Drive_carcar Clutched August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 Many words were spoken, not much was said. Nothing specific to look forward to. The whole show end up a little like a trip down memory lane, nothing much more. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 I agree, only the part about racial harmony and health care was perhaps more relevant. after that just a lot of multimedia and "then and now" stories, really not what the National Day Rally is about. I hazard a guess that General Elecetion is not coming soon cos did not hear the usual scare tactics, eg, if lightning party does not get strong mandate : - foreign investors will not come, so less jobs - HDB upgrading may be affected etc etc ... all in, quite a weak one, only the first 30 mins or so was worth listening. nothing concrete on what more can be done to help with jobs if recovery is slow etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalbone Clutched August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 To summarise, just be thankful to PAP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 How to give goodies, government basically no more money. If they want to give goodies, they have to tap their reserve. I dont think they do tat. But you know how creative the government is in collecting revenue. Sooner rather than later, they will introduce some anti speculative measure to cool off the property market, and collect more money from speculators. Dont believe wait n see......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 ya waste of time this yr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 (edited) recently a lot of buzz on the "NEW IMMIGRANT" for the pass few days..... I guess sooner or later we WILL integrate... our children will marry their offsprings (see those PRC in Poly, NUS, NTU, SIM in hot pants... very chio leh). our guys/ husbands will screw them. our older single singaporean will marry them. and one day (or already happening) we will work for them and call them boss. in the end, all will be milked..... Edited August 17, 2009 by Julio369 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 recently a lot of buzz on the "NEW IMMIGRANT" for the pass few days..... I guess sooner or later we WILL integrate... our children will marry their offsprings (see those PRC in Poly, NUS, NTU, SIM in hot pants... very chio leh). our guys/ husbands will screw them. our older single singaporean will marry them. and one day (or already happening) we will work for them and call them boss. in the end, all will be milked..... that may very well be true.. oh well.. might as well start sooner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 please wear helmet hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 (edited) since you touch on the new migrant topic, i would also like to rant abit a. i went to foodcourt and notice that 90% of stall helper are PRC. i speculate in less than 10 years, all foodcourt and hawker stalls will be owned and run by PRC. just like in london, almost every newstand is somewhat owned and run by indian (they were new migrant initially) b. when there were 3-4 PRC in a MRT compartment start talking, i thought i was in china because the whole compartment is filled with PRC slang. c. we can explore to rename China Town to Little China eventually -> looks like the movie Shinjuku by Jackie Chan i agree with the government that we need new migrant but i'm in no position to judge what and how things should be done. just ranting ! recently a lot of buzz on the "NEW IMMIGRANT" for the pass few days..... I guess sooner or later we WILL integrate... our children will marry their offsprings (see those PRC in Poly, NUS, NTU, SIM in hot pants... very chio leh). our guys/ husbands will screw them. our older single singaporean will marry them. and one day (or already happening) we will work for them and call them boss. in the end, all will be milked..... Edited August 17, 2009 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 recently a lot of buzz on the "NEW IMMIGRANT" for the pass few days..... I guess sooner or later we WILL integrate... our children will marry their offsprings (see those PRC in Poly, NUS, NTU, SIM in hot pants... very chio leh). our guys/ husbands will screw them. our older single singaporean will marry them. and one day (or already happening) we will work for them and call them boss. in the end, all will be milked..... First his papa spoken in the paper abt this new immgrant, now his turn. So what they trying to tell us? Accept them and let them screw us? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 very robotic...the way he drink his water.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 not to mentioned geylang also overwhelmed with poultries from PRC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 PRC, unlike the Banglah, Ah nah, Thai's, Pinas, Myanmar... PRC seems to me they are more arrogant, proud, big on idealogy, big on ego, lazy, dirty, like to argue, talk too much & chao kheng, as if S'pore owe them one..........If you ever work with them before. You can see them like to talk over their handphone loudly in the public, with one leg on the bench, oblivious of the locals....want to act tough, act like Singapore style Ah Beng. I would love to see our local ah bengs whack them upside down on You Tube. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 since you touch on the new migrant topic, i would also like to rant abit a. i went to foodcourt and notice that 90% of stall helper are PRC. i speculate in less than 10 years, all foodcourt and hawker stalls will be owned and run by PRC. just like in london, almost every newstand is somewhat owned and run by indian (they were new migrant initially) b. when there were 3-4 PRC in a MRT compartment start talking, i thought i was in china because the whole compartment is filled with PRC slang. c. we can explore to rename China Town to Little China eventually -> looks like the movie Shinjuku by Jackie Chan i agree with the government that we need new migrant but i'm in no position to judge what and how things should be done. just ranting ! that's why nowadays Foodcourt & hawker food cooked by PRC really CMI, in fact don't know they got ethics or not..... on the food supply, freshness and preparation, if you know what i mean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 Many words were spoken, not much was said. Nothing specific to look forward to. The whole show end up a little like a trip down memory lane, nothing much more. Paid millions just to talk kork. I can do better at a fraction of his salary. Hope his cancer relapse soon. F**king useless PM we can do without. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 17, 2009 Author Share August 17, 2009 I think it's just human nature, having lived here since birth for most of us, we have developed a sort of tribal mentality. Which makes acceptance of people from outside rather difficult. Especially where they are so different from us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 HDB are for singaporeans & PR...but you find those EP/WP FT staying in HDBs.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 I think it's just human nature, having lived here since birth for most of us, we have developed a sort of tribal mentality. Which makes acceptance of people from outside rather difficult. Especially where they are so different from us. PM lee said we must live in harmony with them. dun like them also bo pian leh.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...