SG sells warthog to UK

Mustank

no ATGM la, but the tank driver see le, won't try to use his tank tracks to crush it, have to go around it haha~ else the tank may flip lol

wah, like that dame solid wo, not even heavy tank like Leopard.

Any youtube to watch?

[inlove] how i wish i can drive the leopard during reservist [inlove]

it is such a dream come true for nsboys to drive that around[inlove]

i remember seeing the german nsboys on tv (i think top 10 tanks) and they were giving the heavy metal sign while driving it [inlove]

Yah, after giving it a though, this make sense, cheaper than putting all those reactive armour.

That's the idea. Very good for 1st gen RPG like those sold to the third world countries on the cheap. Useless for modern Russian RPG.

can this vehicle really fight a war?

It will be used in Afganistan. The UK forces bought this specially for use there and not homeland. So weather it will work ornot, the truth will show very soon.

Warthog is not battle tested and proven. Would be interesting to see how it stands up against Taleban.

In Israel, even their much feared and heavy armoured MBT, the Merkava could not stand up against Hezbollah.

It will be used in Afganistan. The UK forces bought this specially for use there and not homeland. So weather it will work ornot, the truth will show very soon.

if the terrorists manage to blow up this vehicle and kill the troops inside, its going to hurt spore reputation.

BTW, that is a 5 tonner... not 3 tonner. Not sure if SAF did anything to that armoured tonner cos the initial design was lacking an armoured floorboard and small arms resistant tyres. So the enemy can simply detonate an IED under the vehicle and everything will go BOOMZ

Alamah, lucky I not recon team, if not tua kee liao.... [:p]

if the terrorists manage to blow up this vehicle and kill the troops inside, its going to hurt spore reputation.

Aiyo, uncle, ppl already mentioned this vehicle is design to defend against RPGs and IEDs, they did not say it's indestructible. If terrorists are armed with the correct weapon like an anti-tank weapon, the Warthog dun stand a chance.

The idea of such a vehicle is to replace 5/7 tonners, fuel tankers, recovery and personel carriers like ambulance. All these vehicles are very vulnerable in the battle field. Some more these vehicles are vital in the support/logistics lines. Having better equipped armour and speed is very necessary in a battle field.

cool lehz!!

i drove the Bronco during my NS days.. the ambulance variant as i was a medic..

but my experience was opposite.. its freaking hot & noisy, especially the front as SAF one no air con.. (maybe my time still dont have)

but it was really fun to drive.. like a huge car! but have to counter steer everytime as the steering wheel doesnt come back after u turn it.

and it can go pretty fast too.. considering its a freaking heavy armour vehicle.. hehe

Edited by Jizhou

[inlove] how i wish i can drive the leopard during reservist [inlove]

it is such a dream come true for nsboys to drive that around[inlove]

i remember seeing the german nsboys on tv (i think top 10 tanks) and they were giving the heavy metal sign while driving it [inlove]

Drive Drive very song.

wait ask the 4 men tank crew, shack like hell after excercise, to wash the muddy tank, clear signals, night visions equip, weapons (must clean first) back store in the middle of Saturday night, LP swollen.

next day return store, standby tank for inspection, LP exploded.

unless maybe Officer, can go back bunk & sleep...tan gu gu in Armour.

Drive Drive very song.

wait ask the 4 men tank crew, shack like hell after excercise, to wash the muddy tank, clear signals, night visions equip, weapons (must clean first) back store in the middle of Saturday night, LP swollen.

next day return store, standby tank for inspection, LP exploded.

unless maybe Officer, can go back bunk & sleep...tan gu gu in Armour.

yeah bro i agree..

washing vehicle is a pain.. have to queue up so long as only limited washing bay..

after wash finish.. kena arrow to clear drain as choke up with all the mud.. sometime even ask us wash the road..

self owned.. [bigcry]

yeah bro i agree..

washing vehicle is a pain.. have to queue up so long as only limited washing bay..

after wash finish.. kena arrow to clear drain as choke up with all the mud.. sometime even ask us wash the road..

self owned.. [bigcry]

Uncle here salute you all, because you all sweat, than we all can visit MCF in peace. SALUTE ! [:)]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rolled_homogeneous_armour

I reckon.

Just wondering, what does our Bronco do in Singapore? Just like IFV? or Troop Carrier? And who use that? Not armor unit personnel here

These broncos have a variety of uses in saf. I am a personal attached to this armoured vehicle before it is officially disclosed to the public n media. My platoon was tasked to test the vehicle in australia. We covered hundreds of kilometers as well as bashed forests and swamps with it. It is really a terrific all terrain vehicle I should say compared to the M113 that Im trained with. When you drive it, you feel like you are driving an auto car.(The controls are the same!) haha. BTW, one of my driver hit 100km/hr with it. (The engineers told us the top speed is only 70-80km/hr).

In saf, they were used mainly by the scouts/recon (we cary our bike in the back cabin), mota platoons (they actually fit their big guns at the back cabin!) and various combat engineers.

Other uses include as mobile ambulance (this one is fitted with aircon in the back cabin).. etc

Edited by Revolc81

This can't be avoided lah. It's an arms race out there. You built a better amoured vehicle, the adversary will built a better weapon to counter it. [sweatdrop]

Famous weapon platforms like Apaches have been shot down before, but it's still a formidable chopper! [thumbsup]

This can't be avoided lah. It's an arms race out there. You built a better amoured vehicle, the adversary will built a better weapon to counter it. [sweatdrop]

Famous weapon platforms like Apaches have been shot down before, but it's still a formidable chopper! [thumbsup]

a cheap RPG can actually bring down a million dollar Apache. thats's quite an achievement for RPG technology.

Warthog is not battle tested and proven. Would be interesting to see how it stands up against Taleban.

In Israel, even their much feared and heavy armoured MBT, the Merkava could not stand up against Hezbollah.

Tanks & APCs are not designed to be stand-alone fighting machines.

As they have limited sight as well as slow to react, they are often used to spearhead an attack (with infantry & helo) or used as a statis defence, mini-fortress style.