Coltplussport Turbocharged August 4, 2016 Share August 4, 2016 Yeah. I know Seng Heng is the more famous stall. Seng Heng got few branches. Got one in Jurong west. Don't know why it's so popular leh. Found it above average but not exactly fantastic leh. Lol Haha,各花入各眼,but both stall I really don't mind. In fact during my last car servicing, I ate at both stall all by myself.i even post pictures here, but too long ago already. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sadan 6th Gear August 4, 2016 Share August 4, 2016 Braised duck..hm.. A) Sin Ming there.. Same Coffeeshop as the BKT. More known for their salted veg duck soup. The old boss not cutting the duck now.. In the past when he slice the duck, the slice is so thin and yummy! Now he just sitting there while 2 younger guys took over his duties... The Lor not as nice as before IMO. Avoid going on Sun or PH.. Madness Q. B) located opp. Nex.. Cannot rem the block. The pepper pig stomach is nice! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 http://littlejoyofbeary.blogspot.sg/2009/05/yan-chuan-roaster.html Yesterday went blk 507 jurong west at 530pm, wanted to try if their roast duck is good usually $16, yesterday saw price $18 - maybe due to hungry ghost 1st day but ducks were sold out roast meat $22/kg (looks soso), roast chicken $14 (looks dry) - didnt buy anyone tried the johnson roast duck from the stall? i passed by weeks ago, ducks looked so so..size also like "smaller" than normal The unit @507 JW is the same group as the one at Ubi I posted earlier. There are 2 type of roast duck, 烧鸭 & 琵琶鸭. The later is more expensive. Their roast pork standard a little inconsistent, sometime really too fatty or dry, the taste one of the better one around. Johnson duck, I know there is still one at Elias Mall food court (non-aircon one opposite Elias CC). Price is ~S$23/bird iirc. Meat is rather dry, and best to consume when it is still warm, as it become tough when it turn cold. I remembered there is another Johnson duck outlet at the Ghim Moh market (before it is close for upgrading), not sure if it is still around. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 I don't like braised duck but these stalls I observed always very fast sold out and long queue. Whampoa hawker, next to the famous rojak. Golden Mile hawker, aka Army market, basement. The one at Whampoa market is overrated. The meat is not really tender and the sauce a little too heavy with herb / spices. But I reckon 各花入各眼. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 (edited) Braised duck..hm.. A) Sin Ming there.. Same Coffeeshop as the BKT. More known for their salted veg duck soup. The old boss not cutting the duck now.. In the past when he slice the duck, the slice is so thin and yummy! Now he just sitting there while 2 younger guys took over his duties... The Lor not as nice as before IMO. Avoid going on Sun or PH.. Madness Q. B) located opp. Nex.. Cannot rem the block. The pepper pig stomach is nice! yeah ... sin ming that one the queue is Edited August 5, 2016 by Blueray 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 What exactly is a johnson duck. I never knew. lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 What exactly is a johnson duck. I never knew. lol. i believe is 骆庄记烧鸭 that was quite famous in the 90s, but slowly died off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 For Braised duck, if you stay in the east: 1) Sims Place hawker , stall name: Hollywood Braised Duck rice 2) Blk 16 Bedok south Hawker can't remember the stall name but there are two stalls that have the same name and there is always a queue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 i believe is 骆庄记烧鸭 that was quite famous in the 90s, but slowly died off. i ate a lot of johnson duck at ghim moh market when i was in JC, But never understood what johnson duck really was lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 Thanks all for the recommendation. My mum is teochew so i guess I'm probably fine with the lighter flavour. One of my favourite foods is braised peanuts. I actually like it more than the duck hehe. Chong Pang hawker centre braised duck always long q. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 Chong Pang hawker centre braised duck always long q. Which stall huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 i ate a lot of johnson duck at ghim moh market when i was in JC, But never understood what johnson duck really was lol. personally ... i find Johnson Duck so so nia ... just that during its time it had many outlets so quite convenient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 from roast to human to braised ducks, this thread can change name to something like that MRT/LRT simisai breakdown thread liao 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 i ate a lot of johnson duck at ghim moh market when i was in JC, But never understood what johnson duck really was lol. Johnson duck is famous in the 90s for it cheap (started of with ~$11/bird, then $13, $15, etc.) and reasonably good taste and texture. They are also "famous" for paying the highest rental for a stall at Newton food centre (@$13K/mth, and that is in the 90s!). But all these while I find the texture of their duck so so only (they use frozen duck, which the meat is generally tougher than fresh duck). I get to talk to one of the chef at their Bt. Timah branch (already closed in mid 2000), and their "secret" to make the meat less tough is to roast it till ~85% cook, then use hot oil to cook it to 100% (a little like frying). Thus skin is crispy, meat still remain tender (subjective). 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 Which stall huh? i think is 2 stall away from the corner bread stall. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 from roast to human to braised ducks, this thread can change name to something like that MRT/LRT simisai breakdown thread liao 你对鸭没有好感? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 Braised duck..hm.. A) Sin Ming there.. Same Coffeeshop as the BKT. More known for their salted veg duck soup. The old boss not cutting the duck now.. In the past when he slice the duck, the slice is so thin and yummy! Now he just sitting there while 2 younger guys took over his duties... The Lor not as nice as before IMO. Avoid going on Sun or PH.. Madness Q. B) located opp. Nex.. Cannot rem the block. The pepper pig stomach is nice! I think Saturday also cannot go sin ming eat, whether is for the duck, the pork or the prata Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 The one at Whampoa market is overrated. The meat is not really tender and the sauce a little too heavy with herb / spices. But I reckon 各花入各眼. So far I didnt get any non tender meat before. And I feel their rice is one of the best. Not many stalls can really get the yam rice right. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...