Nmnhnlm Clutched March 15, 2010 Author Share March 15, 2010 sour grape spotted... instead of bringing down the rich, spend more time to make yourself one of the rich Moi sour grape? Nay..... Just suggestions for the gahment since they are so interested in making more money yet in the same time trying to curb car population growth... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 I think you're getting it wrong. The Govt wants to limit car USAGE. If they impose sky-high prices on cars, there will be a massive population outflow. You can bet on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched March 15, 2010 Author Share March 15, 2010 I think you're getting it wrong. The Govt wants to limit car USAGE. If they impose sky-high prices on cars, there will be a massive population outflow. You can bet on it. If thats the case, then I think govt is making a big mistake by reducing the no. of COEs. Its not going to limit car usage at all. Those who already own cars and willing to spend the extra on higher COE can use the car 24/7. How about more ERPs and higher petrol prices instead? There is also the pay as you drive thing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthkk Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Don't think this will work. The rich will have $$$ to pay no matter what you put in place. The one who suffer will still be the middle class folks, like a few of the people I know, need the car as they are in sales job, can maintain as got vehicle allowance from company, but at the same time the wife will have to get another car to run errant, pick up children etc etc. So these group of people how? die la? The way to curb COE is really to do the bidding yourself, and not let the dealer bid on your behalf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Introz Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 at least middle and average people wont suffer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 If thats the case, then I think govt is making a big mistake by reducing the no. of COEs. Its not going to limit car usage at all. Those who already own cars and willing to spend the extra on higher COE can use the car 24/7. How about more ERPs and higher petrol prices instead? There is also the pay as you drive thing... Reducing COEs is a move to push out the 'budget' buyers, those who are considering a cheap China car. An expensive COE will not make a cheap car worthwhile. Thus freeing up space for those who actually need and can pay for their cars. More ERPs? Higher petrol prices? Pay as you drive? They're ahead of you on all that. Just wait and see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Good point. They will not implement any policy to their disadvantage. This is so true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 (edited) Another completely idiotic thread. The TS talks about imposing a surcharge for those who own more than one car. But in his post, he mentions "rich mofos" who buy own a car themselves, then buy one for their wife and another for their child. If these cars are all under said "rich mofo"'s own name, then sure, this policy might actually work. But isn't it trivially easy for "rich mofos" to buy cars in the respective names of their spouses and children? Surely "rich mofos" would've thought of that, right?! Then there's the case of a single "rich mofo" owning multiple cars in his own name. No-one else uses them. In which case, sure you can penalise the "rich mofo" until he becomes less of a "rich mofo" but to what end? If your intent is to reduce crowding on the roads, your targeting is way-off, right? "Rich mofos" generally can't drive more than one car at a time by themselves, not even after getting the "rich mofo" plastic surgery special to get extra limbs appended to their trunks. And all this ignores the fundamental fly in the ointment. Fiscal punitive measures are far more likely to affect "poor non-mofos" than "rich mofos". Do you hear the really "rich mofos" bitching about ERP, COE or all the other measures the gahmen has already put in place? Another thread started completely bereft of thought. He is just jealous. When he owns 2 cars, you will hear him say something else like Poor Mofos should be pay a surcharge to own only 1 car bcos if they cannot afford more than 2 cars, they are not high end enough to be on the road. aside to TS ... i have 2 cars, both COE cars. A BMW 520 and a Mercedes E200. i am considering a MX 5 or MRS bcos my Bt Timah semi d looks too empty with only 2 cars. Everyone else here have at least 3 cars. Eat your heart out. nln Edited March 15, 2010 by Comnao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Another completely idiotic thread. The TS talks about imposing a surcharge for those who own more than one car. But in his post, he mentions "rich mofos" who buy own a car themselves, then buy one for their wife and another for their child. If these cars are all under said "rich mofo"'s own name, then sure, this policy might actually work. But isn't it trivially easy for "rich mofos" to buy cars in the respective names of their spouses and children? Surely "rich mofos" would've thought of that, right?! Then there's the case of a single "rich mofo" owning multiple cars in his own name. No-one else uses them. In which case, sure you can penalise the "rich mofo" until he becomes less of a "rich mofo" but to what end? If your intent is to reduce crowding on the roads, your targeting is way-off, right? "Rich mofos" generally can't drive more than one car at a time by themselves, not even after getting the "rich mofo" plastic surgery special to get extra limbs appended to their trunks. And all this ignores the fundamental fly in the ointment. Fiscal punitive measures are far more likely to affect "poor non-mofos" than "rich mofos". Do you hear the really "rich mofos" bitching about ERP, COE or all the other measures the gahmen has already put in place? Another thread started completely bereft of thought. should ban those fuggers who like to start multiple threads on the same bloody topic. now he became more sickening than the COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 started by a 'poor mofo' lor....and again anti-elitist intentions I am poor...so dun flame me u poor? mai kong lan sai uay hor no one will flame u. dun worry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 another brilliant idea.. can someone also rack their brain and see how we can prevent kiddos from acting like adults in car forum as well? while we are there talking about car population, the root of the problem is people want to get from point A to B in comfort and fast but with our very well integrated public transport system, it still doesn't solve the problem.. MRT is crowded, Bus timing is never accurate.. still got the long time never arrive and once it doesn, 3-4buses of the same service turn up.. hello, not they are not playing mahjong before and after shift.. and with cars? when people want to buy, they will want to buy.. money can solve the problem? then it's not a problem.. COE higher? loan period shorter or higher downpayment? how much will it bring down the population? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 another brilliant idea.. can someone also rack their brain and see how we can prevent kiddos from acting like adults in car forum as well? while we are there talking about car population, the root of the problem is people want to get from point A to B in comfort and fast but with our very well integrated public transport system, it still doesn't solve the problem.. MRT is crowded, Bus timing is never accurate.. still got the long time never arrive and once it doesn, 3-4buses of the same service turn up.. hello, not they are not playing mahjong before and after shift.. and with cars? when people want to buy, they will want to buy.. money can solve the problem? then it's not a problem.. COE higher? loan period shorter or higher downpayment? how much will it bring down the population? i suspect the TS from ch** family. another numbnut. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 i suspect the TS from ch** family. another numbnut. eh. last i read, he still trying to cure his bipolar google or search his nick in HWZ and you can understand him well.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 eh. last i read, he still trying to cure his bipolar google or search his nick in HWZ and you can understand him well.. mai... kam siah brudder. i dun wana know more abt him. i wana see less of him in fact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 (edited) Actually, congestion is caused by usage, not ownership. The reasons why all the measures failed in SG is because garment made it very high cost to own the car. So, once you buy, must maximise usage (at least for 80% of the population). Simplier way is to abolish all import taxes, duties, ARF, ERP. But, retain petrol tax. Enhance further by imposing fuel tax on diesel as well and increase the petrol tax two fold at least. Have gahment petrol kiosks set up at the immigration - all vehicles must fill up to the brim before they can proceed to Boleh Land (to pump petrol and shopping). This also encourage people to buy fuel economical cars rather than gas guzzlers. How many really needs SUVs (99.999999% on tarmac) and MPVs (how many kids family has nowadays?). Edited March 15, 2010 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 mai... kam siah brudder. i dun wana know more abt him. i wana see less of him in fact. which is why i wonder there's no one here that start a thread on how to get rid of people that tend to read a lot but give all sort of unpractical reply.. sigh.. i think i want to go and ask my mummy for help on this.. excuse me.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pigkachu Neutral Newbie March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 no $ no drive. sit bus taxi and mrt. not happy kill urself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 which is why i wonder there's no one here that start a thread on how to get rid of people that tend to read a lot but give all sort of unpractical reply.. sigh.. i think i want to go and ask my mummy for help on this.. excuse me.. me too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...