Is Toyota's reputation finished?

Ahtong

Well....it will have a difficult time STOPPING the slide of their reputation [laugh][laugh]

pun intended

Yeah, I wonder if this will hit the BRAKES on their otherwise RUNAWAY success.

Edited by Ahtong

Hard to say whether their sales will HIT THE WALL or TAKE OFF

Actually I am expecting sales to go DOWN THE RAVINE if no DAMAGE control is done to extinguish the FIREY slide [:p]

okoko....better stop...wait ppl say we insensitive...

They will not be finished , after they conquer their pedal problem and brake problem

people still will buy like mad

if now 2008 Toyota corolla is $30k people will all buy it !!!!

Ok, I'm STUCK anyway. [laugh]

Seriously now, if I want to buy new car, will the scandal affect the trade in value of my current Toyota? [confused]

There is another news about Toyota PRIUS braking system failure happend in US and JP.

I think it is not over yet.

Toyota quite jia lat this time.

Edited by Tommythk

Is Toyota's reputation finished and will they lose market dominance over the self accelerating issue? Let's look at this from a local and international perspective.

I don't know about international markets but consumers here are probably too besotted by the badge to care. Most likely nothing will change until local Altises start shooting off Sheares bridge.

I do feel a bit sorry for Toyota because American car makers have been in the red so now is the time to bring out the daggers. It's also hard to tell whether the accidents was caused by faulty accelerator, kayu driver or just some chao keng trying to make a quick buck.

gone gone gone, toyota is in deep s--t [knife]

Ok, I'm STUCK anyway. [laugh]

Seriously now, if I want to buy new car, will the scandal affect the trade in value of my current Toyota? [confused]

hopefully not, let pray pray cos i also own toyota [rolleyes]

It is just a temporary setback for Toyota. They will survive.

agree with you. its just a matter of time how fast they can gain back confidence from the market. not just singapore but world wide. whats more when korean and china(mayb) are coming up pretty fast. in fact they are faster than the japanese when they first starting making cars. the quality are not v distanced nowadays.

Toyota should stop ordering from the company that manufacture that "shoe" part for the accelerator.

But at least they came out and say sorry in front of the media and tries to rectify the problem.

Better than car manufacturers that make cars and don't do recall if the car has problem.

the perception for the brand is stil quite high..for years the altis has recd pretty poor feedback compared to MIJ G9 but look its stil the top jap car...

That means the parts are from 3rd party suppliers for the region. There's not much reputation at stake IMO, at least they did the right thing to recall their cars. Compare to the scandal of Mitsubishi in 2000, the case of faulty parts that causes safety issues which were deliberately kept under wraps, that IMO is more jialat.

Just Google "Mitsubishi scandal".

Can even find it on Wikipedia...

Partial extract:

"Vehicle defect cover-up

In what was referred to as "one of the largest corporate scandals in Japanese history",[23][24] Mitsubishi was twice forced to admit to systematically covering up defect problems in its vehicles. Four defects were first publicized in 2000, but in 2004 it confessed to 26 more going back as far as 1977, including failing brakes, fuel leaks and malfunctioning clutches. The effect on the company was catastrophic, forcing it to recall 163,707 cars (156,433 in Japan and 7,274 overseas) for free repair.[25] Further recalls by Fuso truck & bus brought the total number of vehicles requiring repair to almost one million. The affair led to the resignation and subsequent arrest of president Kawasoe, along with 23 other employees who were also implicated.[26] Three of them have since been acquitted, with the judge stating that there was no official request from the Transport Ministry ordering them to submit a defect report."

Have the scandal really stop buyers from buying their cars? You be the judge.

Isn't that what's happening to toyota too. They have been sitting on the problem for almost 3yrs, was was pressured/force to recall after the USA transport secretary sent people to japan to wake them up..

Toyota should stop ordering from the company that manufacture that "shoe" part for the accelerator.

But at least they came out and say sorry in front of the media and tries to rectify the problem.

Better than car manufacturers that make cars and don't do recall if the car has problem.

well they did. Source : www.sgcarmart.com

Akio Toyoda, who is the grandson of Toyota

this time Toyota really kena punched hard in the balls.

gone are the days when their cars are said to be reliable.

someone died from this mistake.

very few car buyers will think of it as nothing wrong.

Toyota will have to take the slow and painful route to gain back the reputation they have built up throughout the years.

i think they need to borrow some good marketing techniques from Mcdonalds.

for now, NISSAN FTW!

Edited by 1l0v3you

Well, at least the cars in Japan are safe. [laugh]

I don't own a Toyota and I don't think I will ever own a Toyota... If there is a need to buy 1... It will be the old trusty AE101 Corolla!