Alfa 147 - A Decade...

DelleIII

Peter also need to eat leh

Anyway if *touchwood* anything happen once u leave AS

Who warranty?

Well on my previous car I always buy parts n ask my reliable workshop to fix for me, not that I dun 1 2 support workshops fully but their markup price of double is a killer.

No doubt I will ask Peter if he willing to accept this arrangement, warranty wise I'm sure AS also buy parts from Alfa disty so I dun c y there shldl be a problem with it.

Well on my previous car I always buy parts n ask my reliable workshop to fix for me, not that I dun 1 2 support workshops fully but their markup price of double is a killer.

No doubt I will ask Peter if he willing to accept this arrangement, warranty wise I'm sure AS also buy parts from Alfa disty so I dun c y there shldl be a problem with it.

Understand where u are coming from

Perhaps I would do it myself if I am more knowledgeable. Lol

I am just thinking along the line of say house Reno

I buy my own stuff ask contractor install

Anything wrong contractor will say is goods defective

Shop side will say is my contractor spoil

End up who's rt who's wrong wo?

Understand where u are coming from

Perhaps I would do it myself if I am more knowledgeable. Lol

I am just thinking along the line of say house Reno

I buy my own stuff ask contractor install

Anything wrong contractor will say is goods defective

Shop side will say is my contractor spoil

End up who's rt who's wrong wo?

Tat will depend what kind of goods.

If its lighting, furnitures and even floorings mostly covered by manufacturer warranty.

If installed wrongly or damaged while installing, it's clearly the renovators problem.

Anyway if *touchwood* anything happen once u leave AS

Who warranty?

I understand peter have to survive and I used to buy parts & source everything from them until they GST registered.

Supposed to lower their supply cost yet they debit customer ++.

Don't get me wrong but in a simple way.

Last time cost $53.50 inclusive of GST (3.50).

Selling $100 all in, which they absorbed GST.

Profit $100-$53.50 = $46.50 GP.

Current, Selling at $100 ($7), less cost -$50 (-$3.50) =

GP $50 <surplus of GST collected $3.50 to be return to IRAS>.

Then it lead me to source for cheaper parts else where.

I think I understand where Vhtfhwlego is coming from in the area of warranty.

I've ever bought some OEM parts before, and while its Alfa related, there are some differences in terms of quality. if it fails, or it breaks at time of installation, or if squeaks too much even with tons of grease.... Cost of dismantling, and returning to Tanly for example, will be at our cost. but hey, when you're working on a budget, you got to do what you got to do.

And if the workshop will have to charge extra for that, you can either say yes or no.

V organized

Cannot see myself doing it despite my background. Lol

Originally plan when I got this Alfa, I am supposed to drive for 19months and scrap her.

Purchased value @ $35k and after 19months @ 23k (paper value).

Then somehow, I became a devoted dad.

I need to reduce expenses on travel & entertainment.

No matter how I work out, downgrading to a Japanese BB car would cost almost the same if I kept the Alfa over a period of balance 2 years (scrap at $16.5 = $23k less $16.5 = $3.25k per year).

Alfa yearly maintenance @ $5k plus petrol of $6k = $14.25k per year.

Compared with a jap BB at $8k depreciation, $2k maintenance, $4k petrol = $14k per year.

So might as well keep the Alfa.

And honestly, it's hard to own other brand cars already.

Nothing it's more "engaging" as Alfa.

Originally plan when I got this Alfa, I am supposed to drive for 19months and scrap her.

Purchased value @ $35k and after 19months @ 23k (paper value).

Then somehow, I became a devoted dad.

I need to reduce expenses on travel & entertainment.

No matter how I work out, downgrading to a Japanese BB car would cost almost the same if I kept the Alfa over a period of balance 2 years (scrap at $16.5 = $23k less $16.5 = $3.25k per year).

Alfa yearly maintenance @ $5k plus petrol of $6k = $14.25k per year.

Compared with a jap BB at $8k depreciation, $2k maintenance, $4k petrol = $14k per year.

So might as well keep the Alfa.

And honestly, it's hard to own other brand cars already.

Nothing it's more "engaging" as Alfa.

Thumbs up for u bro! [thumbsup]

I am finally a proud owner of a 147 2.0 Selespeed [cool]

Well I did my maths as well when deciding to go for a B&B jap car like Jazz,Lancer,Civic but with the Alfa for its higher omv and killer Italiano styling, it juz hooks onto me tightly until I plunge into her. [:p]

Well to be an Alfisti, I have to accept the risks of maintenance esp the higher parts costs & availability but after checking on Alfa parts from Tanly, it's not that far off compared to my Legacy previously.

My 1st hand experience on this now is having to wait 2-3 weeks for the driver side window control panel..now every time I open the windows, I will need to tap the switch 1 at a time to bring it up again.. [dizzy]

Still I must admit driving the Alfa cruising along the highway really gives a very diff sensation & satisfaction. I'm just a bit baffled by the controls and especially the fuel cap [laugh] now trying to get used to the jerkiness of Selespeed.

A question, if i'm stuck in long jams like causeway jams, should I engage city drive or manual drive?Keep having fear of the gearbox overheating in long jams. [shakehead] .

I like this reply... [thumbsup]

Eh bro, I oso need to eat lei... come come, pong chan pong chan me here, wat u wan, me go source for u... dun worry, cheap cheap, I only mark up 50%, brother price one [smash]

Dun worry, got such WS who works on our Bellas... just find the right person to ask can liao (looks at Saabretooth [lipsrsealed] )

Well I did my maths as well when deciding to go for a B&B jap car like Jazz,Lancer,Civic but with the Alfa for its higher omv and killer Italiano styling, it juz hooks onto me tightly until I plunge into her. [:p]

Well to be an Alfisti, I have to accept the risks of maintenance esp the higher parts costs & availability but after checking on Alfa parts from Tanly, it's not that far off compared to my Legacy previously.

My 1st hand experience on this now is having to wait 2-3 weeks for the driver side window control panel..now every time I open the windows, I will need to tap the switch 1 at a time to bring it up again.. [dizzy]

Still I must admit driving the Alfa cruising along the highway really gives a very diff sensation & satisfaction. I'm just a bit baffled by the controls and especially the fuel cap [laugh] now trying to get used to the jerkiness of Selespeed.

A question, if i'm stuck in long jams like causeway jams, should I engage city drive or manual drive?Keep having fear of the gearbox overheating in long jams. [shakehead] .

Congrats! The poison is indeed strong, hehe...

No 2 ways abt getting used to the Selespeed, u just need to learn how to handle her. I took 5 days to get used and primarily learn how to handle the sillyspeed. City or manual mode no diff, it's how u control your throttle tat is the key.

Dun think GB can overheat so easily lei... unless no more gb oil? But let the veterans here advise on this ba, me only tcss to chalk up posts so MCF knows this group is still ALIVE

Congrats! The poison is indeed strong, hehe...

No 2 ways abt getting used to the Selespeed, u just need to learn how to handle her. I took 5 days to get used and primarily learn how to handle the sillyspeed. City or manual mode no diff, it's how u control your throttle tat is the key.

Dun think GB can overheat so easily lei... unless no more gb oil? But let the veterans here advise on this ba, me only tcss to chalk up posts so MCF knows this group is still ALIVE

Lol ur TKSS is already a valuable contribution to keep this group ALIVE!

I joined AROC 2 yrs ago and now I'm finally a Alfisti AROC sg no more [smallcry]

Even FB also only have AROC MY but I still join la..

The poison of AR really strong, the Petron station boss in JB saw my Alfa n ask me "Hws the Alfa today?" I puzzled and he followed up with "I own a 164 from the 90s and its still with me!" [drivingcar]

Congrats.

Most Alfa drivers remains manual all the time.

If you read the manual book, they recommend that don't hesitated when moving off from standstill.

Was told to engage manual in start-stop traffic as selespeed may overheat and hang

No harm done i guess

Anyway I feel more in control in manual (psychologically. lol)

Finally got the lower swing arms done.

Total cost + labour less than $500!

Anyway, must praise iEnergie for their swift and good work, though all mechs are young chaps but they seem to know what they doing. Even carpark fee was covered, will definitely recommend their service to anyone. [thumbsup]

Happy that my bella is running smoothly now, tried 170km/h at 2nd link smoothly and easily, my ex legacy wld have struggled a bit after 150km/h due to its heavy weight. [:/]

Finally got the lower swing arms done.

Total cost + labour less than $500!

Anyway, must praise iEnergie for their swift and good work, though all mechs are young chaps but they seem to know what they doing. Even carpark fee was covered, will definitely recommend their service to anyone. [thumbsup]

Happy that my bella is running smoothly now, tried 170km/h at 2nd link smoothly and easily, my ex legacy wld have struggled a bit after 150km/h due to its heavy weight. [:/]

Awesome!

Time to arrange one of those NSHW drives soon :D

Awesome!

Time to arrange one of those NSHW drives soon :D

Sure [rolleyes]

Yesterday my bella started to developed a squealing high pitch sound (metals brushing) right from ignition and it was constant even as I on my a/c or rev my engine, lasted till now which was rather annoying.

Could it be the fan belt loose as the dealer just changed the fan for the a/c last week which I presumed the fan belt was changed as well. Cldn't be timing belt as it was changed about 10k km ago at EA by previous owner.

Any help on this bros?