Kurty Supercharged November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 hi brothers, need your valuable advise on this. currently looking for 195/45/15. actually i have kumho ku31 in mind but was surprised to see that it was sold out and some like uncle frankie say it soon will be phase out. not sure if 195/45/15 is uncommon in sg.. but that's the max width that my ride permits. was introduced accelera alpha by uncle frankie, looks good but made in indonesia tires.. and the review was that the side walls are thin and beyond repair once hit... i trust uncle frankie's judgement and advise but kinda dampen when he intro me this tire.. i really appreciate if you could aid me on this. my budget is around $90 per tires. just use for mid driving. seldom exceed 100km. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 any brothers? 45 and 50 is the same type, just i wish to go for lower profile this time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 http://www.tyrepac.com/Form/B2C/Home.aspx?...2&year=2005 since tyrepac lists s drive as available size, see if u can find it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 it seems finding this size tires is a chore... i been calling a few and was told that 195/45 were sold out... the one that has ex stock was accelera... anyway thanks, just call up tyrepac to see if they can propose some alternative or connection for KU31 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 (edited) if your burget is 90 sgd, not much of a choice , if not, u can go look out for toyo T1R. still 1 of the top tyres in market after so many years. lower end tyres, u can try a korean 1, nexen, but i dun think many tyres shop keep stock . Edited November 11, 2009 by Beregond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 it seems getting tyre is a knowledge. as this is my first time buying tyres, i only could count on reviews and own gut feeling. it be good if i share my style: highway: 100km normal: 70km corner: 60-70km only play pick up it be good if the new tire can fit into this style: comfort, noise, good grip. manage to locate an ex stock tire - federal ss 595 that fit my budget. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 cant find t1r or s drive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 both s drive and t1r come in 195.45.15 . but both about same price , i see no reason to chose s.drive over t1r . (but i must be frank , i haven tested sdrive myself LOL -.-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemozai Neutral Newbie November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 45 and 50 WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE trust me... your rev on top gear will be different... petrol consumption will go up if you use smaller diameter then recommended... all the difference if unoticed will because of load, drive stlye, highway and city driving... but to put a size smaller than stock is not clever... unless you track or drive like a mad man, just go JB plenty of tires your size... cause many malaysia cars put 195/45/15... kancil, kelisa...etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 s drive and t1r T1 out of budget as for S drive, it made by who? 45 and 50 WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE trust me... your rev on top gear will be different... petrol consumption will go up if you use smaller diameter then recommended... all the difference if unoticed will because of load, drive stlye, highway and city driving... but to put a size smaller than stock is not clever... unless you track or drive like a mad man, just go JB plenty of tires your size... cause many malaysia cars put 195/45/15... kancil, kelisa...etc... yeah, my ride is a m'sia made, proton savvy. currently stock rim and tire is 5.5 x 15 and 175/50/15. that's the max i can go but as you know 175 don't have much maker. only NCT 5 and dunlop in malaysia. lately, i just upgrade my rim to sport rim 6.5 x 15' thus i can go for the max which is 195 but only at 45 otherwise it will hit my fender and stuff. so far, i manage to find a few tires: kumho ku31 - best but no stock in sg... nankang NS-2, ex stock but read reviews that it's not tat gd Accelera Alpha - s0h br0s selling it but don't dare to use it as no reviews and made in indo... Federal SS-595 - seems to be not bad Nexen N 3000 - much better than the previous batch, n2000. though nexon seems to be commonly found on lorries... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemozai Neutral Newbie November 12, 2009 Share November 12, 2009 s drive and t1r T1 out of budget as for S drive, it made by who? yeah, my ride is a m'sia made, proton savvy. currently stock rim and tire is 5.5 x 15 and 175/50/15. that's the max i can go but as you know 175 don't have much maker. only NCT 5 and dunlop in malaysia. lately, i just upgrade my rim to sport rim 6.5 x 15' thus i can go for the max which is 195 but only at 45 otherwise it will hit my fender and stuff. S drive is YOKOHAMA, made in Jipun... but dont think will hv your size... if i were you i'd but 195/50/15... try spacer or get a shop to modify the inside fenders... harder suspension would be good too... gd luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear November 12, 2009 Share November 12, 2009 (edited) s drive and t1r T1 out of budget as for S drive, it made by who? 45 and 50 WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE trust me... your rev on top gear will be different... petrol consumption will go up if you use smaller diameter then recommended... all the difference if unoticed will because of load, drive stlye, highway and city driving... but to put a size smaller than stock is not clever... unless you track or drive like a mad man, just go JB plenty of tires your size... cause many malaysia cars put 195/45/15... kancil, kelisa...etc... yeah, my ride is a m'sia made, proton savvy. currently stock rim and tire is 5.5 x 15 and 175/50/15. that's the max i can go but as you know 175 don't have much maker. only NCT 5 and dunlop in malaysia. lately, i just upgrade my rim to sport rim 6.5 x 15' thus i can go for the max which is 195 but only at 45 otherwise it will hit my fender and stuff. so far, i manage to find a few tires: kumho ku31 - best but no stock in sg... nankang NS-2, ex stock but read reviews that it's not tat gd Accelera Alpha - s0h br0s selling it but don't dare to use it as no reviews and made in indo... Federal SS-595 - seems to be not bad Nexen N 3000 - much better than the previous batch, n2000. though nexon seems to be commonly found on lorries... if your intention to fit a low profile tyre from a well-known brand within your budget....happy hunting...Nexen is not bad, grip is good but noisy...but then "yi fen qian yi fen huo"....but i am very puzzle....you have the budget to upgrade rim, then why dun have the budget to stretch for tyres? Edited November 12, 2009 by Help1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged November 12, 2009 Author Share November 12, 2009 if your intention to fit a low profile tyre from a well-known brand within your budget....happy hunting...Nexen is not bad, grip is good but noisy...but then "yi fen qian yi fen huo"....but i am very puzzle....you have the budget to upgrade rim, then why dun have the budget to stretch for tyres? don't get me wrong, i hope to get a mid range tyre as i understand the important of a good tyre. tats why if KU31 has ex stock, i would immed. change if i were you i'd but 195/50/15... try spacer or get a shop to modify the inside fenders... harder suspension would be good too... putting a spacer or modify the fender, will it have it's con? anyway, i found another good tyre, hankook ventus prime k105 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear November 12, 2009 Share November 12, 2009 then get the hankook Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemozai Neutral Newbie November 12, 2009 Share November 12, 2009 lousy spacer = wobbles at high speed modify fender then probably when selling with original rim looks will be terrible... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged November 12, 2009 Author Share November 12, 2009 We do not have any tire which is of this size. Perhaps Hankook does manufacture tires of this size, but we do not not bring in unless there is an increase in demand. Apologies for the disappointment. sian... minus 1 choice... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear November 12, 2009 Share November 12, 2009 try those tyre shops at autopoint..etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_biscuit 3rd Gear November 12, 2009 Share November 12, 2009 Hi, I have 2 friends who are driving Picanto using this size 195/45/R15. Both using Nexen 3000 tyres,changed 2 years back, now on their 2nd set of Nexen 3000. So far so good for this set of tyres,quite value for $$, a good all-rounder tyres. Both had their rims & tyres changed at Kah Tyres & Batteries located at 209, Lavendar Street. U may want to head down to check it out. Look for the ladyboss... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...