My brush with FT

Pufferfish1

exactly..

cost is not everything..cos that can be short term

the long term effects can be felt in the rising anger and lowering reputation..

no wonder westerners think we are in China..when they call local offices they get FTs asking if they know how to "jiang hua yu"..no speakth engrish..

go to service counters same thing, go to food centres also same..

some even refused to speak english

Edited by Hub_n_mona

yes that should be the way to go. But are we there yet.....I doubt so....

Our govt is still practicing the tried and tested method of using tax rebate, incentive to encourage foreign investment. Not doubt they have seen the need for buidling up local brand and try to help them to expand overseas. But serious, I haven't seem any great success as yet.

taking a step back, I see yes there is a need to grow our ecomonics and FT to supplement local.

But, have they over do it to the extent of cheapen the piece of paper call PR and citizenship to the extent any Tom Dick or Harry can get it and incurred the wrath of the local who spend 2 year in NS. But then if you are in their shoes, why know after all their pay and bonus is link to economics growth which of course meant nothing to the commoner...since having high economics growth doesn't meant every local will have a job or wage increment in line with economic growth.

It is really kind of strange as well when way back in 2000 during the dot com boom, govt is encouraging everyone to go for IT degree. Yet today, 9 years down the road, we see the dearth of local IT practioner or professional and having a heavy depend on FT IT talent. Wander where those people are....Is is something wrong with our education policy that is disconnect with the industry want and need?

=====================

Aiyah this not unusal lah.

Last time say "Stop at 2" Now ask u to have more.

Last time say CPF is your $$$. Dont worry u wil get all back at 55. Now where got can take all out?

Just have to learn to live with these things when yr home is Stinkpore.

no wonder all our local char bor, be it young ones, matured ones, fat ones, aunty ones, married ones, they always give that dirty/ angry/ jealous/ threatening look at the PRC char bor.

PRC chiobu skin so fair and white and most are thin thin type with nice boobs. :wub:

so what?

they do not shave and

their breath stinks big time!

we can only attract the so call other country dont want "Talent." Those lower grade one. The truth talent is not here. Exceptional case is only those in acting line like Jet Lee etc

=================

Here we only pay bottom dollar (cheap cheap) how to expect top talent. We only get the rejects from other better countries, but take lah. Otherwise who going to do the lousy jobs with low pay?

FTs viewed us more of a carrot head.

There are many food stalls operated by these FTs ... and I will never fail to avoid these stalls.

what is a carrot head

You so fast forget, they already want us to shift our old folks to Johore farmhouses :wacko:

===============

Ty good at making use of pple only.

As soon as we cannot make $$$ for them, we r gotten rid of. That the value of the SG IC. [sweatdrop]

Err, Singapore dun pay as well as countries such as Britain, USA, France, etc....

So Singapore dun usually screen FT.... Thus the quality of these so called FT will be according to what is being paid.

As our ministers like to eat peanuts, thus we entice many monkeys to Singapore. Coz we pay only peanuts..

if we pay abalones, I tink the standard of the FT would be better right??

=============

Ty bring in FT to reduce labour costs so how to pay well?

If pay well, Sporeans wil take those jobs.

To keep the economy going in a downturn, the only way is to create more work for FTs so that companies can survive by hiring more FTs.

Er...does that make sense? [blush]

============

Typical P8P logic.

In other words, I want to hold on to my high paying ministers job as long as I can. [bigcry]

===============

Our gharmen say must lower cost of doing biz so best way is to bring in cheap cheap FT lah.

Otherwise alternative is for gharmen to lower taxes & charges to companies, which die die ty dont want to do. Imagine ty reduce charges then show deficit & heads wil roll. U think ty want their head to roll?

Better our head roll 1st. [sweatdrop]

from your posting it appears contradiction to the government way of doing things

I dont think they intentionally open the gates to low pay FT

they believe in high or super high pay so that you get quality people like those in the financial sector that will not loose your money and super high pay so that they would not be corrupted so that the FT working in one shop will not jump ship or worse siphon your clients to your competitors

wah..serious boh..speak engrish and do specials for u??

did you ask whether she has a MBA?

===============

Sge got MBA, SCSS, PBS & all the other services. As long as u got $, she got the services.

Damm sexy summore. Very nice (well developed) body. [gorgeous]

from your posting it appears contradiction to the government way of doing things

they believe in high or super high pay so that you get quality people like those in the financial sector that will not loose your money and super high pay so that they would not be corrupted so that the FT working in one shop will not jump ship or worse siphon your clients to your competitors

this argument of high pay will reduce corruption is already disproved by american study.

this study was done in the aftermath of the subprime. paying enough based on people's perception of what is reasonable and the market rate. anymore than that does not buy integrity and honesty.

please don't trot this dumb idea by pap of using super high pay to buy integrity and honesty. greed breeds bigger greed. there is more holes in your other posts but i just can't be bothered.

I think the problem is not just about FT but about our young too

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Stor...210-185085.html

Is something wrong with our kids?

A netizen who came across a picture of these teenagers proudly posing with a bus number plate was irked by how proud they were in 'parading the bus number plate like a trophy'.

It is not known how the youths obtained the number plate.

In the email to citizen journalism website STOMP, the netizen blamed kids' parents for 'not teaching their children important values', resulting in such behaviour.

Theirs is not the only case. Just last month, a netizen contributed photos of students who broke into a school to steal a stop sign to STOMP. They took photos of their 'achievement' and even bragged about it online.

Another teenager who frequently shoplifted had the audacity to brag about her escapades on her blog. The student was eventually found out by the school and punished.

Why are young Singaporeans proud to show off their often questionable acts?

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Stor...022-175193.html

Student brags about shoplifting on blog

She not only committed a crime, but dared to boast about it online on her blog.

An enraged netizen came across the blog of a teenage girl, who 'had the audacity' to blog about her shoplifting escapades with her friends.

Said the netizen: "I am very disturbed by this teenage girl's blog.

'Get free stuff'

In her post, the girl described how she went to Vivocity shopping centre 'to get free stuff', before going to Lucky Plaza, another mall in town 'and took stuff there'.

She then revealed that her friend 'almost got caught'.

"Is 'taking stuff' a nicer way of saying shop-lifting?" wondered the netizen.

The rest of her blog also clearly detailed how she went to a Giant hypermart and 'took stuff from there', as well as helping her friend 'take...many eyeliners' from a shop in Far East Plaza.

The girl is believed to be a student at Peirce Secondary, as she had posted pictures of herself and her friends in their school uniform in her previous entries.

School takes action

In her reply to the netizen's complaint, the school's vice-principal, Mrs Ng Mong Kheng, stated that the school's discipline and counselling staff are in contact with the student and her family.

The 'inappropriate content' has also been removed from the blog.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Stor...904-165763.html

'They think they look cool'

THE pictures which four teens took at Chua Chu Kang cemetery have caused an uproar in cyberspace.

Though they were taken more than two months ago, they began making their rounds online only this week, appearing on an online forum and a citizen journalism site.

Almost all the netizens who reacted to the pictures criticised the youths for their insensitivity.

Wrote one netizen: "They are showing disrespect to the dead and there is no excuse for what they have done."

Related links:

you come to where my office is you still see china woman carrying a bag with DVD , porn or normal movie at $5 per piece. or if you go to my retail outlet at central . i always see my sales gal watching the latest movie. they told me got a regular china woman come once a month to sell...

if you go club ****** with me .....the really beautiful FT all on student license. some here on cooking course.. they can suck sausage at $300 a pop and come with oyster tasting

Bro, you like that openly advertise, your club ******* will not have anymore sausage cooking classes... [laugh]

i remember going there 10 years ago... some of the gals working there where from Hse of Cognac, n the other one in Orchard point behind... wah... horny memories... haiz.... :mellow:

I don't feel anything with the presence of those pinyo or burmese in our neighbourhood, at least these people keep to their community and culture.

As for those PRCs, anyone noticed these are the s**t who are stiring up things, trying to influence us with their way of living and culture thinking they are back in PRC.

Just like you as a guest visiting your friend, you never go to their house and influence them with your own way of living.

Sooner or later, our singlish will be called maoish.

hahhahaahah!!wtf!!

but,i agree with you.

they come here and spread their dirty culture

like its right

and we should accept them the way they are.

IT line is one of the most overflood industry with FT. I am in this line. Your niece got to specialise and carve a niche for herself to survive. When I start in this industry more than 10 years ago. There is already FT around but pct wise is half-half. Now is like maybe 2 LT and 8 FT so it is more competitvely nowsaday. I have heard and seen FT come to Singapore for job search and serverly undercut the market rate in order to land a job.

But then that is the harsh reality of life. It is like you are again wave and wave of competition in the crest for job and more so with budget airline

its not only in IT.

its the same in restaurants.

the malaysians were the first to spoil market.

now,they are gettin the same kind of salary as locals.

now,the c***a f u c k s spoil the market.

gettin 1.5k to 1.7k as CHEFS.wtf!!

no skills,no knowledge,no creativity,never mind.

as long as can cook a bit,fry a bit

and use MSG.

trailing behind c***a are the people

from myanmar and philippines.

==================

hahaha. U youngster ah? Believe everything "they" tell u? :ph34r:

Well u got long time to "learn". But the sooner u learn the better for u.

this argument of high pay will reduce corruption is already disproved by american study.

this study was done in the aftermath of the subprime. paying enough based on people's perception of what is reasonable and the market rate. anymore than that does not buy integrity and honesty.

please don't trot this dumb idea by pap of using super high pay to buy integrity and honesty. greed breeds bigger greed. there is more holes in your other posts but i just can't be bothered.

=============

U got it right. The excuse of paying high salary was just to justify their high salary only. But seems like everybody else has to do with pay cuts & low pay or the job wil go to a desperate FT.

Thats why I ask him if he youngster cos he seems to believe everything "they" tell him.

maybe he wil wake up sooner or later. [sleeping]