Ahtong 1st Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 Inspired by the epically long Kia Koup thread ...... What is considered a poser car? Is there a rule that only fast cars can look sleek? Why can't the designers of an average performing car try to make the exterior attractive? More than one car looks fast but how come not all get the poser tag? Isn't it more poser when people buy a stock car and try to transform it into something it is not? For example the fake WRX and Wajalutions. Or what about people who buy a genuinely powerful car but can only go fast on straight roads? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superfox Neutral Newbie February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 I drive a 1.5L poser car before too . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 to me is a TS trying to be a rex, a lancer trying to be evo. a swift trying to be swift pork. a civic trying to be a CTR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 It's all in the driver. Whatever the car reflects, it reflects the driver. That's also why sometimes you get stereotyped by the car or car brand that you drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 stickered up vehicles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 ........... everytime i try to stereotype a certain make of car.... kanna up dwn left right already... fact of the matter is... different ppl got different defination of powerful and beautiful... so many millionairs in SG drive very budget cars... so many middle class ppl drive 'big' and 'expensive' cars... so your question very very debate-able.... anyways IMO, poser is any car thats trys to be another car... eg... 318 put M3 badge... POSER ALSO.... not only to budget cars... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 to me is a TS trying to be a rex, a lancer trying to be evo. a swift trying to be swift pork. a civic trying to be a CTR. you mean those that try to mod the car to look like Rex or do you mean automatic become poser because it got a sports cousin? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 Inspired by the epically long Kia Koup thread ...... What is considered a poser car? Is there a rule that only fast cars can look sleek? Why can't the designers of an average performing car try to make the exterior attractive? More than one car looks fast but how come not all get the poser tag? Isn't it more poser when people buy a stock car and try to transform it into something it is not? For example the fake WRX and Wajalutions. Or what about people who buy a genuinely powerful car but can only go fast on straight roads? Perhaps before we dwell on poseur cars... let's broaden the perspectives a little.... My take, not all posuer car owners have a choice... at least consider my scenario.... Long long time ago, just upon my graduation from overseas and prior to starting work, I received a call from my dad from Singapore Dad: Son.. you're starting work soon ya? Me: ya..ya.. Dad: I've got you a car!! Me: yes!! yes!! what car?? Dad: Corolla Altis Me: ........................ So for the next years, I had to suffer the fate of not owning my dream car, at that time, it was a Rex... (If I cannot afford it, fine... but its even more painful when you can afford your dream car, but can't really buy it cuz dad will be upset..you know...??) The next best thing?? Try making my Altis as close to my dream car as possible. I added Gt wings, eagle eyes, even TC it at one point, changed its colour twice, changed Rims 4 times, changed body kits twice.... you name it.... but well, a snake would not become a dragon even when you add claws to it right?? Finally, I decided enough is enough... even if dad nags, I will go for it... I never looked back..and my FN2R looks as stock as it is, except for my Weldsport aftermarket Rims... Back to the topic.... Sometimes car owners either have family commitments, reasons (like mine), restrictions, etc etc.... but since they need to fulfil that "inner fantasy", they try to beautify their rides as close to their dream cars as possible... End up, kena labelled as Poseurs.... very sad..... Of course, I dun tolerate reckless or yaya drivers.... no matter its a posuer car or a real sports car, its not the car.. its the attitude of the driver.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 Poser car? TS trying to look like WRX FD Civic trying to look like FD2R Lancer EX trying to look like Evo normal 3/5 series trying to look like M3/M5 normal Swift trying to look like Swift Sports Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 Hey, at least your dad bought you a car right? Still sad for wat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 to me is a TS trying to be a rex, a lancer trying to be evo. a swift trying to be swift pork. a civic trying to be a CTR. wahaha... swift pork.... i thought the car was halal??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 .......hmmmm.... altis with a GT wing??!!!!!! err.... no comments... but the thing is.... you didnt try to make your altis look like another model or make... so your GT altis has an issue of 'style' (i'm not judging it).......... nothing to do with 'poser'.... IMO... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 Hey, at least your dad bought you a car right? Still sad for wat? Because I could have driven a Rex in my earlier years... if my dad didn;t get me that car.... Lost out the fun in driving during those years.... Its an intangible loss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 .......hmmmm.... altis with a GT wing??!!!!!! err.... no comments... but the thing is.... you didnt try to make your altis look like another model or make... so your GT altis has an issue of 'style' (i'm not judging it).......... nothing to do with 'poser'.... IMO... No worries bro... the Altis is a blast from the past... no more family sedans for me from now on... have moved on already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 Because I could have driven a Rex in my earlier years... if my dad didn;t get me that car.... Lost out the fun in driving during those years.... Its an intangible loss wah low..I will be sad if I am your dad man.... Altis also need money to buy one ok.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 wah low..I will be sad if I am your dad man.... Altis also need money to buy one ok.... but you're not the dad......... need $ or not, buying something you didnt want... is riduclous.... and worst if you have no choice... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 (edited) Because I could have driven a Rex in my earlier years... if my dad didn;t get me that car.... Lost out the fun in driving during those years.... Its an intangible loss look at the good side, your dad bought you a car with good intentions. no tiong chia for you back then because he's worried that you might chiong and get into accident mah.. a lot of us slog really hard just to buy a small car, you should be satisfied you know? take me for example, i don't think i'll ever get a chance to own a performance saloon until maybe i'm in my late 30s. by then it would be too late to play car liao.. have to settle down and start family.. family car time.. Edited February 18, 2010 by Beehive3783 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 18, 2010 Share February 18, 2010 My car is definitely a poser car. never touch Malaysian soil. only to work and back basically very once in a while redline only ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...