Speed camera at NS highway

Thaiyotakamli

You must be mad IF you drive at 170.

The road is not designed for that speed.

The NSH has maintenance requirements including potholes, at that speed you can't swerve to miss.

Other cars do not expect cars to drive at that speed and therefore don't allow for it.

IMO drivers like you are a danger to the normal motorist. [mad]

its during day time n traffic was smooth so no harm at all..and i agreed to ur comment that i cant swerve the potholes....at that time of driving up to KL i was very young and now seen too many freak accident freak me out no worries changed to a better driver rite now cheers

If you speed, please don't bribe. Pay the fine properly. You did wrong, pay up. Most of you complain that Malaysians are corrupt and all, and you go ahead and condone it. [knife]

I've been stopped for doing 128km/hr, cop asked me if "want to settle", I told him to just summon me since I knew I've been cruising at above speed limit most of the time, and he let me go scot free [rolleyes]

Once again, please don't bribe.

i got one friend who speed but didn't want to bribe, in the end he ended in police station paying up 300 fine [rolleyes]

Yes, your friend sped, so he should pay the fine. I would have paid the rm300 if the cop booked me. It's his prerogative, but he didn't. I still find it fun to drive up north though, feel like there's a bit more freedom, especially on the back roads...

i kena before. wasnt fined till the next entrance to JB @ custom. demanded cash upfront. can't remember how much, think bout RM700. That one got receipt [bigcry]

Anyone caught speeding at night on NSHW? It seems normal to travel at speed of around 140-150 km/h during night drive but few move at speed beyond 130 km/h during the day. Anyone caught at night without knowing it? TIA.

yea i wonder why too. my fines are in the day. but night is the faster speed! maybe cameras sleep at night :mellow:

I have heard of drivers getting booked for speeding in Singapore at night but this appears to be rare in Malaysia, at least from my own experience. Guess speed camera may not be suitable for night use although I am pretty sure those installed on our expressways work as well during the day as at night, anyone knows why?

in Singapore, the stationary cameras have farking powerful flash..like flashbang..so taking your candid photo is no problem...as for those portable TP manned cameras, i don't know whether they have night vision capabilities..but i've never heard of ppl in Singapore kena caught for speeding by portable white ants cameras..

as for NSHW, they use purely portable speed cam..and that, i know definitely have night vision capabilities..but i suppose their polis are lazy to mount speed trap operations at night..

or maybe they think if they really want to catch at night @ NSH, they'd go crazy. every min one fast car zoom by. HAHA [laugh]

actually, it's possible..setup speed cam..and a road block a few km down the road..

just that the person manning the speed cam will be damn sian..stuck in the middle of nowhere and it's totally dark...

If you speed, please don't bribe. Pay the fine properly. You did wrong, pay up. Most of you complain that Malaysians are corrupt and all, and you go ahead and condone it. [knife]

I've been stopped for doing 128km/hr, cop asked me if "want to settle", I told him to just summon me since I knew I've been cruising at above speed limit most of the time, and he let me go scot free [rolleyes]

Once again, please don't bribe.

He summon u have to escort u to police station. Ur opportunity cost is a few $k who wan to summon u lol..

in Singapore, the stationary cameras have farking powerful flash..like flashbang..so taking your candid photo is no problem...as for those portable TP manned cameras, i don't know whether they have night vision capabilities..but i've never heard of ppl in Singapore kena caught for speeding by portable white ants cameras..

as for NSHW, they use purely portable speed cam..and that, i know definitely have night vision capabilities..but i suppose their polis are lazy to mount speed trap operations at night..

Portable cameras can't capture your plate. Thats why at nite u will see WRX chase u if u caught speeding. Then they show u picture on the spot ask u sign summon. Mornings where got WRX chase. They capture swee swee send to your house no need waste petrol lol..

i went up to KL on 09 March and after Ayer Keroh RnR, the polis set up road block...most SG car kena...it was in the morning.

the young polis came to me and asked for my license, and said.."i can help you"

at first he asked for 150, then i told him i am going up for work..then he lowered to 50...paid and off i go again...

tmrw going up again and hope no road block again

Thanks for the confirmation, mind sharing your experience?

Based on the posts by Nf0rc3r and your goodself, It appears that Malaysian traffic police has night vision gears but they will have to stop you to issue you the speeding ticket for night ops, that means no surprise summons and the possibility of settling on the spot!!!

Interesting information.

NSHW 170 is pretty normal lah. I alway cruise at 170 or 180 leh. I thiink that guys must be cruising at 90 on NSHW.

Mind sharing what car you drive? I find it difficult to cruise at 170-180 along NSHW, 140-150 can however be a relatively comfortable range during light traffic.