Constructive Thread: Give Way on Lane one ?

honeyboy

Do you give way on Lane 1 if already at speed limit?  

89 members have voted

1. 1. Do you give way on Lane 1 if already at speed limit?

• Yes
    • No - I don't see the need
    • No - Because I don't feel like it
    • I don't care
    • Others

Don't worry, If Im at lane one cursing at 120, If I see a Chery ( just an example) coming from behind fast, I will give way.

Question is... Are you aware its coming fast behind you or not [:p]

Don't worry, If Im at lane one cursing at 120, If I see a Chery ( just an example) coming from behind fast, I will give way.

Wah, cursing at 120... f--cking fast man. [laugh]

Edited by Krado

Wah, cursing at 120... f--cking fast man. [laugh]

yeah.. cursing at 120.. all i do is Cruising at 120 nia.. he cruise and curse at the same time [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Simple mah, from rear mirror, if the vehicle size appears to be increasing, means its speed is faster than you, so must give way liao.....all drivers will know, except E + A who think they might be terrorists and want to stop them by hogging.

Oh.. you explore your car [:p]

Surprise cause you dont explore the Forum [laugh][laugh]

joking... :D

yeah.. cursing at 120.. all i do is Cruising at 120 nia.. he cruise and curse at the same time [laugh][laugh][laugh]

He must be saying OMGWTFBBQKNNBCCBLJ @ 120 words per second. :ph34r:

Mai ki seow leh...................... [grin]

ok lah just sian while waiting for my car to be fixed @ the workshop... [laugh]

Please lah,

The entire lane1 cars are almost travelling at say 100km/hr how the hell can there be a 'faster' moving car from behind?

Its not about NOT giving way. If that is the case, then everytime I see a car behind me, I must move aside to let the joker pass me?

So if I am in lane2, and another car follows behind me, I must also give way?

Its not selfish people like me. Its How-lian people who think their time is more precious than mine. That everyone must give way to them.

These same people will likely to "tsk tsk" people on the escalators or shopping malls for walking slowly too.

To all impatient drivers......since day one its HOW the Singapore road system has being since long long time ago. I call it Singaporeans way of driving.

Do not use Malaysia or European roads conditions as the gold standard for comparision. Its not fair as their roads are empty and long and cars are spaced out.

One question for all those with urgent matters and need to drive fast, lets say after someone give way to you on the crowded lane1 expressway, and that guy shot right back to you backside and follow you closely.

1)Will you give way in return to the same guy who gave way to you earlier WITHOUT any grudge?

2) Or will you have the selfish mentality that you are rushing for time and its the slower cars in front of you that is blocking the pace of your car and the other car behind you, and therefore you dont consider yourself as road hogging as you are already trying to go as fast as the lane1 cars are moving!

Self rightous overtakers care to answer me?

The front car CANNOT assume that just because he/she is travelling at the speed limit in Lane1, that excuses him/her from not giving way to a faster vehicle!

A road hogger is someone who thinks he/she don't need to give way to a faster moving vehicle behind him/her. Period

And it is happening in Singapore as the road are usually packed with selfish people like LeePee and honeyboy

Edited by Leepee

Please lah,

The entire lane1 cars are almost travelling at say 100km/hr how the hell can there be a 'faster' moving car from behind?

The line of cars in Lane1 is exhaustive. Any faster moving car (110km/hr?) will meet the end of whatever 'line' that was formed. Very clear and simple... cannot comprehend?

Its not about NOT giving way. If that is the case, then everytime I see a car behind me, I must move aside to let the joker pass me?

So if I am in lane2, and another car follows behind me, I must also give way?

Its not selfish people like me. Its How-lian people who think their time is more precious than mine. That everyone must give way to them.

This response of yours already reveals the true nature of your not giving way. You feel 'slighted' if you have to give way and assumes that their speeding is for a lesser reason than yours.

And your Lane2 scenerio: No, you don't have to give way, because the driver behind you is supposed to overtake using Lane1!! How daft!

These same people will likely to "tsk tsk" people on the escalators or shopping malls for walking slowly too.

To all impatient drivers......since day one its HOW the Singapore road system has being since long long time ago. I call it Singaporeans way of driving.

Do not use Malaysia or European roads conditions as the gold standard for comparision. Its not fair as their roads are empty and long and cars are spaced out.

One question for all those with urgent matters and need to drive fast, lets say after someone give way to you on the crowded lane1 expressway, and that guy shot right back to you backside and follow you closely.

1)Will you give way in return to the same guy who gave way to you earlier WITHOUT any grudge?

2) Or will you have the selfish mentality that you are rushing for time and its the slower cars in front of you that is blocking the pace of your car and the other car behind you, and therefore you dont consider yourself as road hogging as you are already trying to go as fast as the lane1 cars are moving!

Self rightous overtakers care to answer me?

you're just trying to validate you inconsiderate behaviour and now diverting the points of contention by rasing new factors.

And while I'm no "Self rightous overtaker", I answer you as a decently normal driver

If that car had to give way to me, it obvious that the now tailgating is because of some poor misguided and pathetic sense of a bruised ego. I'd just continue to make sure I drive faster than him, in a safe manner. If the clown were to be recklessly fast, I'd let him/her pass, then continue back on my own jouney. ... and he/she should continue to be faster than me right? so no issue either. Of course if he/she were to suddenly drop back to 80km/hr or 90km/hr ... I know it was Leepee in that car.

Observation: It appears that you are quick to label people in the negative sense (all those quoted in bold)... because you feel that you are 'inferior' to them when you have to give way? If yes, then I can only say that's a very childish mentality.

It will do you much good if you were to be able to argue your points objectively and only be emotionally subjective.... unless of course, if your points are groundless to begin with, then there wouldn't be much to reply with in the first place.

Now's my turn to ask you:

1. If an ambulance comes up behind you in Lane1 and you all are travelling at the speed limit. Will you give way?

Edited by Scoots

It will do you much good if you were to be able to argue your points objectively and only be emotionally subjective

I meant to say: It will do you much good if you were to be able to argue your points objectively and not be emotionally subjective

I will give way to ambulance as these are usually real emergencies vehicles.

But I will not give way to any other car in a jam packed lane1.

Last reply you wrote this:

I will give way to ambulance as these are usually real emergencies vehicles.

But I will not give way to any other car in a jam packed lane1.

Earlier your wrote this:

Please lah,

In both you already contradict yourself as first you assert that road conditions are such that it makes no difference in giving way or not, justifying your not giving way. But next, you accept that that you should give way for 'some vehicles' ... why?. Law of Leepee's Road Condition suddenly changed?

Of course, the example of an ambulance is clear that it's a vehicle designated for emergency purposes. So your giving way would also signifcantly be influenced by the likelihood that any vehicle reported for intentially roadhogging such emergency vehicles may get into trouble with the law.. ie, more out of fear... so that should suggest that an element of road hogging would have been involved had you not goven way right?

But herein lies the crux of it. Lane1 IS meant for overtaking. The ambulance overtook you using Lane1. Lane1 is not for you to cruise at speed limit. That's a difference. If you cannot see that, too bad. But I don't benefit from you being more matured in your thinking/actions. So please continue to be a that low self esteem person who can only feel some sense of self worth by holding other people up. I just hope you are just as 'principled' when the vehicle behind you is a 10 ton truck or when you are held up when rushing to see someone for the last time.

You lose nothing by being considerate, you gain nothing by being an a$$hole. Your life, your choice.

Edited by Scoots