Biowolf Neutral Newbie July 4, 2010 Share July 4, 2010 My fren who used to sell cars does this too ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archaic 1st Gear July 4, 2010 Share July 4, 2010 Beware of this company Five speed , i think alot of buyer haven kana . Care to share wat u have experienced wif us? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angelvine Clutched July 4, 2010 Share July 4, 2010 u dunno about this? i got friend who work in west coast 2nd car salesman... he everyday also drive diffence car... today altis, tomorrow camry, wish honda type r, even mercedes and porsche... also!!! but the bad point is he cannot buy parking... if not everyday go change car number??? so he got to put coupon.. but then always miss out some of the time... and get fine... let say he some home around 8pm to park until 11am tomorrow... how many coupon??? so now he just park without coupon... and most is 3 fine every mth... anyway they got to use the car... if not no batt for buyer to test!!! if not also wasted the road tax... but if got accident... then the driver will need to pay himself for repair... As above, had a cousin who used to be a salesman in the PI new sales market in turf city, He informed me that the used car that their neighbouring workshops are selling are used by the salesman themselves as personal transport till a buyer is found on the vehicle..One wonders how reliable then is the used car u are getting as what is claimed on mileage and reliability... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmaomao 6th Gear July 5, 2010 Share July 5, 2010 was intending to buy a fiat grande punto 2nd hand, paying by myself and car will be under dad's name, but dad was quite reluctant and said that what if this car kena accident before, mileage problem this and that. Send the car go STA or VICOM to do evaluation.. Else bring a experience fren along to check for u.. B4 u sign the dealer contract, state down some terms and condition.. Eg, Road Tax must pay, loan not approve deposit must return.. Evaluation grade must be A. blah blah blah.. This is how i assure my customer all the time.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavina Neutral Newbie July 5, 2010 Share July 5, 2010 Of course the salesman will use the car to tackle mei mei. Andmaybe do it in the car. You know mei mei will be impressed with the bmw/merc or nice sport cars, enough to do it in the back seat. Now u know why these people gets all the girls, they know leverage! How to make use of others people nice car to get good times from mei mei. They will not scared the car licence plate photo kena taken by the geylang blog! That's the perks of cars salesman. Don't start me on property agents, especially those who handles high end props! They also leverage on the vacated house to hooked up meimei very easily! They have the sexy time in the car, and the house. Vali nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hasegawa Neutral Newbie July 5, 2010 Share July 5, 2010 this is a car. just sit and relax and drive it. Not ask you to EAT it. try taking some tme off and go around hawer centre and see how they prepare the food. I bet you will come in and say it is damn......!@#$%^& and start a new thread I will never eat food that is prepare by others. If you are so particular about all these, u shouldnt even buy 2nd hand car at all I like the way you put it, try likening it to prostitution and I think he'll never patronise paid sex ever! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear July 5, 2010 Share July 5, 2010 best is sent to own mechanic for checks i got experiences which the car was sent to so call thosed certified centre for checks Graded A-, remarked as, bumper shown signs of dismantling (taken out before)...blah blah blah everything okie but when sent to mechanic, he feedback, bumper was resprayed before (most probably due to accident..) then one of the rear shocks, left hand side was brand new, the right side was old... all these are not highlighted in the report Best thing is, report cost 100 plus.. mechanic checks are FOC... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp33dst3r Neutral Newbie July 5, 2010 Share July 5, 2010 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry3196930 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear July 5, 2010 Share July 5, 2010 As above, had a cousin who used to be a salesman in the PI new sales market in turf city, He informed me that the used car that their neighbouring workshops are selling are used by the salesman themselves as personal transport till a buyer is found on the vehicle..One wonders how reliable then is the used car u are getting as what is claimed on mileage and reliability... u never buy car before ah? effectively, if they purchase your car, they pay u and the car is theirs, they have trade insurance and bank loan to cover for the car, there is nothing wrong in doing that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear July 5, 2010 Share July 5, 2010 Dear all, thank you for all your replies...Guess im quite a snoob as i oni juz knew about the pratice when it's been an open secret for like 10 years ago.. I can understand that since it's already a used car, adding on slight mileage by the car salesman is normal, My bigger concern is u never know if they juz whack the car on high rev and in the process spoil the car b4 u actualli purchase it..By the time u realise it, may b too late.... If a car can spoil so easily on High Rev, then u better dun buy the car. Rev limit are set to car with threshold in place by the manufacturer e.g. if the engine will blow at 10k RPM, manufacturer will usually set rev limiter to 8k or less to protect their arse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elepoo 2nd Gear July 5, 2010 Share July 5, 2010 In the industry, as long as the car's key component are not damaged, the car is considered in good condition. Hence, a bumper damaged (by previous owner or wat), as long as it doesn't cause damage to the performance of the car, and can be easily replaced, it is considered as A or B grade. Afterall, it is a used car, and there are definitely some bumps and scratches to the car, and as a car owner myself, if the scratches is too obivous, i may just respray the bumper or simply change it. Hence, we cannnot expect a used car to look good as new car. PS: Pls don't flame me and I don't have any association with used car dealers or STA...Just my 1 cent contribution.... Cheer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rekcams Neutral Newbie August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 Hi all.. i intend to get a gen2 and i am still sching which i dunno if it is wortht buying .. please advise?? this is the car sia.. cuz i am noob in cars.. share so wise voice out to help mi ... tks. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=119060 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtec78 Neutral Newbie August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 wait till u see how those guys drive the so call brand new car when unloading from ports..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airy777 Neutral Newbie November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 Due to my latest incident with a 2nd-hand Car Dealer, my stand is I'll never buy or even want to encounter any used car dealer for the rest of my life, period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 As above, had a cousin who used to be a salesman in the PI new sales market in turf city, He informed me that the used car that their neighbouring workshops are selling are used by the salesman themselves as personal transport till a buyer is found on the vehicle..One wonders how reliable then is the used car u are getting as what is claimed on mileage and reliability... Sometimes their luck ran out. Ever seen one with engine subjectd to abusive driving (likely by such drivers). I did not buy that car (used car dealer did not expect me to know the engine abused) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avant_stealth Clutched November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 Sometimes their luck ran out. Ever seen one with engine subjectd to abusive driving (likely by such drivers). I did not buy that car (used car dealer did not expect me to know the engine abused) hw u knw if it was abused? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 25, 2010 Share November 25, 2010 (edited) hw u knw if it was abused? Only a few months old with low mileage. There was worn pulley belt being replaced, There was spilled battery acid corrossion allover. The stock tire already shown excessive wear from high speed cornering/braking. Engine oil colour also suggested the same. Scratched under front bumper (likely hitting kerb) Edited November 25, 2010 by Good-Carbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 26, 2010 Share November 26, 2010 Due to my latest incident with a 2nd-hand Car Dealer, my stand is I'll never buy or even want to encounter any used car dealer for the rest of my life, period. Wht incident? Buying car no matter it is used or brand new also must depends on your luck! There are also pple who bought a brand new car who is a lemon and give them problems! But if buy used car, chances wld be higher to encounter problems lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...