Rollagt 5th Gear February 16, 2010 Share February 16, 2010 (edited) Another beng/seng related topic, Over the past few days of CNY, lion dance troupe are engaged to perform at various places to bring good luck and fortune. I love the lion dance and the loud noise of the drums and cymbal so will always like to see them perform but I realise all the performers are usually ah sengs and bengs and their average age is late teens to early 20s. swears at every sentence as they speak,walk with "360" flair and had Final fantasy hairstyle. Many times I thot an angmoh is performing the lion dance. Hmm..strange that I dun get to see quai quai or mandarian/angmoh speaking lion dance performers thou this is part of the chinese culture and not some sleazy dance or something.. Edited February 16, 2010 by Rollagt ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear February 16, 2010 Share February 16, 2010 Exactly why lion dance disgusts me. I've seen worse. Not trying to discriminate any particular race here but some time back (not too sure about now) there were troupes made up of dark-skinned performers going around performing at doorsteps of retail shops/coffeeshops without invitation and demanding money from the owners after a very brief performance. When the owners refuse payment, they turn unfriendly, even to the extent of using vulgarities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear February 16, 2010 Author Share February 16, 2010 Exactly why lion dance disgusts me. I've seen worse. Not trying to discriminate any particular race here but some time back (not too sure about now) there were troupes made up of dark-skinned performers going around performing at doorsteps of retail shops/coffeeshops without invitation and demanding money from the owners after a very brief performance. When the owners refuse payment, they turn unfriendly, even to the extent of using vulgarities. Precisely, they are clad in low standard lion dance outfit and perform with no enthusiasm with no smile or something..like robot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2bfree Neutral Newbie February 16, 2010 Share February 16, 2010 The two of u must be foreigners or non-Chinese at least? Cos I dun tink u guys knw much abt the lion dance culture in SEA......Or the whole lion dance culture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Revslide Neutral Newbie February 16, 2010 Share February 16, 2010 There ARE reputable lion dance clans in Singapore. It's getting rarer plainly of the lack of support and the "gangster" image that it unfortunately projects to the common man. You have to find them through word of mouth much rather like finding a good martial arts master. :P The ah bengs & ah sengs you see are most likely hired on a temporary basis even by proper clans due to the reasons above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged February 16, 2010 Share February 16, 2010 (edited) Another beng/seng related topic, Over the past few days of CNY, lion dance troupe are engaged to perform at various places to bring good luck and fortune. I love the lion dance and the loud noise of the drums and cymbal so will always like to see them perform but I realise all the performers are usually ah sengs and bengs and their average age is late teens to early 20s. swears at every sentence as they speak,walk with "360" flair and had Final fantasy hairstyle. Many times I thot an angmoh is performing the lion dance. Hmm..strange that I dun get to see quai quai or mandarian/angmoh speaking lion dance performers thou this is part of the chinese culture and not some sleazy dance or something.. In the past, people do it out of pride and passion. People take it as a martial skill to dance the lion well. Today, school kids do it for some pocket money. You can see that the lion lack of "energy" in most cases. However, I am not sure if the ang pow money has really gone down so much over the years that we now have to engage kids to do it. Edited February 16, 2010 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear February 16, 2010 Share February 16, 2010 (edited) The two of u must be foreigners or non-Chinese at least? Cos I dun tink u guys knw much abt the lion dance culture in SEA......Or the whole lion dance culture. I'm Chinese and you're right, I do not know enough about the lion dance culture. Unfortunately human beings are superficial, they build their perception based on what they see. The lion dancers have not projected themselves well. More often than not, troupes are made up of gangster-looking members and these members conduct themselves in a rather uncivil manner. It's THEY who need to do something about their image if they want others to rethink the way outsiders like myself look at them. Edited February 16, 2010 by Leslielai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 (edited) Another beng/seng related topic, Over the past few days of CNY, lion dance troupe are engaged to perform at various places to bring good luck and fortune. I love the lion dance and the loud noise of the drums and cymbal so will always like to see them perform but I realise all the performers are usually ah sengs and bengs and their average age is late teens to early 20s. swears at every sentence as they speak,walk with "360" flair and had Final fantasy hairstyle. Many times I thot an angmoh is performing the lion dance. Hmm..strange that I dun get to see quai quai or mandarian/angmoh speaking lion dance performers thou this is part of the chinese culture and not some sleazy dance or something.. Where else could they get a decent job? Are you going to hire them? I rather see them do smth like this dan see them do illegal things and end up in jail. Stop judging ppl by their appearance lah. Edited February 17, 2010 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 I'm Chinese and you're right, I do not know enough about the lion dance culture. Unfortunately human beings are superficial, they build their perception based on what they see. The lion dancers have not projected themselves well. More often than not, troupes are made up of gangster-looking members and these members conduct themselves in a rather uncivil manner. It's THEY who need to do something about their image if they want others to rethink the way outsiders like myself look at them. And what would your image be like? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 Where else could they get a decent job? Are you going to hire them? I rather see them do smth like this dan see them do illegal things and end up in jail. Stop judging ppl by their appearance lah. No, you are wrong to mix their welfare with what is a sacred tradition. Lion dance is not something where two people can just put on the head and body and do a couple of wiggles to the drum beats and cymbals. There are, VERY professional troupes in Singapore, one well known being the Hock Chew Clan, who do big events etc. Their lion's head is done in a very proper way, prayers offered, etc... and their people are the so called selected few. I'll give you ONE good example. How would you feel, if this so called group of lion dances cane to your home, being a VERY auspicious day, (New Year being one very good example) do a half fark lion dance rip a hole in your pocket, (ok, nevermind) and then after, start spewing vulgarities at each other, to the point of swearing at mother's private parts to father's private parts, and all this right in front of you and your entire family? Now you get the picture? I had one bad experience MANY years back, on the 2nd day of the Lunar New Year, thot this troupe was REPUTABLE, ok, die hair and all, I can accept, the troupe master asked me to pay $188 for a 10min visit, prepare oranges on the floor, a shallow bucket with water, filled (on the phone, 3 days prior) gold coins and silver coins ($1 and 50c) of which I did, changed close to $400 bucks. When the lion did the dance, couldn't help noticing the guy in the head was scooping as much of the coins into a plastic bag he held inside. Ok, end of the day, I was farked. $400 bucks GONE, because I asked the so called MASTER, he said, 'Oh no, what goes into the Lion's stomach, is the Lion's. Hey, cannot loose temper on new Year's day ok, so LPPL, $00 plus $188. well, did I HUAT that year, ok, truth is, not being superstitious, but KNCCB, when market opened the the next day, all my counters dropped, I lost my projects overseas, to a sweet tune of US$800k. *PUI* Moral of the story..........FARK the lion dance if you can. This happened 20 plus years ago, and fark me if I'm EVER going to let it happen again. Well, we did confront the same troupe the following year with a bundle of lettuce, tired to a bamboo pole with a red ang pau, they TRIED to take it, but.....11th floor not possible to take the green lah. BTW Bro. What they're doing is also considered as "Cheating/Stealing" Pian lang. Personally, not much difference from going out right and steal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 When the lion did the dance, couldn't help noticing the guy in the head was scooping as much of the coins into a plastic bag he held inside. Errr..how did he dance the lion head and scoop at the same time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 hmm...think more or less those lion dance troups standards have dropped tremendously...those with real kungfu will only participate in the annual lion dance festival locally (usually at Ngee Ann City) and also challenge for the best lion dance trophy overseas (usually in Genting Msia)...most of the CNY dancers are part-timers who only learnt the trade during weekends at CCs or clubs/associations. And most of all, at least half of the troupe are malays and indians which duno the tradition of the lion dance, and only went for the $$$ just to shake and shake for couple of minutes at every doorstep. If I remember correctly, the lion head must not touch the floor after the dance, must at least hold it on the hand or prop up on the drum to transport around. Nowadays I see most or all of them put on the floor...then what's the point of 开光 for the lions (which is to ask a monk/taoist/senior to use red ink to mark on the lions's eyes to symbolise the lion is "alive")? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 Anyway where to see REAL lion dance performances?? I realised my daughter is mesmerised by it & was dancing along when she watched it on tv. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 No, you are wrong to mix their welfare with what is a sacred tradition. Lion dance is not something where two people can just put on the head and body and do a couple of wiggles to the drum beats and cymbals. There are, VERY professional troupes in Singapore, one well known being the Hock Chew Clan, who do big events etc. Their lion's head is done in a very proper way, prayers offered, etc... and their people are the so called selected few. I'll give you ONE good example. How would you feel, if this so called group of lion dances cane to your home, being a VERY auspicious day, (New Year being one very good example) do a half fark lion dance rip a hole in your pocket, (ok, nevermind) and then after, start spewing vulgarities at each other, to the point of swearing at mother's private parts to father's private parts, and all this right in front of you and your entire family? Now you get the picture? I had one bad experience MANY years back, on the 2nd day of the Lunar New Year, thot this troupe was REPUTABLE, ok, die hair and all, I can accept, the troupe master asked me to pay $188 for a 10min visit, prepare oranges on the floor, a shallow bucket with water, filled (on the phone, 3 days prior) gold coins and silver coins ($1 and 50c) of which I did, changed close to $400 bucks. When the lion did the dance, couldn't help noticing the guy in the head was scooping as much of the coins into a plastic bag he held inside. Ok, end of the day, I was farked. $400 bucks GONE, because I asked the so called MASTER, he said, 'Oh no, what goes into the Lion's stomach, is the Lion's. Hey, cannot loose temper on new Year's day ok, so LPPL, $00 plus $188. well, did I HUAT that year, ok, truth is, not being superstitious, but KNCCB, when market opened the the next day, all my counters dropped, I lost my projects overseas, to a sweet tune of US$800k. *PUI* Moral of the story..........FARK the lion dance if you can. This happened 20 plus years ago, and fark me if I'm EVER going to let it happen again. Well, we did confront the same troupe the following year with a bundle of lettuce, tired to a bamboo pole with a red ang pau, they TRIED to take it, but.....11th floor not possible to take the green lah. BTW Bro. What they're doing is also considered as "Cheating/Stealing" Pian lang. Personally, not much difference from going out right and steal. That is so true.... its all a bloody sham and gimmick.Totally nonsense..!!! Its just a legal way of cheating. Ppl don need lion dance for luck... we are only responsible for our own actions. Inviting lion dance is only a way of showing off to ppl how wealthy you are. I'd rather show off by donating the $400 to those in need. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 Wow. Thanks for the insight of your bad experience. Learned smth from you. Anyway, I'm not into this lion dance thing on CNY or on any kind of occasion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear February 17, 2010 Author Share February 17, 2010 Its an dying tradition which young people nowadays do not wish to participate..sweaty, tired and not glam. Sigh. Those REAL clans are mostly preoccupied with training and competition to gain glory and honour. They might not really need those home to home visit to earn their keep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sw20 2nd Gear February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 Last time there were lion dance competition outside taka. Wat happen to it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 Wow. Thanks for the insight of your bad experience. Learned smth from you. Anyway, I'm not into this lion dance thing on CNY or on any kind of occasion. I thought just TRY once, and I PAID the price. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...