Need recommendation on Halal Restaurant

Revolc81

Another one that's good is (was?) Rice Table? used to one at Cuppage and one in T3 of Suntec - I find that if need to have halal food I prefer to go for Indonesian - is closer to the chinese palate that I have developed.

Another option may be some of the indian curry places - I know of at least one got halal cert (used to be in Expo, now gone I dunno where)...a nice piece of garlic naan with mutton curry is always good

think there's no more rice table at cuppage or suntec anymore

You need a min of 4 pax in order to have the buffet... Lesser than 4, it's all ala-carte...

Got this Indonesian restaurant behind Heeren. think it's called Garuda or something like that. Ala carte buffet lunch. Price is around $20 if I remember correctly. Food is [thumbsup]. Definitely halal as lots of Muslims eat there.

Agree. Pagi Sore is good. Authentic Indonesia food. I've brought my muslim clients there a few times and they all love it.

It's still at Telok Ayer street, at Far East Square. Budget around 30 pax (incld. drinks). Couple of years ago, it even made it to Strait Times' top 50 restaurant in Singapore.

http://www.pagi-sore.com/pagisore/index.asp

Honestly the food quite exp.. Even sambal belachan is charged...

Not fair leh...just like any religion, how strictly observe "the rules" is matter of personal preference and lifestyle. I'm sure that Taliban in Afghanistan would say that no muslem in Singapore is true muslem as let girls get education, dun wear headscarf - where does it end?

But I do agree that under "the rules" beer and pork (from what I know) same class, so if wanna drink beer should be upfront about it and just tell people "I don't observe so strict" rather than try to bluff them that beer is ok.

nolah bro..beer and pork,no matter how "i don't observe so strict" is forbidden.even a muslim child should know.they are just making excuses to drink it.That is why no halal restaurants have pork/alcohol.

Of course if restaurant bills itself as halal or muslem won't have...is like billing yourself as vegetarian and then offer meat options.

What I mean to say that practise (or otherwise) of a religion should be personal preference. If there is a "test" of how well you adhere to "the rules" to be a Muslem (or Christian, Jew or whatever) then I am not aware of it. :D If somebody wants to observe the other pillars of Islam, but wants to have the occasional beer then that is a matter for them and them alone to decide. If there is a "god" (generic term ok?) then any transgressions the person makes in their observance will be settled between them and their divine being.

For my previous office, I remember being quite annoyed that some of my ( [gorgeous] ) colleagues were too scared to go out and get food when aunt flo was visiting during ramadan (are allowed to eat during this time, but must "pay back" later). They didn't want to face the stares and raised eyebrows that would have resulted should they have gone out.

This is not a comment on Islam...it is a comment on intolerance in general, the above is just one example. As individuals we have no right whatsoever to judge whether or not others are being good, bad or otherwise in the practise of their religions. Nor is it right for us to tar all adherents for the actions of one or a few different members of the group.

Of course if restaurant bills itself as halal or muslem won't have...is like billing yourself as vegetarian and then offer meat options.

What I mean to say that practise (or otherwise) of a religion should be personal preference. If there is a "test" of how well you adhere to "the rules" to be a Muslem (or Christian, Jew or whatever) then I am not aware of it. :D If somebody wants to observe the other pillars of Islam, but wants to have the occasional beer then that is a matter for them and them alone to decide. If there is a "god" (generic term ok?) then any transgressions the person makes in their observance will be settled between them and their divine being.

For my previous office, I remember being quite annoyed that some of my ( [gorgeous] ) colleagues were too scared to go out and get food when aunt flo was visiting during ramadan (are allowed to eat during this time, but must "pay back" later). They didn't want to face the stares and raised eyebrows that would have resulted should they have gone out.

This is not a comment on Islam...it is a comment on intolerance in general, the above is just one example. As individuals we have no right whatsoever to judge whether or not others are being good, bad or otherwise in the practise of their religions. Nor is it right for us to tar all adherents for the actions of one or a few different members of the group.

nolah bro.don't get them wrong.they are merely respecting the month of Ramadhan.even my female family members would eat in private so as to respect the muslims going thru their fasting.

as for me,i nvr judge on a muslim being bad or not.it's totally between him and God.i do have 'muslim' friends who drinks,but i don't discriminate.i just turn down their offers. [wave]

nolah bro.don't get them wrong.they are merely respecting the month of Ramadhan.even my female family members would eat in private so as to respect the muslims going thru their fasting.

as for me,i nvr judge on a muslim being bad or not.it's totally between him and God.i do have 'muslim' friends who drinks,but i don't discriminate.i just turn down their offers. [wave]

Yeah lor...that's a fair comment also I guess - FWIW, one of the reasons that my wife doesn't bother with church anymore is that she always felt the other parishiners (sp?) were judging her and were more interested in being seen to be good christians than in actually doing good deeds

skuse me... isnt this a halal restaurant forum thread?

hehe..

haha!! ya man!! really OT liao..

Some suggestions please! Nice places to eat where I can bring my colleague to.

Haha! Very OT this thread! Anyway, Arab/Kandahar Street area has lots of superb muslim food, not too far from town either. Try Sabah Menanti or Hajah Maimuna. Not too expensive, $10 per person is more than enough, and the food comes directly from heaven! Think your muslim colleagues will sure enjoy!