Constructive Thread: Give Way on Lane one ?

honeyboy

Do you give way on Lane 1 if already at speed limit?  

89 members have voted

1. 1. Do you give way on Lane 1 if already at speed limit?

• Yes
    • No - I don't see the need
    • No - Because I don't feel like it
    • I don't care
    • Others

Please state your arguments in logical order.

Flame posts by speedsters not allowed.

Note: This is only for constructive posts stating your arguments whether to give way or not and why.

Simple rules of driving

1. Keep within the speed limit

2. Keep left unless overtaking

You can never overtake a car travelling at the speed limit or above the speed limit - if you observe the rule of driving number 1

Overtake from the left.

If overtaking/undertaking from the left is not allowed, then you can never overtake a car on the second lane because you would be moving from the second lane to the 1st lane effectively overtaking any car behind you on the first lane from the left.

IF the rule of not overtaking from the left applies then you can never move to the 1st lane because again you are "overtaking" any vehicle behind you on the 1st lane.

From these exchanges, it is only fair to say that the speed limit is the limit (pun intended) based on deductive reasoning.

A valid argument is that, if a car is travelling at 90km/h on a expressway with a stipulated speed limit of 90km/H it can never be road hogging (except for emergency vehicles like the ambulance etc because they have the authority to do so).

If overtaking from the left is indeed dangerous then a car moving above the speed limit forcing a car travelling AT the speed limit to "give way" that is to filter to the left is as good as forcing someone to make a "left overtaking" endangering himself. This is very selfish act and unintelligent assumption.

In another scenerio, when you are moving fast (above the limit) and in front of you there is a car travelling AT the speed limit.

If you were to Expect or demand that he gives way to you for whatever reasons, you are being extremely selfish.

you could have:

1. Filtered left and move on.

but you chose to:

2. Make him filter left so you can move on.

If your argument that filtering left and move on is UNSAFE then aren't you transferring the UNSAFE act to the driver in front abiding the law?

The conclusion therefore is never to give way if you are already at the speed limit.

Again to look at the situation

You are driving a car at 120kmph and in front of you there is a car traveling at 90kmph on CTE.

What are your options?

1. Filter left when safe and come back to lane 1 when possible, --- Usually this solves all problems.

2. Expects the car in front to give way to you. - You either tailgate, honk or high beam

Now let's look at option 2. Why do people do that?

a. possibly think you are powerful and expects people to give in to your wishes?

b. possibly think you are rushing for time thus you are king?

c. possibly think 1st lane is for overtaking only thus the car in front should be on lane 2?

d. possibly think left-overtaking is dangerous thus you don;t want to maneuver it?

let us look deeper for each one of the reasons and their validity:

a. possibly think you are powerful and expects people to give in to your wishes?

- almost a road bully characteristics and cannot be condoned. Only if you are driving a law enforcement vehicle or emergency vehicle (fire engine, ambulance) can you have such demands.

b. possibly think you are rushing for time thus you are king?

See comment a.

c. possibly think 1st lane is for overtaking only thus the car in front should be on lane 2?

If you are traveling at 120kmph, and believes lane 1 is for overtaking ONLY then you should filter to lane 1 then back to lane 2 , then lane 1 again , then lane 2 and repeat until you reach your destination. You also CANNOT drive along lane 1 because it is for Overtaking only. It will slow you down further.

d. possibly think left-overtaking is dangerous thus you don't want to maneuver it?

This can be valid because you are worried for your own safety. However to help you not do a left overtake the car in front had to be at risk by doing it FOR YOU. You have transferred the risk of left overtaking to the driver in front of you. Selfish.

The above comments are compile after discussion with my gym mates today when we were working on our Gluteus Maximus.

Edited by honeyboy

If you don't give way, you're selfish. The end. [rolleyes]

Eh quick leh, post a pic of your Turbo GTi R32 with ABT body kit leh.

Edited by Krado

The above comments are compile after discussion with my gym mates today when we were working on our Gluteus Maximus.

Oh, I'm sure your "gym" mates were really giving your Gluteus Maximus a good, hard work-out-in-out-in-out, honeybuns.

Please state your arguments in logical order.

Note: This is only for constructive posts stating your arguments whether to give way or not and why.

let the numbers do the talking...

of cos give way la.. [wave]

Wah liao eh, this sort of thread always get to see one every now and then and it comes with all forms and approaches by the "righteous" one. This includes me when I started posting in MCF [laugh].

No argument TS, whether you are 90km/h or 200km/h, just give way lor. Try sticking to lane 1 at NSH if you are not fast enough and you will know what we mean [laugh] .

Regards,

hilo honeyboy, its Fridae!!! yourfavourite.

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Haha, I think the other road hogging tread pretty says much about what our man fridae wants to talk about. Better to strut his stuff and and go 'on down' to town tonite, where it's rainin men! [inlove]

If overtaking from the left is indeed dangerous then a car moving above the speed limit forcing a car travelling AT the speed limit to "give way" that is to filter to the left is as good as forcing someone to make a "left overtaking" endangering himself. This is very selfish act and unintelligent assumption.

In another scenerio, when you are moving fast (above the limit) and in front of you there is a car travelling AT the speed limit.

If you were to Expect or demand that he gives way to you for whatever reasons, you are being extremely selfish.

you could have:

1. Filtered left and move on.

but you chose to:

2. Make him filter left so you can move on.

If your argument that filtering left and move on is UNSAFE then aren't you transferring the UNSAFE act to the driver in front abiding the law?

your argument doesn't stand because:

1) By simply moving left, the hogger will be driving at almost the same speed as those on 2nd lane. He just need to slow down slightly to match the speed of vehicles on the left lane.

2) If you force an vehicle to OVERTAKE from left, he/she will need to drive faster than you(duh), and ALOT faster than those cars on 2nd lane(Double DUH!!!). Thus making overtaking on the left alot more dangerous than the hogger giving way.

Furthermore, policing the road is the job of traffic police and speed camera. NOT YOU. Speedsters want to speed, let the traffic police handle them. It's NOT your job.

That is why, giving way to vehicles going faster on the lane furthest from the kerb is the rule practised by 99.99% of drivers all over the world

now, will you just give way? Can you be considerate?

note: this will be the last time i'm gonna talk sense to you...if you can't accept this motoring fact of 'giving way to faster vehicles no matter at what speed', then the next reply will be a full broadside and non-stop salvo of artillery barrage..

Edited by Shull

Honeyboy, NPNT. Show us ur GTI or R32 with ABT kit.

If u cannot drive above spd limit on lane 1, get off lane 1. U have no rights to police speedster.

Simple rules of driving

1. Keep within the speed limit

2. Keep left unless overtaking

Ambulances, Fire trucks, Police cars and the like would not be sticking to Rule 1. in times of emergency. But they would very well be relying on other road users to obey Rule 2. to carry out their tasks.

Therefore by simlpe logic. Rule 2 should take precedence over Rule 1. As such, the correct order of rule that all drivers should adopt is:

A. Keep left unless overtaking

B. Keep within the speed limit.

And FYI: there is no rule that allows for any driver to 'police' other drivers' driving speed by roadhogging

Edited by Scoots

Furthermore, policing the road is the job of traffic police and speed camera. NOT YOU. Speedsters want to speed, let the traffic police handle them. It's NOT your job.

And I'll even add: It's not your right either...So just give way

I would definitely give way but it will be at my terms after analysing for road conditions, traffic and safety issues.

This means that the slower lane must be clear enough for me to switch to. If there are no way I can switch lane to give way (bumper to bumper traffic on the slow lane), then too bad. I have to stay put at the fast lane at or slightly above the speed limit until I have a chance to do the switch to the slower lane.

For me to switch lane, it must be a relatively clear traffic day. What is the point of me giving way at the speed limit when it is jammed pack on the fast lane at peak hours? Everyone is travelling at or slower than the speed limit at bumper to bumper (example: CTE or KPE north to south on weekday morning 730-9am).

The time required for me to change lanes to give way to the faster car depends on my performing all the required safety checks and signal, as usual lane change will be smooth and the complete sequence might take up to 5s. So the fast car behind me must be prepared to wait for the fast lane to clear up.

My recommendation for overtakers, please signal your intention using the passing light (momentarily flash of the high beam) well ahead before your vehicle gets too close to the one ahead of you. Do not use your vehicle as a signal (tail-gating at very close gap with the car in front). Please mind the safety of your passenger and the people in the car ahead of you.

Edited by Civicblade