ERP use to Control Traffic or generate income?

Girl_powerful

It's absolutely ridiculous!

There was this campaign about going home early after work to spend more time with your family, to spend more time with your loved ones etc........... and they just simply penalised these pple for going home early!!! Even those who wanna go home early to boost SG birth rate also kena.......... [thumbsdown]

Tat guy turn it around and say implementing ERP so traffic flow is smooth and ppl can go back early to spend more time with family. [whip]

i thot they already say that not enough people taking mrt and bus and lta people must learn from land people in that when coe's price is too low, demand should be reduced and should not be tightly tied to some fomula [rolleyes]

Tat guy turn it around and say implementing ERP so traffic flow is smooth and ppl can go back early to spend more time with family. [whip]

Regardless of watever the reply is, the common folks are screwed both ways.......... and there is no policy u-turn as far as I can remember.....

I was going into town just before 11 this morning.

I was shocked that at that time, ERP gantry CTE just infront of AMK Ave 1 still ringing the cash register for the gahmen

[rifle][smash][rifle][whip]

well, it could have been worse. Without congestion tolls, how else can congestion be reduced?

Raise cost of owning car? Doesn't work. Singaporeans have a pretty high inelasticity in terms of price..incomes are going up too, car demand ain't goin to drop.

congestion is a peak hour problem..widening the roads doesn't make economic sense either as it'll be below capacity most of the time..Tolls more or less aim to make up the external costs generated by every car in the jam. It's just economics for price to meet social costs.

But the best way to make up for congestion tolls is for the government to use it to subsidise other aspects for the people..but obviously, no one noes much about the tax revenue though. [rolleyes]

ok jus had to revise a bit of econs here.

Well, after all this boiling blood about ERP gantries, in all fairness, we don't HAVE to use the e-ways or roads with gantries once outside the CBD, or heading out of the CBD. There are alternatives. May be more jammed up, more traffic lights etc... but at least we won't have to constantly bray about the rising costs of motoring due to ERP!

hello, this is a place that everything talks $, ok???

go home early? can.....pay erp lor

more time with loved one? no prob.....pay erp lor...

wanna xxx? best, any way u want it also can......... pay erp lor

which one more important? erp or home early/loved one/wanna xxx.....

It's absolutely ridiculous!

There was this campaign about going home early after work to spend more time with your family, to spend more time with your loved ones etc........... and they just simply penalised these pple for going home early!!! Even those who wanna go home early to boost SG birth rate also kena.......... [thumbsdown]

The moment they erected a gantry inside a HDB estate that almost effectively sealed it off to those non-erp-paying, it was no longer about traffic control.

It doesn't seem effective in controlling our traffic. Yesterday's traffic is terrible! [thumbsdown]

How early one can go home if you need to take CTE towards North? How late can you stay in city before you go home?

They start ERP at 4pm. And it's still bloody on past 10pm. I don't understand how this is supposed to ease jam on CTE [furious]

well, it could have been worse. Without congestion tolls, how else can congestion be reduced?

I quite simple minded one..... I think can solve by moving part of the CBD to various other parts of the island.

Oh, generating income. Defintely. The more congested the road is, the more they'll wanna put up gantries 'cos more cars passing through means more income. Simple!

There's this gantry along upper bukit timah road towards the city which comes on at 8am. Does absolutely NOTHING to ease traffic flow! It's similiarly congested no matter what!

bro, ppl living there are rich mah, gov want to milk them. after the this erp if they turn right to sim lim milk them again.