Tyre rubbing fender

Taichizi

If you have just changed a new set of rims that are flush with your fender, but when the rear tyre rub the fender when going over road bumps abit too fast or taking a harder turn down the hill.

What options do you have to solve this problem? And, the pros & cons of the options available.

fender bending? or dunno whats its called. but theres a tool to bend the inner tyre walls to give more depth

pros - : can solve problem entirely

cons - : difficult to do a good job even with tools, as it may cause the fender/car body to flex and therefore paintwork may crack or wrinkle. or may result in loose fender/bumper if not done correctly with the right equipment.

find out where it actually rub the fender and then check/see if it can be cut away.

Ultimately , I believe the offset of your rims is off .

Bend the tyre side walls? This is very risky!!! You'll risk tyre blow out if you do that when the sidewall gives way.

fender bending? or dunno whats its called. but theres a tool to bend the inner tyre walls to give more depth

cons - : difficult to do a good job even with tools, as it may cause the fender/car body to flex and therefore paintwork may crack or wrinkle. or may result in loose fender/bumper if not done correctly with the right equipment.

take humps more slowly too. downhill corner dun kup too suddenly. the plus is that you are prolonging the life of your suspension n drivetrain.

i think rolling fender only solves part of the issues, unless you are willing to roll to the extent that your paint is sacrificed

Have done the dent removal with Lye Design. But, have not experienced the fender roll with them. Any feedback on their workmanship?

Do you mean fender rolling? Not bending the tyre sidewall right?

OR do you mean adjusting the camber kit?

Can see that the left hand edge of tyre go traces of "cut wound".... haiz.... [bigcry]

I guess need to hoist up the car and check the exact spot of rubbing in order to know which solution to apply.

Have done the dent removal with Lye Design. But, have not experienced the fender roll with them. Any feedback on their workmanship?

They are good. I used to drive a Jazz with OZ superleggera, the offset was wrong so always rubbing the fender. Went to them to roll the fenders and it solved the problem. Only when the car is fully loaded behind, a bit of tyre will still rub against the fender.

I am not so worried abt the humps becoz I always go super slow on humps. It is those sudden "ups and downs" on the road or expressway that I am worried about. I can't tell those "ups and downs" from far until near.... then my ride will "sit" on the tyre liao...

take humps more slowly too. downhill corner dun kup too suddenly. the plus is that you are prolonging the life of your suspension n drivetrain.

i think rolling fender only solves part of the issues, unless you are willing to roll to the extent that your paint is sacrificed

Can see that the left hand edge of tyre go traces of "cut wound".... haiz.... [bigcry]

I guess need to hoist up the car and check the exact spot of rubbing in order to know which solution to apply.

alternatively you can try to look at the inner fender or feel along it .

last time , I apply a layer of kiwi on the tayar and later after the drive I can see where the fender rub.

Do you mean fender rolling? Not bending the tyre sidewall right?

OR do you mean adjusting the camber kit?

yup u smart, yes i meant is fender rolling,

defo not bend tyre side wall.... typo lah

So far, driving on normal speed on downward slopes and relatively flat road, no problem.

Yesterday, drove on ECP towards AYE, the segment where after the bridge - passing Sands - above Keppel Rd segment.... wah... I think rub fender about 3-4 times along that stretch of ECP.... it seems that after the ups and when the car body is going down force (feel like the butt of car sitting down) and that's when the fender rub the tyres. Can see the cut wounds on the outer edge of the left rear tyre (which is abt 1-2mm out of body) but cant see any cut wound on the right rear tyre (which is abt 3-5mm out of body) at the moment.

If you have just changed a new set of rims that are flush with your fender, but when the rear tyre rub the fender when going over road bumps abit too fast or taking a harder turn down the hill.

What options do you have to solve this problem? And, the pros & cons of the options available.

bro you driving an AVEO? anyways looks like your suspension too soft liao... a car shouldnt bottom out even at full load... unless you are using lowered springs with stock damper? if yes its a terrible combination...

different cars have different clearance for bigger wheels to fit nicely... example, the vios old model and new model hv different allowence when you upsize your tyres/rims...

i wouldnt advise any bending cutting of your fenders, citing that you do full loads... in this case either live with smaller tyres or change your car i guess...

for me i am using the biggest size possible for my tyres, and lowest height possible... drives fine but hard driving will kanna fender also... but i have a rule... Max is 3 adults in the car including me... or 4 ppl but all skinny ones... my car is 50% of the time Driver only, 45% of the time 2 adults... 4.9% of the time 3 adults... and 0.1% of the time 4 skinny adults... ^_^