Donating blood for charitable cause

Kelpie

[laugh] yr answers [thumbsup]

how do you determine whether blood are not exchange for $$ [confused]

many yrs back, one of my immediate family members was involved in a hit & run. was admitted to icu for a period of time.

he kept losing blood & to stablise his condition to prepare for surgeries, we were informed that for every packet of blood it would cost a few hundred bucks, we agreed to it. subsequently, compounded to the issue was blood bank supplies running low. thus, his company ended up organising a blood drive.

anyway, kudos to those regular blood donors because not everyone can be one.

i aspire but i cannot...wait ended up receiving 2 packets after donating 1 packet [laugh]

oh..

when my ex need blood urgently i straight away went to outram to donate.

what i hear from the doctor was that if you're a regular blood donator, you will have priority if your family needs blood urgently.

cause if the patient needs blood the hospital will not refuse blood to the patient.

but just to be on the priority list its better to be a blood donator.

especially when blood supply is low.

dont know how true is that la but donating blood is not painful at all~

and you wont be able to see the packet of blood.

i couldnt find it even tho i kept looking around the machine.

i was thinking the nurse forget to put the plastic bag or my blood dripping on the floor.

so i gathered afew of my friends to donate also.

after that go back to the hospital and the doctor will put your name down.

never heard the doctor say about how much is one pack of blood.

anyway, since then, i've been donating blood regularly.

kinda fun leh. people should try.

Edited by 1l0v3you

You can opt of Apherisis, which takes only the platelets and the plasma. The nurses tell me they need this stuff more than whole blood, because they use it for burn victims, and other cases where blood matching is a problem. Something like that...

You can donate every 6 weeks (if I remember correctly), but the downside is that it takes a heck of a lot more time. Like 1.5hrs. And you need good veins for the nurses to poke.

I donated the platelets and plasma once, for my friend's sister who suffer from leukemia, it took about 1hr+ but the last few minutes (about 5 to 7) my body suddenly felt very very cold, it's not those cold that you felt from aircon, this type comes from the inner part of the body, not a very comfortable feeling actually, at least for me [sweatdrop].

and i really like to squeeze the ball.

[sweatdrop]http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry2848205 [sweatdrop]

has been quite awhile since i donated blood. partly due to my own stupid excuses such as too much alcohol in blood or excessive smoking or no time. find one day all go donate blood together. MCS support breast cancer foundation, we do bloodbank. [idea]

[sweatdrop]http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry2848205 [sweatdrop]

has been quite awhile since i donated blood. partly due to my own stupid excuses such as too much alcohol in blood or excessive smoking or no time. find one day all go donate blood together. MCS support breast cancer foundation, we do bloodbank. [idea]

wahahahahaaaha

not that kind of uppercutting ball squeezing psychotic bitch :wacko: .

we should all donate! but the last time i donated is in dec haha~

i will go next week. *determined*

wahahahahaaaha

not that kind of uppercutting ball squeezing psychotic bitch :wacko: .

we should all donate! but the last time i donated is in dec haha~

i will go next week. *determined*

plan properly all go together. i got ICT this sat onwards. [bigcry]

ict until when? what is ict ar.. NS thingy ar?

when you back liao you gather your friends i gather my friends ask people in mcf.

we go flood the bank with blood kk =D

...but the last few minutes (about 5 to 7) my body suddenly felt very very cold, it's not those cold that you felt from aircon, this type comes from the inner part of the body, not a very comfortable feeling actually, at least for me [sweatdrop].

The cold feeling is because of the anti-coagulants used in the apheresis process. When the machine is setup, you can see a small packet of clear liquid, that is the anti-coagulant. Some of the anti-coagulants will flow back into your body with your red blood, after the platelet or plasma is filtered off. Did a few apheresis already, I get that feeling about halfway thru. Not supposed to be harmful, but if you cannot tahan the feeling, you can ask the nurse to adjust the flow, supposed to help a little. But I usually just watch TV and forget about it!

ict until when? what is ict ar.. NS thingy ar?

when you back liao you gather your friends i gather my friends ask people in mcf.

we go flood the bank with blood kk =D

I vampire. Can you donate blood to me? :wub:

The cold feeling is because of the anti-coagulants used in the apheresis process. When the machine is setup, you can see a small packet of clear liquid, that is the anti-coagulant. Some of the anti-coagulants will flow back into your body with your red blood, after the platelet or plasma is filtered off. Did a few apheresis already, I get that feeling about halfway thru. Not supposed to be harmful, but if you cannot tahan the feeling, you can ask the nurse to adjust the flow, supposed to help a little. But I usually just watch TV and forget about it!

Oh I see, I did told the nurse that I was feeling cold internally, she told me that it was ending soon, about 5 more mins to go, so she just pass me a blanket to cover myself, first time lah! [:)]

I went for Apheresis just now while waiting for the car to be serviced. About 70 minutes or so to complete the procedure. Only feel a bit of numbness at lips and thats all. Free refreshment is so much better than long time ago. 3 items, one drink (cold can dirnk also have), one snack (not biscuits but bun, carrot cake and etc) and one desert (Green Bean or Red Bean soup) [thumbsup].

Regards,

I went for Apheresis just now while waiting for the car to be serviced. About 70 minutes or so to complete the procedure. Only feel a bit of numbness at lips and thats all. Free refreshment is so much better than long time ago. 3 items, one drink (cold can dirnk also have), one snack (not biscuits but bun, carrot cake and etc) and one desert (Green Bean or Red Bean soup) [thumbsup].

Regards,

lol thats one free meal already leh haha..