Vroomtattat 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 (edited) Hiya brudders, In anticipation of the upcoming movie 2012, here's an interesting article about the year 2012. A bit long winded but worth the read, so carry on . . . . 2012 From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia The 2012 phenomenon is a range of beliefs and proposals positing that cataclysmic or transformative events will occur in the year 2012. The forecast is based primarily on what is claimed to be the end-date of the Mayan Long Count calendar, which is presented as lasting 5,125 years and as terminating on December 21 or 23, 2012. Arguments supporting this dating are drawn from a mixture of amateur archaeoastronomy, alternative interpretations of mythology, numerological constructions, and alleged prophecies from extraterrestrial beings. A New Age interpretation of this transition posits that, during this time, the planet and its inhabitants may undergo a positive physical or spiritual transformation, and that 2012 may mark the beginning of a new era. Conversely, some believe that the 2012 date marks the beginning of an apocalypse. Both ideas have been disseminated in numerous books and TV documentaries, and have spread around the world through websites and discussion groups. Mayanist scholars argue that the idea that the Long Count calendar "ends" in 2012 misrepresents Maya history. To the modern Maya, 2012 is largely irrelevant, and classic Maya sources on the subject are scarce and contradictory, suggesting that there was little if any universal agreement among them about what, if anything, the date might mean. The claims put forward by those predicting the end of the world in 2012 (alignment with a black hole, collision with a rogue planet, polar shifts) have been rejected as pseudoscience by the scientific community. Many of these claims violate the laws of physics, or are contradicted by simple observations. A film called 2012, directed by Roland Emmerich, has employed a viral marketing campaign drawing on fears of an apocalypse in that year. This campaign, which masquerades as a public awareness video from the fictitious "Institute for Human Continuity", has been roundly criticised for contributing to popular anxiety on the topic. Mesoamerican Long Count calendar December 2012 marks the ending of the current baktun cycle of the Mesoamerican Long Count calendar, which was used in what is now Central America prior to the arrival of Europeans. Though the Long Count was most likely invented by the Olmec, it has become closely associated with the Maya civilization, whose classic period lasted from 250 to 900 AD. The classic Maya were literate and their writing system has been substantially deciphered, meaning that a corpus of their written and inscribed material has survived from before the European conquest. The Long Count set its "year zero" at a point in the past marking the end of the previous world and the beginning of the current one, which corresponds to either 11 or 13 August 3114 BC in the Proleptic Gregorian calendar, depending on the formula used. Unlike the 52-year calendar round still used today among the Maya, the Long Count was linear, rather than cyclical, and kept time roughly in units of 20, so 20 days made a uinal, 18 uinals, or 360 days, made a tun, 20 tuns made a katun, and 20 katuns, or 144,000 days, made up a baktun. So, for example, the Mayan date of 8.3.2.10.15 represents 8 baktuns, 3 katuns, 2 tuns, 10 uinals and 15 days since creation. Many Mayan inscriptions have the count shifting to a higher order after 13 baktuns. Today, the most widely accepted correlations of the end of the thirteenth baktun, or Mayan date 13.0.0.0.0, with the Western calendar are either December 21 or December 23, 2012. In 1957, the early Mayanist and astronomer Maud Worcester Makemson wrote that "[t]he completion of a Great Period of 13 baktuns would have been of the utmost significance to the Maya". The anthropologist Munro S. Edmonson added that "there appears to be a strong likelihood that the eral calendar, like the year calendar, was motivated by a long-range astronomical prediction, one that made a correct solsticial forecast 2,367 years into the future in 355 B.C. [sic]". In 1966, Michael D. Coe more ambitiously claimed in The Maya that "[t]here is a suggestion [...] that Armageddon would overtake the degenerate peoples of the world and all creation on the final day of the thirteenth [baktun]. Thus [...] our present universe [... would] be annihilated on December 24, AD 2011, [later revised to December 23, 2012] when the Great Cycle of the Long Count reaches completion." Coe's apocalyptic connotations were accepted by other scholars through the early 1990s. But more recent academic scholars have said that, while the end of the 13th baktun would perhaps be a cause for celebration, it did not mark the end of the calendar. In their seminal work of 1990, the Maya scholars Linda Schele and David Freidel, who reference Edmonson, argue that the Maya "did not conceive this to be the end of creation, as many have suggested," citing Mayan predictions of events to occur after the end of the 13th baktun. Schele and Freidel note that creation date was inscribed at Coba as 13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.13.0.0.0.0, with twenty units above the katun. According to Schele and Friedel, these 13s should be treated as 0s, so the Coba number would be read as if it were 0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0, with the units of each column beyond the second (counting from right to left) equal to 20 times those of the previous one (The Maya, due to their cyclical concept of time, also wrote the date of creation, their zero date, as 13.0.0.0.0). This number represented "the starting point of a huge odometer of time". Schele and Freidel calculate that the date at which this odometer would run out lies some 4.134105 Edited November 11, 2009 by Vroomtattat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 those who believed in it...please transfer all your properties, cars and your money to me.. Thanks.. :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Alot of hot air this prophecy about this 2012 apocalypse theory. Believers in this theory cite numerous apparently "scientific" sources which state that on Dec 21 2012, the Earth, Sun and the center of the Milky Way galaxy (at which resides a giant black hole) will come into alignment. The combined gravitational forces caused by this galactic alignment will somehow catastrophically rupture the Earth's crust, thus wrecking havoc on a scale unprecedented by anything in the history of the world. Mega Tsunamis caused by mega earthquakes, will result in mega floods. Super volcanoes like Yellowstone & Toba will erupt, thier ash causing a prolonged volcanic winter, bringing on a new ice age. Etc Etc... While it is absolutely true that on Dec 21 2012, the Earth, Sun and our Galactic Core will come into alignment, what all these articles and "scientific" sources DON'T tell you is that this alignment happens around December of EVERY SINGLE YEAR!! Think about it, if the Earth orbits the Sun, which orbits the galactic center, it stands to reason that every year, these 3 celestial objects will naturally come into alignment. You don't need to be an astrophysicist to figure this out! If all these disasters can happen because of this, we would have been long gone by now! Like I said at first dear frens, it's all a bunch of bullcrap, pardon my french! Still, I like disaster movies and so, I will be watching 2012! Yeah!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainmaker Neutral Newbie November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 interesting read. well.. the world is going to end someday by the ways we are abusing earth now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 wont happen la..i wanna get married in dec 2012 de. hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Torquemonster 1st Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 (edited) aiya who cares about 2012. cus who knows, i might die tomorrow.. Edited November 11, 2009 by Torquemonster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 i am only 19 in 2012, i dont wanna die so young..... [bigcry] its only a movie, and there is no supporting evidence to say that the world is ending 2012 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zizou 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Geomagnetic reversal One idea proposed in these films involves a geomagnetic reversal (often incorrectly referred to as a polar shift by proponents of this hypothesis), which could be triggered by a massive solar flare, one with energy equal to 100 billion atomic bombs. This belief is supposedly supported by observations that the Earth's magnetic field is weakening, which indicates an impending reversal of the north and south magnetic poles as a Muslim I find this portion quite interesting... apparently this is one of the signs Muslims accept as a sign of impending end... The Prophet said ""Hasten to do good deeds before six (things happen) :...Rising of the sun from the west." ie by then it'll be too late Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 feel so scary when i realize 2012 is just a few years away! it might not be true but still scared. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 the solar flare news are stated on paper b4..it will destroy alot generator etc by its dun noe what and scientists etc are doing sometime to stop it happen like the movie by Nicholas Cage? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Too long to read liao,anyone can summarise ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Too long to read liao,anyone can summarise ? ya lor haha i read the 1st line halfway, i just skip the entire thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 ya lor haha i read the 1st line halfway, i just skip the entire thing. wow,at least u still read the 1st line. i scroll down takes me 30s and gave up liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalbone Clutched November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 I thot we are suppose to die in 1999? or 2002? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 if the world ends at 2012, its going to start showing in 2010/2011... lets just wait. 2011 internet becomes extinct. all businesses and government cannot run.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Can buy this num 2012 in 4D.. I remember last time when there was a hype on the upcoming James Bond movie 4D came out 0007 Cant remember which year it came out.. Starter prize on 22 Jun 05, Wednesday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 ask for more discounts from the hotel if you plan to have your wedding on 12.12.2012 [:p] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Aiya, whatever will be will be. Why worry so much? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...