Little_prince Supersonic December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 hahhaa.... hypocrites... iirc... strictly speaking can't even eat things like eel and crab ( walk unnaturally) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cedsmsd Neutral Newbie December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 they are namesake Muslims....whom brings shame to the REAL Muslims Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 kapitane...sadly now there is a lot of those so-called muslims. drinking alchohol n eating pork carries the same sin. so those buggers r jus giving nonsensical excuses. actual reason is that to them, pork doesn't tast gd...or they feel yucky eating pork. but drinking beer is shiok to them. i know quite a number of these ppl. n i don call them muslims. another thing to note..."no pork no lard" is not considered halal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 true true... not to mention gambling... in the strictest sense, can't even buy 4d or lottery.... but..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 they are namesake Muslims....whom brings shame to the REAL Muslims Not fair leh...just like any religion, how strictly observe "the rules" is matter of personal preference and lifestyle. I'm sure that Taliban in Afghanistan would say that no muslem in Singapore is true muslem as let girls get education, dun wear headscarf - where does it end? But I do agree that under "the rules" beer and pork (from what I know) same class, so if wanna drink beer should be upfront about it and just tell people "I don't observe so strict" rather than try to bluff them that beer is ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Narfeey Neutral Newbie December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 Pagi Soire is very good - used to be beside Mama Africa in Telok Ayre st (not sure if still there) but I think the budget there is around 35 per pax for lunch. BTW - Wouldn't recommend Sakura - when we went it wasn't good. But on that is good (I think Halal, but not certain) is Tuk Tuk Agree. Pagi Sore is good. Authentic Indonesia food. I've brought my muslim clients there a few times and they all love it. It's still at Telok Ayer street, at Far East Square. Budget around 30 pax (incld. drinks). Couple of years ago, it even made it to Strait Times' top 50 restaurant in Singapore. http://www.pagi-sore.com/pagisore/index.asp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 Another one that's good is (was?) Rice Table? used to one at Cuppage and one in T3 of Suntec - I find that if need to have halal food I prefer to go for Indonesian - is closer to the chinese palate that I have developed. Another option may be some of the indian curry places - I know of at least one got halal cert (used to be in Expo, now gone I dunno where)...a nice piece of garlic naan with mutton curry is always good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 Even just by looking at beautiful girl/woman and let your imagination precede....its also a sin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 Even just by looking at beautiful girl/woman and let your imagination precede....its also a sin Heh - that also a sin for christianity - lusting after neighbours wife what When go confession supposed to confess not only actions, but also thoughts....like dat I think if I were ever to go would need notebook and book whole afternoon priest's time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cedsmsd Neutral Newbie December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 rules set by ALLAH for Muslims is the ultimate and not by any taliban or high profile arabs in their country....restricting ladies education is a culture restriction in some middle eastern countries its not one of the Muslim laws....a gal is told to adorn the headscarf properly and when she is ready so parents start them off young for a gd headstart...i am no preacher. pardon me if wrong things are mention.....lots more to learn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cedsmsd Neutral Newbie December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 aggreed...............we are human after all.....to err is norm to repent is the one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 (edited) rules set by ALLAH for Muslims is the ultimate and not by any taliban or high profile arabs in their country....restricting ladies education is a culture restriction in some middle eastern countries its not one of the Muslim laws....a gal is told to adorn the headscarf properly and when she is ready so parents start them off young for a gd headstart...i am no preacher. pardon me if wrong things are mention.....lots more to learn I not know much - is just that to me many diff people have diff interpretations of what are "the rules" as handed down (whether be by Allah, God, Yahwe, Jehova or whoever) and the person that handed down is not here to clarify, so man must interpret. every man thinks a little differently. is up to the person practising the religion which parts he or she thinks is important to them, not up to someone else to impose. If muslem lady dun wanna wear headscarf, her call, if muslem man wanna take alcohol, then his decision - we should not judge them on how well they adhere - their judgement or otherwise will come when they (eventually) have to face the original rule maker.... Edited December 3, 2009 by Darryn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 I not know much - is just that to me many diff people have diff interpretations of what are "the rules" as handed down (whether be by Allah, God, Yahwe, Jehova or whoever) and the person that handed down is not here to clarify, so man must interpret. every man thinks a little differently. is up to the person practising the religion which parts he or she thinks is important to them, not up to someone else to impose. If muslem lady dun wanna wear headscarf, her call, if muslem man wanna take alcohol, then his decision - we should not judge them on how well they adhere - their judgement or otherwise will come when they (eventually) have to face the original rule maker.... all the so called "words of god" are actually transmitted to us by their messengers eg. moses, jesus, mohammed etc.... how can we be sure nothing is lost in translation? eg. for the bible, it's just a collections of letters written by the various diciples compliled into a book. which is decided by the roman catholic church ( Man). Basically , it means that the church is deciding what it wants christianity to be shaped.... or at least trying to shape. As for the jewish torah and muslim quran, they're all similar to the bible. Their "one god" is probably the same. All 3 monolithic religion bring born in jeruseluem is not a coincidence. Only minor differences differentiate the 3. yet in practice it is so different. Jews and muslim can't eat pork. Christian can.... why? it's just a matter of interpretation of the same book. anyway. no offence to any religion.. just a thought i suddenly had Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cedsmsd Neutral Newbie December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 well said....the rule for a Muslim here is no alcohol to be consumed....as children of adam and eve (my apologies i can only talk of my religion as i only know it) our fore fathers had imparted to us by teaching and informing us the sin of consuming alcohol...no misinterpretation such as consuming alcohol at a barbeque or function is permitted......like i said the namesake Muslims are the cause for the non muslims to ponder why consuming alcohol is a sin.....a true muslim would never ever make a decision to consume alcohol.....the head scarf thing is definately a woman's call but a must when she does her prayers.....to judge or not to judge i am nobody to say and true the sinner faces his almighty come judgement day..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 i think a lot of ppl don't understand the difference between religion and cultural... latching on the example of the teliban, things like alcohol are not permitted by religion... but other things like education for women are cultural... i.e the quran did not spell out that women cannot study and go school... these are all ideas by religious zealots that want to brainwash minds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 (edited) all the so called "words of god" are actually transmitted to us by their messengers eg. moses, jesus, mohammed etc.... how can we be sure nothing is lost in translation? eg. for the bible, it's just a collections of letters written by the various diciples compliled into a book. which is decided by the roman catholic church ( Man). Basically , it means that the church is deciding what it wants christianity to be shaped.... or at least trying to shape. As for the jewish torah and muslim quran, they're all similar to the bible. Their "one god" is probably the same. All 3 monolithic religion bring born in jeruseluem is not a coincidence. Only minor differences differentiate the 3. yet in practice it is so different. Jews and muslim can't eat pork. Christian can.... why? it's just a matter of interpretation of the same book. anyway. no offence to any religion.. just a thought i suddenly had Well the three major (in terms of numbers) "one god" religions actually all honour the same god (except with different names), the difference comes about in that they recognise different prophets. For what it's worth, the bible wasn't actually compiled till a few hundred years after Jesus' death anyway. Also for what its worth...and my idle musings - I have often wondered how we know the prophets were entirely truthful? Maybe, just perhaps in some of their "proclamations" they were practising very good diplomacy, negotiation and salesman rules? Now this is PURE conjecture on my part, and I am picking on two easy ones not to target Islam, but because I know more about the decrees of Islam than I do the decrees of Christianity.. What if, around the time of the Prophet, there were a lot of pigs infected with some sort of swine flu made people sick - maybe it would be easier (a more powerful message?) for the prophet "dun eat this and you will go to heaven" than "dun eat this it will make you sick"? - which (in ancient times) do you think would have been a more powerful message. Same for the "day of rest" under Judaism and Christianity...we all know overwork = decreased productivity, but perhaps this message was easier to sell as "rest on god's day" than "hey, give people time off and you will get higher productivity" which is somewhat counter-intuitive. Many people may find this akin to calling the prophets "liars" - but that is not my intention, is just a musing I have. I know that in modern times, people are "sold" actions / laws / rules based on what will motivate them moreso than on absolute truth - and absolute truth is a myth anyway, why should people have been any different a few thousand years ago? Unless of course you believe the prophets weren't human and had no human failings, but were instead divine beings. I don't believe that though - I believe in the prophets (yes multiple, I don't select just one to follow) as humans who achieved inspirational changes within their society - and as humans they did have (some) human failings even as their achieved super (supra?) human changes. Edited December 3, 2009 by Darryn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 Got this Indonesian restaurant behind Heeren. think it's called Garuda or something like that. Ala carte buffet lunch. Price is around $20 if I remember correctly. Food is . Definitely halal as lots of Muslims eat there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 3, 2009 Share December 3, 2009 I don't know leh,...some of my friends tell me they don't eat pork becaise not halal, but they can drink beer because no pork... especially when we have seafood... :) and i saw many of them at spore pools. its also a sin right? since gamble is a sin and they commit it anyway, why can't they eat non hala food? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...