Why use Iridium?

Gohsj89

if u service yr car regularly, normal spark plugs will do.

my friend's car never service for 3 years, when he went, his normal spark plug is still in working condition.

imo, unless u have done enhancement to yr engine, eg ecu remap, bigger air port, spark optimized, etc, than maybe it will compliment the upgrades, than again, how many ppl in this world is sensitive enough to feel a 1-5bhp increase in their engine.

Couldnt agree more. Unless driving those high performance car if not standard plugs will do. What for waste $$ unless u got lots to burn.

heard from my friend that these plugs are available on ebay sites. was there previously, for a set of 4, there seems too many variation in the part number be it denso or ngk. The price could differ quite alot from one part number to the other.

Automotive plug plugs are of three sizes - 14mm ( most common ) 12mm and 10mm. Spark plug tools can be of very simple straight forward thin wall deep socket with 3/8 or 1/2 " sq drive but may not serve well in hard to reach spark plug locations.For such cases you need socket with flexible joint and maybe long extension with T bar.

Edited by Yeobh

WTF! $35 per plug!! OMG!! Thats chop carrot head.....

Guranteed chop carrot.

Most iridium plugs are around 20 per plug only or maybe slightly lesser.

Must see what type of plug he brought.. yes some r x. nO STANDARD size for plugs to answer Vinceh

really admire u all who hv such sensetive butts...I hv tried iridium, copper and platinium sparkplug.. with my spark plug cable upgraded to those thick ah beng type in my previous ride (98 cateye elantra). I can only feel some minor improvement over high speed driving at NSHW, using iridium spark plug, the cars is more willing to pick up faster after 140km/hr... but feels nothing during normal driving in SG...

Some high performance spark plugs or coils work best by setting the gap 10 - 20% more than the recomended.

agree, muz ve super duper butt to feel tat slight diff. Its more for prolong svc.

Btw, use IK16 for Vios, IK20 is too cold

NAy. what matter is how you feel when you drive your car. actual spec dont count [:p]

really admire u all who hv such sensetive butts...I hv tried iridium, copper and platinium sparkplug.. with my spark plug cable upgraded to those thick ah beng type in my previous ride (98 cateye elantra). I can only feel some minor improvement over high speed driving at NSHW, using iridium spark plug, the cars is more willing to pick up faster after 140km/hr... but feels nothing during normal driving in SG...

Honestly for me, I don't feel anything at all. Maybe my butt too big and too thick. [laugh]

just a query? are all spark plugs a standard size?

Some yes. Some no.

Get the one specified for your make and model.

Honestly for me, I don't feel anything at all. Maybe my butt too big and too thick. [laugh]

When i just change to Iridium, i do felt the ride and acceleration is smoother.

before that can feel a bit sluggish at time. OR was our ride suppose to be like this?

'cos you just changed to new plugs. So, suspect if you have changed to NEW COPPER plugs, same feel too. Just like oil change.

Edited by Kangadrool

'cos you just changed to new plugs. So, suspect if you have changed to NEW COPPER plugs, same feel too. Just like oil change.

Maybe you are right [laugh]

There is differences, just that we are used to the power liao.

Like when i first fixed K&N filter, wow shiok like throttle response better, than after a while, no difference leh. then change to Denso iridium, wow also shiok then after a while also no difference, butt too used to it liao then one day drive my bro-in-law car same Civic but totally stock, wow liao eh how come so sluggish, he tell me no leh as he is used to it liao. [laugh]

I'm wondering...if these iridium plugs are better why were they not used by the factory.

all engines go thru hours of test using different parts to see

which gives the engine full opt.

always believe stocks are the best--why spent more than needed.

the gain in performance not really worth the extra.

futhermore, when you gain in power-you got to also improve the braking too!!!!

& so on & so forth....no end lah!

just make sure you change the stock parts at the schedule time to prevent failure.

It's like using computer CPU, when the days of Z80 we thought that is the best then comes pentuim ,so what is next?