Xtrocious 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 i would think it very dangerous to invest in a company with limited liquidity I don't know about you but everyone else got to live with making the best of what limited resources we have... Same goes for companies A successful business is not the one that sits on obscene piles of cash but the one who can efficiently manage its capital i.e. cash cycle... As for TCM, I suspect shareholders may give the management a earful at its AGM... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Anyway does Andrew intend to get a ride or not. Wats the budget? 2nd hand can or not? Let us at least guide u thru purchasing a car for your needs rather than chasing a lost cause. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLing 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 to flame your own agenda In a way I cannot entirely blame some people for mistaking what my "hidden agenda" is because you don't know my entire story. I cannot share everything on an open forum & I suspect it's the same for the other customers. The reason I post rebuttals against some of the comments is because they try to make some of us appear to be freeloaders trying to cheat BM of a top-up or, worse still, trying to get a free car. In rebutting these people, I do not hope to win them over to my side because some of them are obviously mischievous. But, rather, to tell our story as it is. I think, also some people have been too "self-righteous" & too quick to assume that some of us have ulterior motives. Whether some of the people are BM people trying to flame us is something I don't know for sure. It really doesn't matter. I just want people to know our real story. It's not a bunch of non-G'teed customers trying to cheat BM. Granted, there may be one or two crackpots who will take advantage of this situation to flame BM. Look at the content of their posts & it will be clearer who is genuine & who is not I think there is still one more bidding to go before all the contracts of the CNY promotion are void. Let's see what the next bidding is going to be like& let's not spoil the chances of some of these people. Bought Altis 4 years ago under non guranteed package and got COE within 1st bid of the months. ah so! So it has not always been their practice to bid 3 months later outside workshop as the workshop point out the problems found during servicing with them and asked me to go back to BM to rectify. can you recommend a good workshop for servicing Toyotas? Despite all this... people will still blindly buy from them... At the end of the day... people will no matter what but from them.... very sad indeed... I think people are more aware now. I hope other people benefit from our experience & I hope my friends & family will be protected against these things by the relevant authorities. They should set up some regulation / rules to protect the customer I don't think it's healthy to have an environment where the car buyer & car dealer need to out-smart each other to get a fair deal. I know these things cannot be prevented totally but it should not be some kind wild unregulated market where a buyer has to going in swinging his his light-sabre Surely, you all don't want Singapore to be some kind of 3rd world country filled with a bunch of cut-throat businessmen. Many of us do business with people in countries where the business environment is like that & we can see the consequences. Don't forget, you will buy a car again & so will your children & family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLing 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 My apologies, I forgot to mention: Thanks to Lufu for starting the thread "Felt so cheated by BM" Thanks to Beemer77 for starting the thread "BM not selling me their Toyota" If they hadn't posted & alerted everyone to what was happening at BM, I think I would not have been able to take "evasive action" & save myself. You may think they are full of crap. There is a lot of posted nonsense but the threads have done a service to some people. Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lufu 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 (edited) I was reading the thread and interestingly, nobody advised TS to get the Guaranteed COE package at that time. Someone should have said "quick go and top up $1000 for the Guaranteed COE package before its too late". Now everybody is saying, "you should have got the Guaranteed COE package" http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;hl=*&st=0 Edited April 13, 2010 by Lufu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewlai Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Author Share April 13, 2010 Fully agree with Sling, It was Lufu who helped us, we are just trying to do the same for others. We gain nothing for ourselves by whining on a forum. Ever heard the term: Paying it forward? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pay_it_forward That's the point of the forum what.....to get information and help others.... If you find our postings unhelpful..don't have to get angry what....just go elsewhere lah....*sigh* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 SE furnished advice. You made the decision - albeit factoring in the said advice. You signed on the dotted line. Period. eg. In Feb 2010, you went to view a GCB at Nassim. Your estate agent informed you that the owner is looking at $30M, but he is in opinion that you should be able to close it at $29.5M - judging from recent transacted prices in the region, and of same size bunglows, as well as based on historical data. Meanwhile, the Govt. had announced some land restriction use in district 10 - and it will probably cause present value of properties there to appreciate. With all that in mind, you submitted a $295K cheque (1% of your offered price) - as a form of sincere offer. The seller informed that they will get back to you in 14 days. Subsequently, come the 15th day, they return you the cheque, and formally informed you that they have found a buyer - at their asking price. The value of the property is now S$35M. You reckon you have a case to raise with your estate agent? At the initial asking price of S$30M - you could have bought it if you had met that price - GUARANTEED. Your offer of S$29.5M, in reality, then stands a high chance of securing the deal. However, it remains NON-GUARANTEED. How is one to expect that a flushed-with-cash buyer to come along, and simply nod his head at the asking price? Your estate agent does not earn any commission from this deal - as it didn't materialise. Most definitely ain't something he wishes for. You see the similarities? Hi Andrew, I seem to have missed reading your reply. Appreciate if I can trouble you to re-produce your reply once again. Merci. Rgds, bran Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 why this thread still alive?.... dont u guys find it "tiring" to keep posting and arguing on the same thing for days???...,... the bottom line, there's no right or wrong, just a bad day due to bad decision from BM AND buyer.... the planet earth still revolving u know..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewlai Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Author Share April 13, 2010 Would have liked to reply....but afraid will kenna flamed......besides some people would prefer I kept quiet....so am keeping a low profile for now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Larkspur Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Andrew, Hope you would reply me though . I'm also not topping up the $11k. May I know, after your contract is void after the 6 bidding exercise, how did you get back your deposit? What is the procedure, I supposed you need to go down to sign some forms. Do you need to bring along any documents? I told my SE yesterday that I will not top up the $11k. He said no problem. Today he sms me to tell me that he "has highlighted to his management about the cancellation...but the management told him that mine is the 5th bid as I have changed color and my booking date changed to 25 Jan", so I will have another round of bidding, of which if unsuccessful den will automatically cancelled refund will be processed. Now....I had actually gone down to book a Vios on 4th Jan, but had changed my mind and changed my order to an Altis. I went down to re-signed the form on 17 Jan. The changed of color he mentioned was that I had ordered a red Vios, but no red for Altis, so I chose Biege. So, I told him I don't think the paperwork will take that long for those changes. So, he said, okay if I want BM to process the refund now, I will need to write formally write in to cancel the order, return all documents related to the sale, including the deposit receipt. However, if I go through with the 6th bid, I don't have to return the documents. Well, I don't have the deposit receipt with me anymore, so I will have to go through the next bid. I don't want them to come up with another excuse next week, after the 6th bid, as by now, I know my SE's words cannot be trusted at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewlai Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Author Share April 13, 2010 Hi there Lakspur, I will only know after next week.....I have one more bid to endure..... Will let you know ok? Andrew Lai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beemer77 Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Wait for the next bid, let them submit a 20k bid and then case close. The contract will ends once 6 bids are up. If you're lucky, they bid 40k for your COE and you get your car. But I can gaurantee gaurantee it never ever happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxic118 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 (edited) hi SLing, i go to Riverview at AMK. My current FD1 also servicing there.......but their business is si beh good so must go early in the morning as 1st come 1st serve rule. Edited April 13, 2010 by Toxic118 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Larkspur Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Yes, I thought they will prob. bid $20k for me too. That's the price they bidded for me in the last round. They have already put in 2 bids for me in the last 2 rounds. Actually, they may not even put in any bids for me this time round, as they had already bidded for me twice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Larkspur Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Thanks, Andrew. I thought your 6th bid is over. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Andrew, Hope you would reply me though . I'm also not topping up the $11k. May I know, after your contract is void after the 6 bidding exercise, how did you get back your deposit? What is the procedure, I supposed you need to go down to sign some forms. Do you need to bring along any documents? I told my SE yesterday that I will not top up the $11k. He said no problem. Today he sms me to tell me that he "has highlighted to his management about the cancellation...but the management told him that mine is the 5th bid as I have changed color and my booking date changed to 25 Jan", so I will have another round of bidding, of which if unsuccessful den will automatically cancelled refund will be processed. Now....I had actually gone down to book a Vios on 4th Jan, but had changed my mind and changed my order to an Altis. I went down to re-signed the form on 17 Jan. The changed of color he mentioned was that I had ordered a red Vios, but no red for Altis, so I chose Biege. So, I told him I don't think the paperwork will take that long for those changes. So, he said, okay if I want BM to process the refund now, I will need to write formally write in to cancel the order, return all documents related to the sale, including the deposit receipt. However, if I go through with the 6th bid, I don't have to return the documents. Well, I don't have the deposit receipt with me anymore, so I will have to go through the next bid. I don't want them to come up with another excuse next week, after the 6th bid, as by now, I know my SE's words cannot be trusted at all. Bro, Please read the sales agreement carefully, is there any term & condition that warrent a penaties if customers cancel the deal b4 the 6 bids? it there is better let them run the natural cause. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Larkspur Neutral Newbie April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Sales agreement? My sales agreement date is 17th Jan, so I thought the last round of COE bidding would have been my 6th if you count from 17th Jan. Initially I thought it was 4th Jan, becos he honor the Jan 4 Altis price and did not alter the date on the order. Only today, I was told it is 25th Jan, they don't count from the date I go down to inital the changes on the order form, their system only capture the change on 25th Jan, so the date is taken as 25th Jan. Actually, after the 24th Mar COE bidding, I asked him about the status, he told me mine is unsuccessful but its only the 5th bid, their priority then was to settle those whose already on their 6th bid. Ask me to wait for the next bid. So, Apr. 7th, after the COE exercise, I called him again, and he told me to top up $11k. But I'll still wait for the next bid for the auto cancellation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Hey Andrew blah blah, 1) Let say U own XYZ company selling cars... Today a customer walked in your shop and ask, hey dude, I want this car. U close the deal at 50k, making a profit of 5k in the process.. The customer did not officially shake on the deal, but a verbal promise to buy the car at that price, but contract to be prepared the next day. Next day come, kns, COE increase 10k, liao, instead of making 5k, u lose 5k... The customer comes in 2 days later, asking u to honor the pricing... What will you do.... Answer yourself truely, treat it as your own company. 2) Let say U own XYZ company selling cars... Today a customer walked in your shop and ask, hey dude, I want this car. U close the deal at 60k, making a profit of 5k in the process.. Contract signed sealed, guaranteed COE 1st round. Next day, COE bidding time come, hor seh, COE fall 10k, U make extra 15k... Customer come in next day kao bei kao bu, say please uncle, can I have a 10k discount, coz COE fall leh. Will U give in? Answer yourself truely, treat it as your own company. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...