Prudential and its irritating agents

Leslielai

Another stupid example:

TM: Hello, can I speak to Mr X?

Me: Yes that's me

TM: Mr X, I'm calling from CCC bank

Me: Regarding?

TM: Its about our offer to you as a privileage customer a very special rate of only 5% instead of 24% if you apply for our ready-credit

Me: It's okay, I dun need money now

TM: But sir you see, it's a very good offer, you only pay 5% instead of the normal 24%

Me: I know, but i dun need money now

TM: Why not you just sign up for $5000 and leave it in your account incase u need it?

Me: No interest?

TM: It's a special rate of 5%

Me: But i dun need money

TM: Ya, but at such good rate u should just apply for the minimum $5,000 and leave it there

Me: You mean, I dun need money, but to make use of the special rate, I borrow $5,000 from you and leave it sitting there untouch and pay you $20 a month in interest? It makes no sense to me.

TM: Well, erm, but its a good rate

Me: It's okay. I'm busy. (This time I cut of the line with no thank you)

Edited by Hokk7777

Normally I will tell those telemarketers I am not interested and emphasize to them nicely and firmly to spent their time working on another client because they won't get anything out of me. Its like a wake up line to them and immd they will hang up.

Do you guys still get those calls from China number? They will call and ask in Mandarin if I could speak Mandarin. I will reply in Mandarin that I do not know how to speak Mandarin and immediately they will hang up. [hur]

actually hor, i did purchase 1 home fire protection insurance from AIG over the phone coz i just brought a new car w AIG insurance so its an offer from them....

Actually, why bother to think of excuses with them?

Normally my conversation with unknown tele-marketeers goes like this....

TM: Hello? Can I speak to Mr. X

Me: Yes speaking.

TM: Mr X, I'm calling from XYZ bank/insurance/club/whatever, can we speak to you for a moment?

TM: It's about our promotion where u can save 20% if you apply for.....

Me: Sorry, I'm not interested. ( I always hangup after this reply )

TM: Oh. But it's a good promo.

Me: I dun need.

TM: Erm, why not give it a thought. You see you can.....

Me: I'm busy

TM: Oh, Can we call you back?

Me: No

TM: Oh, ok. Bye...Line cut off... (Normally, no thank you or anything)

Next time those telemarketers call and you are not interested, dun waste time. Just tell them you are a bankrupt and juz came out of prison. Hang up right away.

Haha. I receive alot of such calls too and this "True Spa" rings a bell. 6438XXXX? So you actually bothered to go down. [laugh]

Ya, why not? Free massage. And it's really good. [thumbsup] Just that it's not worth the money. I can get similar stuff elsewhere cheaper.

Insurance agents earn commission for 6 straight yrs of your premiums paid .. .thereafter ... no commission from you liao .. and you are just worse than scrap metal.

With the current commission structure, that is what the industry is nurturing - agents who squeeze clients dry and who are left with no incentives to service clients when the commission period is over

In actual fact, comsumers do bear some responsibility for themselves. Its like buying a second car, you do not research yourself fully or check the car before you buy, do you think you have a case to complain after that if the car was full of problems? Caveat Emptor.

oh my god... does this mean that now, in addition to insurance agents, credit card agents and spa agents, 2nd hand car salesmen are going to call us everyday as well?

2nd Hand Car Dealer: Hello? Can I speak to Mr. X

Me: Yes speaking.

2nd Hand Car Dealer: Mr X, I'm calling from XYZ car dealer/whatever, can we speak to you for a moment?

2nd Hand Car Dealer: It's about our promotion where u can save 20% if you buy a 2nd hand car from us.....

Me: Sorry, I'm not interested.

2nd Hand Car Dealer: Oh. But it's a good promo.

Me: I dun need.

2nd Hand Car Dealer: Erm, why not give it a thought. You see you can.....

Me: I'm busy

2nd Hand Car Dealer: Oh, Can we call you back?

Me: No

2nd Hand Car Dealer: Oh, ok. Bye...Line cut off... (Normally, no thank you or anything)

prudential really gives me bad impression. all e agents i've met belongs to e kind that got business will talk to you, even behave like your BFFs. after signing papers, suddenly MIA. call them no answer, only appear when they got new products to sell. if you show abit of interest, they will bug you like mad. if you tell them you not interested, they run faster than you can say goodbye. from e 1st day i signed up e plan til now, i've not seen my agent anymore. more than 6years already. you call this service? ya right... [rolleyes]

Normally I will tell those telemarketers I am not interested and emphasize to them nicely and firmly to spent their time working on another client because they won't get anything out of me. Its like a wake up line to them and immd they will hang up.

Do you guys still get those calls from China number? They will call and ask in Mandarin if I could speak Mandarin. I will reply in Mandarin that I do not know how to speak Mandarin and immediately they will hang up. [hur]

Thats what i do as well! [:p]

oh come on give them a break...

most are just trying to make an honest living

it doesnt matter if you hang up or say bad things

most tm already heard them thousands of times and are immune

direct selling is like that.

there's a ratio.

i may have to make 1,000 calls to nasty people before i stumble across that one nice person who makes my day.

you folks are just statistics to the TM, why blow your top over something so minor?

Insurance agents earn commission for 6 straight yrs of your premiums paid .. .thereafter ... no commission from you liao .. and you are just worse than scrap metal.

With the current commission structure, that is what the industry is nurturing - agents who squeeze clients dry and who are left with no incentives to service clients when the commission period is over

that is for those endownment products you buy from them like 20, 25 yrs rite?? how about if i only buy those accident or shield health plan where no tied down..only renewal when every year expiry date is up..how much comm and how long they will take the comm???

prudential really gives me bad impression. all e agents i've met belongs to e kind that got business will talk to you, even behave like your BFFs. after signing papers, suddenly MIA. call them no answer, only appear when they got new products to sell. if you show abit of interest, they will bug you like mad. if you tell them you not interested, they run faster than you can say goodbye. from e 1st day i signed up e plan til now, i've not seen my agent anymore. more than 6years already. you call this service? ya right... [rolleyes]

I have invested with AIA, worst still agent don't bother to advice whether investment make money or not and for 10 years 0% profit gain till I met this Prudential Financial Consultant who help me to reinvest (terminated all AIA investment) and make 20K in 2 years. [bounce1] I have terminated all AIA invesment except those AIA insurance which I cannot do much. [furious]

so far my experience with AIG not too good also. a few times I just listened out of courtesy and declined after that. but 5 days later the policy will still arrive ! so have to go thru the hassle of writing-in and cancelling the policy during the free-look period.

so now when agents from AIG call, I just said not interested and end the call.