Why use Iridium?

Gohsj89

For a few dollars more over time, iridium has many advantages over copper.

It requires lower high tension to spark.

It has a sharp point where spark jumps off from there consistently.

Copper has a flat surface, and spark jumps off at the sharp square edge, so it tends to move around.

Most people would find idling sounds different and smoother with iridium plug.

I understand that some US cars come out of factory with platinum instead of copper. So times are changing.

I don't see the trouble of changing copper plugs every now and then, even if it cheaper.

Most people can afford a $60/$70 set of iridiums that can last for years.

I'm wondering...if these iridium plugs are better why were they not used by the factory.

all engines go thru hours of test using different parts to see

which gives the engine full opt.

always believe stocks are the best--why spent more than needed.

the gain in performance not really worth the extra.

futhermore, when you gain in power-you got to also improve the braking too!!!!

& so on & so forth....no end lah!

just make sure you change the stock parts at the schedule time to prevent failure.

Cut cost mah. remember when you go back for servicing, they will charge you Man power cost for replacement of Sparks plug.

plus Stock engine are usually tuned to the median to suit mass market. and their respective price market.

Edited by Joseph22

It's like using computer CPU, when the days of Z80 we thought that is the best then comes pentuim ,so what is next?

duo core.. and now Qaudcore. [laugh]

There is differences, just that we are used to the power liao.

Like when i first fixed K&N filter, wow shiok like throttle response better, than after a while, no difference leh. then change to Denso iridium, wow also shiok then after a while also no difference, butt too used to it liao then one day drive my bro-in-law car same Civic but totally stock, wow liao eh how come so sluggish, he tell me no leh as he is used to it liao. [laugh]

When you feel no difference after a while, it means you must look forward to upgrade/improve the performance..... [lipsrsealed][laugh]

there are so many cars out there where iridium is OEM equipment...

am i wrong?...

Yup. Agreed. Some stockists do offer the choice of copper or iridum. The difference is, of course, the cost.

For a few dollars more over time, iridium has many advantages over copper.

It requires lower high tension to spark.

It has a sharp point where spark jumps off from there consistently.

Copper has a flat surface, and spark jumps off at the sharp square edge, so it tends to move around.

Most people would find idling sounds different and smoother with iridium plug.

I understand that some US cars come out of factory with platinum instead of copper. So times are changing.

I don't see the trouble of changing copper plugs every now and then, even if it cheaper.

Most people can afford a $60/$70 set of iridiums that can last for years.

Honestly, I don't feel any difference. Even the sound sounds similar. Maybe I deaf liao. [laugh]

Maybe you need to do a A-B-A test. I find the idling much smoother with iridium than copper plugs. [:)]

But the main advantage with iridium is that you can put it in there and forget about it for years, depending on how much you drive.

Maybe you need to do a A-B-A test. I find the idling much smoother with iridium than copper plugs. [:)]

But the main advantage with iridium is that you can put it in there and forget about it for years, depending on how much you drive.

Kindly enlighten me what "A-B-A test" means. [:p]

That means use copper (A test) plug first. Take note of how the engine sounds or drives.

Repeat with iridium (B test).

Then repeat back with copper (A test).

If you feel no difference after the last copper (A test), then iridium doesn't work for you. :D