Wish1719 1st Gear December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 Discovery centre cheaper @ 8 bucks but too far for me... heard all the rave reviews but no time to catch... OT abit... were u the one featured on new paper last weekend abt the cat thingy? Juz asking coz u were the person i had in mind when i read the article... that one is our MO lah... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 movie was boring and not nice at all no chiobu in the movie alien woman look ugly and neh neh so small waste my $$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 is avatar a cartoon movie? looks like one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 (edited) is avatar a cartoon movie? looks like one. Its some sort of a hybrid. Check out these links, 1) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7c4kNLz_4E8 2) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bv3lRl8HO9M Edited December 23, 2009 by Garlic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 is avatar a cartoon movie? looks like one. The technology to make this movie is something like another recent one "Beowulf", or Gollum in "Lord of the Rings". Actors playing the aliens wear motion-capture suits, and a graphical representation is then superimposed on their motion. Just saw it today. Kinda one-dimensional, and the characters were all pretty flat, IMHO. Maybe the idea of "avatar" (i.e. alter-ego) is targeted at the youth, who can appreciate it better. These are the kind of generation who enjoy role-playing, acting out another character in another world, in games like "Warcraft", "2nd Life" - because their 1st life is really boring and unimpressive [laugh] Anyway, it's typical hollywood movie. There is a token hispanic character who's with the good side. No or-lang needed as already got hispanic... quota filled! The aliens and their culture have a touch of eastern mysticism, and as usual, got something wise to teach the ang-moh, hence taken to represent asians and rest-of-the-world natives (all lumped together), IMHO. The image of the marines struck me as a bit inconsistent with the storyline and setting... In a future, technologically-advanced society, where exo-skeletons, etc. magnify strength and agility... why still need so many muscle-bound, macho guys?? I though such an armed force would be highly populated by geeky nerds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 movie was boring and not nice at all no chiobu in the movie alien woman look ugly and neh neh so small waste my $$ So, the female heli pilot ones don't appeal to you as well?? Quite "big", IMHO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 is avatar a cartoon movie? looks like one. dun you think that avatar has a close resemblance to smurf . . . besides being blue, both adore nature, love & live quietly in preservatives until being disturbed by "gargarmel" . . . i totally agree that cameron tried his very best to bring 3d feels into his movie, but the story line . . . kind of boring . . . .and important details were cut short to keep it going. a bit of overhyped . . . sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 is avatar a cartoon movie? looks like one. Technically it is a hybrid animation. But visually, you wouldn't be able to tell. If you miss the current "Avatar", you still have a chance to catch Avatar II. Yes, Cameron promised a least a second episode. My only wish is we don't need to wait for another decade! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 movie was boring and not nice at all no chiobu in the movie alien woman look ugly and neh neh so small waste my $$ try porn instead..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 found the show abit too long googles were heavy as i m wearing specs eyes felt strained from tiem to time maybe due to the refraction from twin lens but 3D effect was good for a standard cinema Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 This show make me think of the colonial era, where the western world colonise Africa and Asia for their natural resources. Western diplomat go to their land for diplomatic ties, in the end snatch their land and threaten them with their guns, while the natives only have bows, speras and arrows to fight back, in order to better control the native, they teach African and Asian their language eg, english, french, portugese, convert them to christian, build sch etc. In return they exploit their ppl (slavery), destroy their home, land and resources (spices, precious metal, etc to fuel their own country industrialization & development) . Its all showing such scenario in the movie. N the NAVI in the movie also behave like the african tribes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 (edited) watched it today at Jurong Pt.....the goggle was like those industrial safety glasses... Story wise....quite draggy..... the lead character Sulley when in the avatar form reminds me of Mel Gibson in Braveheart !! to me it is like a combinatio of Braveheart ( with those famous words..."they can't take our land..we will fight back ...!!") + Lord of the Ring ( asking the Spirit of the Forest to help) + Starship Trooper ( using machine gun to kill insects vs using bow & arrow to fight warplane !!)... the specal effect was good...... only wish is for those 3-D goggle to give an option of goggle form or a clip on for us wearing spec !! Edited December 24, 2009 by Cracker Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TuffDaddy Neutral Newbie December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 Watched in on Mon. 3D version. Worth the $10 and more. Predictable ending but very good show. Should watch it. agree with you that it's predictable. for me, the whole plot was predictable but it was still way better than the last movie my wife and i watched - twilight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 Zombieland was pretty awesome...but short. Avatar 160 min, phwoar! Hardcore! Totally man! Just watched Z-land again and it was even better the second time around! One of the reasons why I like this film so much is because of the opening sequence shot in like hyper slow-motion and the accompanying soundtrack is nothing short of legendary! "For Whom The Bell Tolls" by Metallica - circa 1984 "Make his fight on the hill in the early day, constant chill deep inside!!" Freakin' awesome man!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thugstercena Clutched December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 hmm. GV all outlets using reusable goggles. i have a fren that work there and they tell me they have to personally wash each and every goggle till late night. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 This show make me think of the colonial era, where the western world colonise Africa and Asia for their natural resources. Western diplomat go to their land for diplomatic ties, in the end snatch their land and threaten them with their guns, while the natives only have bows, speras and arrows to fight back, in order to better control the native, they teach African and Asian their language eg, english, french, portugese, convert them to christian, build sch etc. In return they exploit their ppl (slavery), destroy their home, land and resources (spices, precious metal, etc to fuel their own country industrialization & development) . Its all showing such scenario in the movie. N the NAVI in the movie also behave like the african tribes. You are almost there. To me, Cameron seems to deliberately scripted the Navi based on American indigenous tribes. It mirrors how the immigrant Europeans exploited their land and ultimately almost wiping out their existence. E.g. Na'vi way of praying over slain animals for their nomadic life style is actually being practiced by some American Indian tribes and today's African bushmans. Also they have the common trade in having great respective for mother nature. It is no coincidence that the film's Na'vi chief Eyukan is played by the Cherokee actor Wes Studi, whose credits include "Dances with Wolves," perhaps the film most thematically akin to "Avatar." In "Avatar," Cameron clearly displayed his position against Iraq war and anti-Bush stance by using now-familiar quotes like "fight terror with terror", "shock & awe" or "pre-emptive action". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 hmm. GV all outlets using reusable goggles. i have a fren that work there and they tell me they have to personally wash each and every goggle till late night. :) my fren in shaw said they put the specs into container to wash at one shot after each show. even if u see stains/fingerprints its normal coz the dishwasher cant scrub mah can only soap and rinse haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear December 24, 2009 Share December 24, 2009 it was not bad. :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...