Bringing In Non-SG Ciggies! Beware!

Dexdj

Hi all,

Wanna relate my experience about bringing Malaysian and other foreign (non-Singapore) cigarettes that happened yesterday.

Went to Holiday Plaza to tailor made a couple of pants and had me hair cut with my OC yesterday. After that went makan then headed back to SG; it was only 5+pm when we reache Gelang Patah (the one before the last toll to Malaysian customs and immigration) and ALL (Petronas, Shell, Mobil) were jammed packed with SG vehicles, had to queue for quite a while to top up petrol. Anyways, after I've finished pumping, went to pay at the counter and bought a packet of smokes (Malaysian of course). Forgetfully, I didn't opened it and smoked a stick and I left it in my OC's handbag. BIG MISTAKE.

So off we went to clear Malaysian customs then proceeded to SG's customs and immigration.. cleared the passport then went for the inspection. The officer checked almost every part of my ride and when I noticed the officer asked my OC to open her handbag, only then did I remember that I had one packet of unopened smokes in it!! I was also body searched by a male officer. Naturally, the officer found it and both me and my OC had our passports withheld by the officer and then told to park our ride somewhere near the exit. In my heart, I was bloody panicking lah i tell you.. my OC, to my surprise, remained very calm (they always say before the big storm, it is always calm.. how true.. hahahaha). I was also body searched by a male officer

Since the packet of smokes were found in her bag, she was unfortunately answerable for it. In the Customs office, I was asked to wait outside. From the window outside, I was able to see what was going on. The officer was naturally giving him a piece of his mind for bringing in smokes but thank god, she was let off with a warning and to pay the tax for that one packet only.

(Together with my OC was a middle-aged guy, strange thing was, he had ONE OPENED packet but yet he was taxed too. That led me to wonder.. I think he could have either forgotten to declare or maybe he did it on purpose. Maybe when the officer asked if he had any smokes on him, he could have forgotten about it totally or he could have just play ignorance. Anyway, he was called into the office too.)

What was shocking to me was, the officer who was collecting the money (very friendly chap i must admit) reminded us not to offend again as he had JUST fined one young chap S$1000 for bringing in 05 packets of dutiable smokes WITHOUT declaring it. What I understand was, for first time offenders, it'll be a fine of S$200 per packet and S$500 per packet thereafter. More importantly, the fine had to be paid ON THE SPOT. If not, the officer said it's off to the courts.

So guys, just be very careful ya? For the kind of embarassment and possible fines per packet, i think it's just not worth it to try to hoodwink the authorities..

Oh by the way, the 'storm' came only after we reached home.. kena teruk teruk by OC!!

Dex

if you have a opened packet, and when the officer ask u whether u smoke/have cigarettes, just show it to them and it will be ok.

but even if your packet is opened and u told the officer u do not smoke/do not have cigarettes and he happen to find it then its a different story..

i think best is bring in one packet OPENED AND CONSUMED at least one stick but DO NOT keep in our pockets or in our partner's bag.. just leave it in the car where it is easily visible and accessible. And when the ICA checks, just let them do their job... at least we're not hiding anything from them.

Yesterday, i just pass custom with an open pack. The officer asked whether i had had ciggies. i said yes but just a pack. He waved me off maybe becos i had too many bags, dirty clothes and helmuts in the car. I've been through a couple of times with an open pack. All times with the cigarettes placed openly in the car's cabin. So far no issue.

I tot now law change liao, u open the ciggie pack and smoke one stick or open nv smoke also will kena caught and fine.

Yah man,

Only SDPC ciggies are allowed to be consumed in SG. Whether you visited MY yesterday or 2 min ago also kena jialat jialat.

Careful bros

happen to me too...

that was once i left few stick of cigarettes forget to bring out from my bag... and i go buy 1 new pack... when on shopping...

totally forget about cigarettes when come back to singapore... then when they ask me... i say yes 1 pack and is open... then they check my bag and found the old 5 stick of cigarettes in the box!!!!

so i was into the office...

ask me why got 2 pack??? i tell them is less then one pack, total about 19 stick only!!!

but they don't care... tell me to pay $107 or go lockup now then court 2moro...

they i keep on talking to them... they don't care...

and come 1 syt... so they ask me to wait beside and think, and let the lady go first...

the lady come with 4 pack of cigarettes (unopen)!!!! so i wait and see if they give chance to this pretty lady or not..

then sure my case nothing compare to her...

then this lady keep saying she don't smoke, just come back from genting... is her boyfriend on the bus ask her to carry...

then office ask her to call her boyfriend to come in... then when she on the phone... her bf seem like dont care tell her the bus going off soon...

then she start to cry... think the bf cut off her phone... she try to call again and his phone is off...

she tell the officer her bf off the phone... then the officer ask her to call her parent come, then she dont want to let her parent know...

then the office ask me how.. i tell them i still thinking... (want to see if they give her chance or not)

then they ask her if don't call someone to pay the fine... she will be in the lockup now. court 2moro...

and come the handcuff.... she cry & cry... and i wait & wait... for 15min...

then 2 woman office come... handcuff this syt and go to lock up!!!

then they ask me how??? i told them i pay... use nets... and the officer tell me to keep the receipt as if police check you, tell them u had pay in customs...

maybe you got criminal face.

[laugh][laugh][laugh] I hv got a friend very Ah Beng face everytime he came back from MY to custom sure kena check upside down. Nvr gv chance. He dare not buy DVD Ciggies or even sundries when he come back to Sg. His face ppl see sure buay song. Poor guy....

smoke ciggies without the SDPC sign is considered an offense. Its similar to consuming non-dutiable alcohol. Not say cannot do just do it some place that mata cannot see.

always ensure you ONLY have 1 cigarette box .. even if u got 2 boxes, and both boxes left less than 1/2 also no use 1... like wat happened to Jeffang, another buddy of mine went to JB eat bak kuteh with me... we drove 2 cars in cuz both wan fill cheapcheap petrol.. I dun smoke, and he nvr ask me to help him bring any back so nth happened to me.. After custom i waited for 45min at bke but still nvr see him come out.. called him, he sounded super kanchiong and hung up on me... 20min later he called me.. say he got 2 boxes of cigarette... 1 box left 1/2 the other box only left 2 sticks, but they still tax him.. kena fine, pay, lanlan come back lo...

[laugh] Haha, put $20 in passport then pass to the custom officer.

Haha! good one bro.. unless we're tired of enjoying freedom lah...