Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 I only remember the open air cinema at Holland Village. It was where 'Windmill mall' now stood. HV was a rough place...lots of fights. Odean Theatre along North Bridge Rd where English movies were shown and the opersite one, Jubilee Theatre will show Chinese love or tears breaker movies from Taiwan with stars like Chin Han, Alan Tang, Lin Ching Hsia, Lin Fong Chiao, Chen Chen ....... etc. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 (edited) Metropole Theatre along Maxwell Rd................. now a Church.... Ruby Theatre along Balestier Rd (now Balestier Point) where I watch my first Bruce Lee movie, "The Big Boss" .... Hoover Theatre & President Threatre also along Balestier Rd by Shaw Bros where I watch sword fighting movies stars by Ti Lung, David Chiang, Wang Yu, Er Tung Shen, Tien Ni, Cheng Pei Pei, Li Ching ...... etc.... Edited June 30, 2010 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 I only remember the open air cinema at Holland Village. It was where 'Windmill mall' now stood. HV was a rough place...lots of fights. Kampong San Teng open air.. Toa Payoh Lorong 5 "Chicago" is more rougher & tougher than HV... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 When I was a young boy...my dad used to bring me to Naval Base (inside the Naval Base) and Sultan (Chong Pang Village) cinemas.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 When I was a young boy...my dad used to bring me to Naval Base (inside the Naval Base) and Sultan (Chong Pang Village) cinemas.... Can you still remember the name of the theatre along Sum Wah Chee Drive, in Sembawang....... I missed the stall that sell the turtle soup in front of the theatre car park ....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 I can never forget Rex Theatre............ First theatre to install Sense-surround speakers and the show was "Earthquake" .............. The vibration feeling was shiok ......... . Even the stalls along the lane beside Rex theatre also complaint that their drink glasses vibrates. I remember Rex. Watched my 1st 3D movie there. It was Jaws. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Zenith cinema at hougang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Can you still remember the name of the theatre along Sum Wah Chee Drive, in Sembawang....... I missed the stall that sell the turtle soup in front of the theatre car park ....... SWC Drive not so sure about it...memory fails me.. Yes that turtle soup is good..my dad used to eat that stall but me eat satay... Sometimes eat hor fun..those were the days... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bommii Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Got one Orage Julius in EXPO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dankoo 4th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 I only remember the open air cinema at Holland Village. It was where 'Windmill mall' now stood. HV was a rough place...lots of fights. I remember that one! Used to stay at Holland close...dad will bring me to that cinema...30cents for children...deepest impression was watching the horror show: 凶榜...had nightmare after watching Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Kok Wah was just opps to that St.Gabriel's Primary School, the OLD building. Lots of makan stalls at night, Bus stop right in front of the cinema, had to walk up a slope to the carpark /cinema area. hmmmmmmmmmm..................... I remember Kok Hwa Theatre along Yio Chu Kang Rd near to Upp Serangoon Rd..... back those days, 25c per ticket only ........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Lida installed them first lah, they had that show "Roller-Coaster" and that was AFTER they showed Earthquake. I can never forget Rex Theatre............ First theatre to install Sense-surround speakers and the show was "Earthquake" .............. The vibration feeling was shiok ......... . Even the stalls along the lane beside Rex theatre also complaint that their drink glasses vibrates. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Odean got the beef kuay tiow, stall, you forgot Capital, carpark got the hawker center, rojak, mee rubus, mee gerong, and others all song song. Odean Theatre along North Bridge Rd where English movies were shown and the opersite one, Jubilee Theatre will show Chinese love or tears breaker movies from Taiwan with stars like Chin Han, Alan Tang, Lin Ching Hsia, Lin Fong Chiao, Chen Chen ....... etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Metropole I had "FREE LIST" to watch the movies, the boss was my Father's friend. Also, GreatWorld had it's theater as well, think was called Greatworld cinema or something, showed all the old Chinese movies, Journey to the west etc.. Yeah, those old movies damn shoik, I took up Starhub's celest channle for thre emonths to watch all the old movies again. Si Bey Song man!! [laugh] Metropole Theatre along Maxwell Rd................. now a Church.... Ruby Theatre along Balestier Rd (now Balestier Point) where I watch my first Bruce Lee movie, "The Big Boss" .... Hoover Theatre & President Threatre also along Balestier Rd by Shaw Bros where I watch sword fighting movies stars by Ti Lung, David Chiang, Wang Yu, Er Tung Shen, Tien Ni, Cheng Pei Pei, Li Ching ...... etc.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Anyone, remember the Old Paramount Cinema at Serangoon Gardens? Guess not....too way back already. Sunday morning Matinee.wah damn song man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Es8vtim525 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Hoover theater later specialise in showing Tamil show.....President Theater went on to being use as church sanctuary ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Hoover theater later specialise in showing Tamil show.....President Theater went on to being use as church sanctuary ..... Used to show at Rex theatre those Indian movies before shifting to Hoover theatre...... Poor Rex theatre, so may owners and convertions............. from Broadway 'Live' show to theatre to Ice Skating Ring and to church........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Sultan Cinema at Chong Pang. zInc roof type. used to be some distance opposite of Sembawang shopping centre. 50cents can see show, chair wooden type. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...