Ferrislong Neutral Newbie February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 Hi All, I have just been advised by a TP on CTE that there is no such penalty called "road hogging". Only "road hinderance". Any one can verify this? I am not booked for anything. thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 the local mindset abt this term is regardless of how fast i drive, be it 200kmh or 50kmh, as long as you are the slower vehicle in front of me and refuse to give way, you are road hogging u go check their driving records...see if it's clean they create their own rules.... haha..and think they are the traffic police 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 (edited) Hi All, I have just been advised by a TP on CTE that there is no such penalty called "road hogging". Only "road hinderance". Any one can verify this? I am not booked for anything. thanks Think better ask the TP go retake his driving test, unless he say the below Mr Wong is wrong Extracted from MHA webbie Written Answer to Parliamentary Question on how many cases of road hogging were there in each of the last five years, 15 February 2008 Number of Road Hogging Cases from 2003 to 2007 Year 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 No. summons issued 848 773 440 456 658 Road hogging is proscribed under Rule 5 of the Road Traffic Rules, which states that (a) every vehicle which is moving at a slow rate of speed shall be driven as close to the left-hand side of the roadway as possible, and (b) every vehicle shall at all times be driven in such manner as not to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed. Breach of that Rule is an offence under Section 131 of the Road Traffic Act, which attracts a maximum penalty of a $1,000 fine or 3 months Edited February 25, 2010 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 (edited) the local mindset abt this term is regardless of how fast i drive, be it 200kmh or 50kmh, as long as you are the slower vehicle in front of me and refuse to give way, you are road hogging u go check their driving records...see if it's clean they create their own rules.... haha..and think they are the traffic police lai compare lor... past 5yrs enough? yours is the hogger mindset instead... Edited February 25, 2010 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 LOL u divide these figures by 365 for every year how many road hoggers caught per day on average?? haha on KPE alone, already 60 caught for speeding per day, combine together all stresspore roads, how many speedsters per day u think? 1000? so is road hogging very serious?? then why is the TP setting up more speed cams? lai compare lah i have 11 years of clean driving records without any demerit points 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 (edited) LOL u divide these figures by 365 for every year how many road hoggers caught per day on average?? haha on KPE alone, already 60 caught for speeding per day, combine together all stresspore roads, how many speedsters per day u think? 1000? so is road hogging very serious?? then why is the TP setting up more speed cams? lai compare lah i have 11 years of clean driving records without any demerit points could it be because there are more speedsters than hoggers? or the TP takes a lighter view of hoggers than speedsters but it does not mean it is wrong... ii have 9yrs out of 10yrs of holding a licence for speeding, comparable if you ask me... and you have 11 out of 11? if yes, kudos to you but it does not make you any safer than me... cuz we are both still alive and holding to our licence.... and pls tell me you are only taking a/c the time when you have a car... no car not included hor lol Edited February 25, 2010 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 Hi All, I have just been advised by a TP on CTE that there is no such penalty called "road hogging". Only "road hinderance". Any one can verify this? I am not booked for anything. thanks what happened? how come you are talking to TP? pulled over for what? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 the local mindset abt this term is regardless of how fast i drive, be it 200kmh or 50kmh, as long as you are the slower vehicle in front of me and refuse to give way, you are road hogging u go check their driving records...see if it's clean they create their own rules.... haha..and think they are the traffic police obviously you dont know the rules got pwned by the very next post Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 they create their own rules.... haha..and think they are the traffic police and rules was not created by speedsters but the MHA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 the local mindset abt this term is regardless of how fast i drive, be it 200kmh or 50kmh, as long as you are the slower vehicle in front of me and refuse to give way, you are road hogging u go check their driving records...see if it's clean they create their own rules.... haha..and think they are the traffic police I did ask a TP friend before. He says as long as you are at the speed limit you can never be booked for hogging. In fact if you see someone driving faster than the speed limit can call the TP to report. And also he say if we give way to speeders like this its more dangerous so he said to remain calm and note down the reg plate number to report to police. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 haha if i dunno the rules, then how come i can drive regularly on the roads for 11 years without any demerit points? for your info, i drive everyday pls lah, go read up traffic flow theory, as long as u do not severely hinder traffic such that the direction of propagation shockwave is reversed, you are not hogging the road if only one or two joker suddenly appear behind you tailgating you, you will not get penalized even if you don't move left if not sure how to play this game, go familiarize with the rules of the game lah, otherwise game over very soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 Easier to catch vehicles speeding over the limit. Cameras are set to snap pictures of cars "> speed limit" but cannot snap pictures of cars "< speed limit". LOL@ those who equate clean driving records with safety. You can have 100 years of accident-free driving, but it counts for peanuts if you're the sort who jam brakes and causes accidents behind while driving away, turns out from minor lanes without consideration for cars on the main road, hog the overtaking lane despite knowing the "keep left unless overtaking" guideline*, etc. Safe driving does not always equate to considerate and courteous driving because caring for your OWN safety only is pretty damn selfish. *Same as standing in the middle of an escalator, blocking people who want to walk down quicker. I seldom see this in other countries, but in Singapore..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 by the way, those who have kenna demerit points before, especially for speeding don't come here and flame "road hoggers" hor cos u dunno how to play this game Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwards Neutral Newbie February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 Easier to catch vehicles speeding over the limit. Cameras are set to snap pictures of cars "> speed limit" but cannot snap pictures of cars "< speed limit". LOL@ those who equate clean driving records with safety. You can have 100 years of accident-free driving, but it counts for peanuts if you're the sort who jam brakes and causes accidents behind while driving away, turns out from minor lanes without consideration for cars on the main road, hog the overtaking lane despite knowing the "keep left unless overtaking" guideline*, etc. Safe driving does not always equate to considerate and courteous driving because caring for your OWN safety only is pretty damn selfish. *Same as standing in the middle of an escalator, blocking people who want to walk down quicker. I seldom see this in other countries, but in Singapore..... ya, i forgot also to mention that i have never caused any accidents on the roads before throughout my 11 years of driving how? safe or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 Easier to catch vehicles speeding over the limit. Cameras are set to snap pictures of cars "> speed limit" but cannot snap pictures of cars "< speed limit". LOL@ those who equate clean driving records with safety. You can have 100 years of accident-free driving, but it counts for peanuts if you're the sort who jam brakes and causes accidents behind while driving away, turns out from minor lanes without consideration for cars on the main road, hog the overtaking lane despite knowing the "keep left unless overtaking" guideline*, etc. Safe driving does not always equate to considerate and courteous driving because caring for your OWN safety only is pretty damn selfish. *Same as standing in the middle of an escalator, blocking people who want to walk down quicker. I seldom see this in other countries, but in Singapore..... I think if want to walk up and down quickly can take the stairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 by the way, those who have kenna demerit points before, especially for speeding don't come here and flame "road hoggers" hor cos u dunno how to play this game Never kenna before, but I still think that you thinking of traffic courtesy as a game is childish. And for all your knowledge of traffic flow, you have no way of predicting your own impact on the speed of traffic flow when you camp on the overtaking lane at the speed limit. I've stated this before on another thread - you have no way of ascertaining the emergency/non-emergency situation of another vehicle behind you, so leave the enforcement of traffic rules to those who have the authority and means to do so. When driving, be considerate and give way. And btw, I've seen a more... shall we say... enlightened TP pull over a car before for roadhogging. Whichever TP stated that there is no anti-roadhogging law needs to go for re-training. See the statute posted by Galantspeedz. The fact of the matter is that it's far easier to catch someone for speeding than for roadhogging with cameras, so naturally there will seem to be a lot more speedsters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 (edited) ya, i forgot also to mention that i have never caused any accidents on the roads before throughout my 11 years of driving how? safe or not? With your attitude? I doubt it. In fact, with your 11 years of driving, you're more likely to have caused a tailback with your hogging antics that delayed an ambulance enough for its passenger to kick the bucket. Next, I don't see why your 11 years of driving experience is being trumpeted as some sort of achievement. My own father has had more than 4 times that record of accident and demerit-point free driving, but I still think he drives frickin' dangerously (he seldom uses the signal lights... but what're u gonna do to an old man eh...) Edited February 25, 2010 by Requiemdk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear February 25, 2010 Share February 25, 2010 I think if want to walk up and down quickly can take the stairs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...