Ken4555 1st Gear April 21, 2010 Share April 21, 2010 Actually I do think most (not all) additives in the market are BS. I guess they have little or no effect... With added risk of impurities which cause extra carbon built up. For those that do work... I also believe it works better on older cars... My previous car, a COE car... Showed better FC n a smoother drive. Felt more power... After I used my green oil... Many of you might laugh... Well I myself can't be sure I didn't do a dyno or anything... Maybe it was in the mind... But my FC did improve. But then again other factors like load driving style tyre pressure all... Anyways I felt it was good. So I got it... Using my citibank bonus cash at Autobacs. And every 5 empty bottles got me 1 free bottle. Anyways when I got my present car I still had a lot of my green oil so I used it... Until not too long ago I ran out of it and decided to stop using the additive... All ok so far till lately car like less powerful... Maybe its in the mind I guess... Then I backside itchy bought the Nano fuel additive from korea packed like a packet of chili sauce. $4... Package says will treat 80liters... So I tried it... Then suddenly the next day the car like smoother.. Like more powerful I step less throttle to reach cruising speed...SERIOUSLY I think its BS probably it in my mind only... Then I remembered I also poured in a bottle of prostaff water remover... Could tis be the reason for the smoothness? What are your thoughts? Thanks... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 21, 2010 Share April 21, 2010 Don't invest your hard earn cash on these stuff.... It is all in your mind... Regular servicing and preventive maintenance is the key to longevity of your car. Need more performance? Get a bigger car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 21, 2010 Author Share April 21, 2010 haha... get bigger car easier said then done.... i dont know what came over me to part with $4 for a chili sauce like packet to put in my fuel... and also the water remover thingy.... like throwing $ away now that i think of it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear April 21, 2010 Share April 21, 2010 the only way to know is get someone who also uses ur car to play around with the additives without letting you know. If u are not aware yet feel a marked difference in performance, then your butt dyno is accurate. Else its bullsh1t stuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 21, 2010 Author Share April 21, 2010 haha... maybe should get a dyno test... maybe the local car mags should get dyno test done on additives... and be more like the top gear ppl... more daring to speak the truth instead of every other product published also good... siao... but if like this then the local mag will lose lotsa of advertisers... haha... i remember when i first used OWS in 2002 i think... there was an offer free Dyno test... wah really got improvement sia... but new oil mah and just put the engine protector all... it was done at Auto Werkz or Werkez used to be at Bendermeer there before they moved to near mechperson... and now wonder what happened to them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 22, 2010 Share April 22, 2010 haha... get bigger car easier said then done.... i dont know what came over me to part with $4 for a chili sauce like packet to put in my fuel... and also the water remover thingy.... like throwing $ away now that i think of it... Don't read too much into those car magazines. When itchy, just continue to drive your car and not do anything to it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 22, 2010 Share April 22, 2010 Your green oil may be acting like a upper cyl lub, like 2T oil. Check out 2T oil thread. Even Shell fuelsaver purportedly mentioned lubricity to improve fc. You can probably add any lightweight combustible oil into the fuel tank and observe similar effect. But one thing to note is that if your car has a cat, the additives better be friendly to it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 22, 2010 Author Share April 22, 2010 Don't read too much into those car magazines. When itchy, just continue to drive your car and not do anything to it. itchy must scratch... your lancer also very not original ah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 22, 2010 Author Share April 22, 2010 Your green oil may be acting like a upper cyl lub, like 2T oil. Check out 2T oil thread. Even Shell fuelsaver purportedly mentioned lubricity to improve fc. You can probably add any lightweight combustible oil into the fuel tank and observe similar effect. But one thing to note is that if your car has a cat, the additives better be friendly to it. yah yah that s whats i thought... cause my green oil also cannot be ignitied by my lighter.. just like 2-T... maybe i was just paying extra $ for regular 2-T... yes i follow Tigershark's thread.. i just worry about extra carbon produced if put 2-t... but then any additive also will have extra carbon... i'm now shopping for 2-t... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 22, 2010 Share April 22, 2010 I would get the TC-W3 certified 2T. These are for marine 2-stroke engine and burns much cleaner. The only one I know so far is Pennzoil Marine, but must buy from MY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 22, 2010 Author Share April 22, 2010 I would get the TC-W3 certified 2T. These are for marine 2-stroke engine and burns much cleaner. The only one I know so far is Pennzoil Marine, but must buy from MY. i need to go wiki TC-W3... is it a good idea to put castol based 2-T?.... or i remember rock-oil had this 2-T with a special additive... btw are the so called smoke-less fully syn 2-t in sg good? like those you get at mobil... shell... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 22, 2010 Share April 22, 2010 i need to go wiki TC-W3... is it a good idea to put castol based 2-T?.... or i remember rock-oil had this 2-T with a special additive... btw are the so called smoke-less fully syn 2-t in sg good? like those you get at mobil... shell... Not sure. I bought the fully syn Putoline and used it. It seemed ok. Then later, I got the Pennzoil Marine. After that, I haven't use much. I alternate usage with Redline SI-1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 22, 2010 Share April 22, 2010 itchy must scratch... your lancer also very not original ah... Nothing much....For my own enjoyment. Not as hiong as yours or others.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiangauto Clutched April 22, 2010 Share April 22, 2010 There are different types of fuel additives available out there as Oil Additives,Fuel Additives For Petrol,Radiator Additives and engine anti-friction additives.for instance:liqui moly and zx1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 22, 2010 Author Share April 22, 2010 Nothing much....For my own enjoyment. Not as hiong as yours or others.... hey my car is not 'hiong' hor... its an ah Pek car (sunny)... whereas yours is a boy racer car (lancer)... hey no feed back on your c-----e and wats the weight of the oil u used ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 23, 2010 Share April 23, 2010 hey my car is not 'hiong' hor... its an ah Pek car (sunny)... whereas yours is a boy racer car (lancer)... hey no feed back on your c-----e and wats the weight of the oil u used ah? I am using 5w40. Got it from Carrefour. I think Giant also selling. So far so good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 why need additives when a good engine oil already has it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 24, 2010 Author Share April 24, 2010 why need additives when a good engine oil already has it? fuel additive... not oil additive.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...