Am I underpaid?

Jtmk

Just to check

Being with my current company (ST Engg) for the past 15 year since graduated from NTU.

Current salary is $5400.

Am I underpaid? Should I start to look elsewhere?

confirm will pple say is little n underpaid,average what age is how much la..etc etc

but i feel not bad already...early 40s?+ bonus is not bad for ST..prorated also got 6+ a month..decent income overall

IMHO, should be okay if you're an engineer. A little under, perhaps, if you're a manager. But it's fine if you are settled into the job, and have no difficulty doing it.

Personally, I'm 12 years, moved 3 engineering jobs so far, and still just clawed the 5k figure last year. Happy how things turned out, though. No-brainer job now, after accumulating experience. Things that used to bother and stress me, now settled easily and routinely. Can concentrate on raising kids.

Others? Share info? Let's break the deadlock of silence. Silence aids employers in under-paying, since nobody knows exactly how much the pay should be :D

Edited by Sosaria

Age 28

Degree from Uni Of Bradford

Banking

Income - ard 4.5k to 4.8k.

TS shld jump ship in order to get better basic. I jump three times liao from two locals to Ang Mo bank. Everytime i jump required from higher position n $$$$.

Just to check

Being with my current company (ST Engg) for the past 15 year since graduated from NTU.

Current salary is $5400.

sorry to say, STE CMI, one of the worst employers in terms of pay package.

2 yrs ago i remember going for an interview and the VP talked to me after i rejected an offer. After the talk, i thought since VP is seeing me, maybe got chance to revise the offer. too bad, end of the day the offer still the same with a 30% pay cut from my previous job. worst still, only 1 yr contract.

15yrs still at $5.4k, unless u are farking screw up type, better to look for greener pasture.

Just to check

Current salary is $5400.

are you in the electrical division

if so you are not

after all you got a new boss that seems more open

life should get better

there is too much competition and back biting between divisions

good luck

Just to check

Current salary is $5400.

15 year, u should be manager level. The pay is about there for engineering manager.

Age 28

Banking

TS shld jump ship in order to get better basic. I jump three times liao from two locals to Ang Mo bank. Everytime i jump required from higher position n $$$$.

Nowadays only banking and financial industrial can pay that kind of $, you are one of lucky chap [rolleyes]

Oops! Forget another one, MIW. [:p]

Edited by Jp66

aiyohhhhhhhh

honestly speaking lah

i respect engineers those who are in private sector

their job is to troubleshoot, if their assistant cannot rectify and prevent the same thing happen again in future as it will cause the company to loose $$$ in future

but in gov or stat sector

hmmmmmmmmmm

they only get good name

all shi t are handed down to technical skill people

sorry to say, STE CMI, one of the worst employers in terms of pay package.

2 yrs ago i remember going for an interview and the VP talked to me after i rejected an offer. After the talk, i thought since VP is seeing me, maybe got chance to revise the offer. too bad, end of the day the offer still the same with a 30% pay cut from my previous job. worst still, only 1 yr contract.

15yrs still at $5.4k, unless u are farking screw up type, better to look for greener pasture.

If he got better offer, he would have already left. Ppls whose is above 40 yrs old will have difficult to find a better offer unless he is at management level.

Imagine a company can hire a 5 yrs working experience at $3.5k, why would they want to hire an old engineer that is demanding at more than $5.4k as both can do the same job? Moreover, if someone is at over 40 yrs old and has yet to become management level, the employer will have doubt the performance of such person who is expecting higher pay in engineering field.

However, it is possible for him to find a better pay job if he is at management level. Example, currently he is a manager but he can jump to another company to become director with higher salary. On the other hand, he must be prepare to work harder, take over higher responsibility etc, as the other company will not pay u more money for free.

IMHO, should be okay if you're an engineer. A little under, perhaps, if you're a manager. But it's fine if you are settled into the job, and have no difficulty doing it.

Personally, I'm 12 years, moved 3 engineering jobs so far, and still just clawed the 5k figure last year. Happy how things turned out, though. No-brainer job now, after accumulating experience. Things that used to bother and stress me, now settled easily and routinely. Can concentrate on raising kids.

Others? Share info? Let's break the deadlock of silence. Silence aids employers in under-paying, since nobody knows exactly how much the pay should be :D

You just echoed my thoughts...

TS, if your job is relatively smooth, stress-free, stable, then I think with that amount, it is pretty comfortable to raise a family with a decent standard of living. You have to see where your priorities are... moving on to a high paying job with long hours, high stress and volatile may not be such a good idea if you are a family oriented man.

Just to check

Current salary is $5400.

For a 15-yr "veteran", $5400 seems very underpaid to me.

Comparing industry wise, those in IT with 3 or 4 years of experience can earn more than that. Of cos, i'm talking about the good engineers. I'm assuming u r one of the good ones thus compare u with the good ones.

One should not look at monthly salary. We should take annual package including stock option etc. At 15 years, $100k should be the benchmark.

Just to check

Current salary is $5400.

if you want to look elsewhere, what are the alternatives? as for your current job, how is the environment? work stressful or easy? all these have to be taken into consideration.

Different people different life n different encounter..

give u an example:

1 of my client in Oil & Gas, born 1975, gets paid S$300,000 basic pay and got 2mil+ bonus last year.. but before last year he is only doing $100k.

another of my customer now age 50, gets paid $80k a year only n he has been earning 80k for many years..

life is about balance.

My frend 28 in IT drawing $4.5k

this company famous in pay but work n timing wise i rather dont want

its true to depend what kind of comfort zone in working each wants

for myself i took a simple no brain job but to exchange time to do my own things

My colleague bf working in sales for banking,easily 5 figures but now opt for management role pay fixed m downgraded alot

overall diff situation cater diff needs,thats how i feel

Age 28

Banking

I got an ex-colleague,

Age 30

ITE from singapore

Banking

Income - ard 6.2k to 20k (6.2k is basic pay, the rest are variable components like commission etc)

He joined bank A, then jump to bank B, find that bank B sucks, and went back to bank A, stayed there since for past 4years.. starting at basic salary of 2.5k.. so jump ship doesn't mean will get optimal pay raise.

No offence.. just making apple to apple comparison.