Racist comments on Facebook.

TangoElite

alamak, stupid lah these 3 cina, should have typed in chinese.

must be like melayu lah, typed in malay, the cina don't know.

that's why you always see cina kana caught but never the malays.

bodoh lah.

lol that is funny!

if you had been to those lesser known malays forums, you will get what i mean.

what motive?

if your own mind is crooked, pls don't ask what motives others have.

which forum? :D

the reason why i dislike ang mor, is becos i find them often proud to the point of being arrogant, superficial, and snobbish. and worse is, local women think they are fantastic, my foot.

I wonder why local women who married ang mohs always must tell the whole world so by suddenly becoming a Mrs Jenny Tan-Peterson or whatever. My neighbour included... with her half-baked Brit slang but using certified ah-huay Hokkien to quarrel with her relatives when they visit. [crazy]

Does it also mean people in this forum I came acorss need to be charged?

http://forums.keeptouch.net/showthread.php...7400&page=2

So much misinformation on that site.

For example, the business about "Thamby" and "Ah Neh". Both are Tamil words, the former means younger brother, the latter, elder brother.

Are they offensive? When used in the proper context (i.e. between siblings), obviously not. But when used by a non-Indian on an Indian - *especially* in a deprecatory or derogatory context? It should be obvious that this is indeed offensive. I suppose it should be OK amongs the best of friends to refer to each other jovially. The crux is the intent, which may be crystal clear from the context. So the assertion that it's OK for non-Indians to start referring to Indians as "Ah Neh" or "Thamby", simply because of the literal non-offensive meaning of the words, is quite idiotic. (As an analogy, have you noticed how some blacks on TV shows and movies get offended when whites address them as "bro", especially when patronising them? Same principle.)

On to the business about "Keling", some posters in that forum seem to imply an origin from the sounds of clanking chains (an onomatopoeia). The more likely etymology is from the name of an important Tamil kingdom by the name of "Kalinga". There were many Tamil dynasties and kingdoms and calling all Indians "Keling" based on one region and one historical period is grossly improper. And hence this is also very offensive.

I'm saying this because I feel, as an ethnic Indian, it's important to educate those who are genuinely unaware of the racially-offensive nature of some of these epithets. Of course, I've seen these terms being used in this very forum, and it's quite clear that the posters meant outright to be racially offensive from the context of their posts (of course the cowards often backpedal and trip over themselves in abject denial when confronted about it). And please don't say that these terms have been "traditionally accepted" - "nigger" was an acceptable mode of address in the US once upon time, but try that now to a Black and see what you get.

I hope no more of these racial slurs find their way onto this forum in future - but if they do, well, I'm confident the authorities will know what to do about it. There's already a legal precedent being established at this very moment. Potential miscreants, consider this fair warning.

When I returned from australia some yrs ago, ppl asked me if the aussies are racist. I told them that I've seen more incidences of racism in 1 mth in Singapore than my years in australia. The conversation ended. Ppl dont understand. Accused me of going ozzie. It's not true. Singaporeans are daft racists. Just becos it's in the pledge that it's regardless of race, language or religion, it does not mean that it's the reality of things. Only we will go in front of the press and profess our hatred of other nationalities. We go behind the veil of an online nick and 'debate' that it's ok to call each other nicknames pegged to race. And in DFS, you cant get a job if you're not chinese, or so say DFS themselves.

Seriously, if you crack Eurasian jokes, i will laff it off, call me whatever, does not make me a lesser man...UNLESS i CHOOSE to believe that it will [wave]

your govt called you a lesser mortal

does that equate to discrimination ?

your govt called you a lesser mortal

does that equate to discrimination ?

that more like citizenism lah... [laugh][laugh] not targetting any race wat....

thanks for sharing.

the reason why i dislike ang mor, is becos i find them often proud to the point of being arrogant, superficial, and snobbish. and worse is, local women think they are fantastic, my foot.

it's true these angmo in singapore seldom make local frens and they live in their own 'enclaves' bukit timah, nassim hill etc

they see u like 'hey u singkie , me angmo. u here to do my bidding, i give the ideas and u do the dirty jobs, i get credit, u get OT'

dats how they think of us

i can relate to that....

i dont understand why many local women do indeed find them very handsome and fantastic just because he is ang moh, even though his face is so buang, and he is so arrogant.....

i dont find ang moh girls any hotter than local girls, in fact i find that the best local girls are much better than the best ang moh girls...

that said, i do have a couple of ang moh friends who are quite the opposite, humble and down to earth, but they are really the rare few

The reason AMTK are coming here to Asia and hitching Asian females is because their women (aka AMTL or Ang Mo Tua Liap) there are More Equal then them now.

Asian Girls are more subservient.

Those AMTK chose SG, Msia girls for more intelligent high income churners.(if they are not financially independent ) Chose Vietnam, Thai, Filipines for more subservient and homely type - normally these AMTKs got $$ already and want to stretch every dollar they have - most are divorced and children grown up and running away from Ex-wife to save on ailmony.

This is why you see AMTK and Asian Girl but almost rare to see Asian Men and AMTLs (If the AMTL look down on their AMTK - they totally see us no UP).

Edited by Tigerwoods

When I returned from australia some yrs ago, ppl asked me if the aussies are racist. I told them that I've seen more incidences of racism in 1 mth in Singapore than my years in australia. The conversation ended. Ppl dont understand. Accused me of going ozzie. It's not true. Singaporeans are daft racists. Just becos it's in the pledge that it's regardless of race, language or religion, it does not mean that it's the reality of things. Only we will go in front of the press and profess our hatred of other nationalities. We go behind the veil of an online nick and 'debate' that it's ok to call each other nicknames pegged to race. And in DFS, you cant get a job if you're not chinese, or so say DFS themselves.

[thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Couldn't agree more.

In NZ if you ever saw "chinese working enironment" of "female working environment" in an employment ad, the law would come down on you like a tonne of bricks.

I have also seen a lot of racism in Singapore - and very casually justified. Singapore is one of the few places that lists race on IC.

Yes places like the US, Australia and New Zealand do record it during a census, but to compare that to listing it on ic is uninformed.

An indiviudal's census data is not revealed to "the govt" - only aggregated data is recoreded.

I wonder why local women who married ang mohs always must tell the whole world so by suddenly becoming a Mrs Jenny Tan-Peterson or whatever. My neighbour included... with her half-baked Brit slang but using certified ah-huay Hokkien to quarrel with her relatives when they visit. [crazy]

Heh - then you will be dissappointed in my wife - to this day she still maintains her maiden name.

It's not true. Singaporeans are daft racists. Just becos it's in the pledge that it's regardless of race, language or religion, it does not mean that it's the reality of things. Only we will go in front of the press and profess our hatred of other nationalities. We go behind the veil of an online nick and 'debate' that it's ok to call each other nicknames pegged to race. And in DFS, you cant get a job if you're not chinese, or so say DFS themselves.

So true ~ their action speaks louder than words

Bros,

Just one thing to bear in mind, ang mo, (and its variations) is not exactly the nicest term either. As a shorthand to describe a "white fellah" it doesn't upset me, but the big thing to remember is that "whites" come in as many cultures, creeds, religions and what have you as their are countries around the world.

You could use ang-mo to describe an Ozzie, POM, Yank, Mick, McTavish, Kiwi, Icelander, Dane, German, Frog (yeah the slang terms are deliberate) or whatever, but there are going to be massive differences between each of them. To label them all with one term is not exactly right either.

Just as, I'm sure there are going to be massive cultural differences between a Singapore Chinese, Taiwanese, Indonesian Chinese, Malaysian Chinese, American Born Chinese etc etc.

This is mostly why I don't really like race as a label - its far more informative and accurate (in my opinion) to use nationality.

I was bugged when getting my IC about what race to put on it, dun like caucasian, european or whatever, but was told that I wasn't allowed to have "New Zealander" - which was how I answered the race question in the last New Zealand census.

Another question that comes up a lot on official forms, job applications and the like that I don't like is religion. This is nobodies business but my own. It is not relevant to my skills, or medical treatment or tax or anything else - I alsways put "NA" for this or just leave it blank.

Bros,

Just one thing to bear in mind, ang mo, (and its variations) is not exactly the nicest term either. As a shorthand to describe a "white fellah" it doesn't upset me, but the big thing to remember is that "whites" come in as many cultures, creeds, religions and what have you as their are countries around the world.

You could use ang-mo to describe an Ozzie, POM, Yank, Mick, McTavish, Kiwi, Icelander, Dane, German, Frog (yeah the slang terms are deliberate) or whatever, but there are going to be massive differences between each of them. To label them all with one term is not exactly right either.

Just as, I'm sure there are going to be massive cultural differences between a Singapore Chinese, Taiwanese, Indonesian Chinese, Malaysian Chinese, American Born Chinese etc etc.

Scratch that analogy, brother - to lump Europeans, Americans and Oceanian Caucasians all into the catch-all epithet "ang-moh" is equivalent to lumping the Chinese and the Japanese together.

Just call an older Singaporean Chinese a "Jap" and see if they like it- I wager they won't like it one bit, and they'll probably let their fists do the remonstrating.

(Of course, a really young Singaporean Chinese might have the exact opposite reaction, and feel flattered - but honestly, this is even sadder in a sense.)

Scratch that analogy, brother - to lump Europeans, Americans and Oceanian Caucasians all into the catch-all epithet "ang-moh" is equivalent to lumping the Chinese and the Japanese together.

Just call an older Singaporean Chinese a "Jap" and see if they like it- I wager they won't like it one bit, and they'll probably let their fists do the remonstrating.

(Of course, a really young Singaporean Chinese might have the exact opposite reaction, and feel flattered - but honestly, this is even sadder in a sense.)

Heh, the other thing that bugs me, is when someone sees a person of chinese ethnicity, they automatically expect them to speak Chinese. I am of scots / german descent - but no one expects me to speak either scottish or german. Fair?

Then just to show how contrary I am, its a slight annoyance for me, when people are always so surprised that my kid speaks chinese. I always feel a little [rolleyes] I mean - her mother is Singapore Chinese, she is going to a neighbourhood kindergarten, why wouldn't she speak chinese? (although I must admit, the damn language is too bloody difficult for me, I simply cannot get the tones - my teacher always got upset because I kept calling her "rat" instead of "teacher")