do not see any point in arguing condo is better or HDB is better.....if you can afford to stay in condo but choose to stay in HDB...good for you.....but do not criticize others who made a lifestyle choice so long as they can afford it...... If you can only afford to stay in HDB.....all the more please do not have the sour grapes mentality that afflict quite a number of singaporeans.... Well said bro, your statement sums it up all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 You sound like a mini-star..... sorry if it come across as being a little "elitist"..... only when I re-read what I wrote that it occurs to me... no intention to start a flame war.... [:p] PEACE!!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...