SimonTan 2nd Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Small issues....next year both insurance will rasie up higher. If suay it might be higher that the repair cost. Small accidents I suggest better settle privately and not report to ins. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gbhfdl Neutral Newbie July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Agree, and even if the CCTV did not captured the incidents, you can check to see if the CCTV camera at the car entrance barrier captured you and behind driver car detail just in case the same car while waiting for you to park. Check with the Mall Security whether their CCTV had captured the incident cos nowadays there're CCTV in car parks too.. Might help you with the case.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 The one going forward should always give way to the one reversing. Observe this at the bus bays (cos buses all park head in). Whenever a bus is reversing, whoever is going striaght will have the full view and will give way to the reversing bus. I'm not sure if our "highway" code has this clause, but I think it makes perfect sense. It's also road courtesy. A reversing car will NEVER have a full view cos our eyes are not at the back of our freaking heads. Even it you are a freak with eyes on the back of your head, the headrest is in the way. But here, too many ugly people around. They don't give way and think they don't need to be courteous simply because they have the "right of way" which incidentally is the wrong moral attitude in this case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limwilliam17 Neutral Newbie July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Both in the wrong...One reverse didn't check and another fail to check traffic.Latio lousy driver.Adjust position didn't need to come out so much.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HARDGAYHOOOO Neutral Newbie July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 Many ppl would said signal left or right when parking but seriously i have never ever seen 1 ppl do that when they park whether open or mscp.. So i assume this ppl don't surf MCF... that means out of 1000 ppl maybe only 1 will signal True, who the hell signal left or right when parking????I dun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung7 Neutral Newbie July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 I thought that you were leaving your lot.. drove out slowly, but the latio came straight out and just hit your rear... maybe he stepped on the gas instead of the brakes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched July 21, 2010 Author Share July 21, 2010 I am not able to edit post to change the photos. If mods think it is inappropriate, please remove. After reading through everything, I think Kiadaw got the scenario most accurately. To those who suggest Latio had not finished parking and I was kan cheong to park, it's not like he'd just parked crooked in his lot and I purposely squeezed past to race who would finish parking first. Remember, another car had passed the Latio before I did. I was not reversing in a straight line but at full-lock. Just look at my wheels. Doesn't take a genius driver to know how a car moves when reversing at full-lock. Kiadaw & Wrc206 were right when they said that any normal driver, after ensuring that rear and left are clear to reverse, will then be looking at the right mirror to align with the pillar. I repeat, when I put gear to reverse and started reversing, Latio was still fully in its lot, not head out, not half out. Rear traffic stopped, left side clear, I looked at my right mirror, which I believe was when the Latio dashed out. Because after that I felt impact already. There was nothing I could've done or foreseen to prevent a collision. Latio driver on the other hand, would have had full view of my car the moment his car moved forward. He could've stopped, he could've horned. He did neither. So he could only have been going too fast. And it resulted in a collision with a position disadvantageous to me. My damage is not at the direct rear, it was from the corner, which in fact started from the left side of the corner as the scratches were still visible from side view. Bumper was dislodged from its screws left side and under my left rear light. Left rear light was scratched from corner to rear. Latio driver claimed his car was straddling two lots and thus he had to adjust his vehicle. Which photos show it was not the case at all as he was coming almost straight out. I think he was trying to shift nearer to the pillar. Some drivers' mentality la...we all know why la hor. If I assumed anything wrongly, it was that his parking in the lot swee swee, headlights turned off means he had finished parking and was not going to suddenly dash out to adjust his car or whatever reason la. Hazard lights as a signal to park...Actually yup, driving school doesn't teach that. But frankly speaking, I have encountered drivers who signal left or right to park and find it even more confusing. Are they going to turn or park? They signal to turn but then suddenly they stop without warning and wanna reverse park. Maybe such signal applies more appropriately when the vehicle is gonna park head-in, but in SG we mostly reverse park right? Hazard lights effectively signal we are gonna stop, and we have to stop before we can reverse, ya? Some have rightly pointed out that in my situation, using right signal light is worse coz anyone on my left side cannot see the signal. Maybe I am stubborn. When I am very clear that it is not my fault (and thankfully my hubby was there to witness it too) no way am I going to pay up for the sake of 'convenience' because that will mean that I am admitting wrong. In this, I still have much to learn from the much more seasoned drivers who've probably encountered lots of chao kar before and learnt to deal with it more rationally. I probably still don't spend that much time on the road, just clock an average of about 150km per day. No matter what, I think it is still more than the wife who shouted at me "How long have you been driving?".... Anyway visited some workshops today to seek some advice and have now got a workshop to proceed with a 3rd party claim against the Latio driver. I did not lie in the report and the workshop did not ask me to do such a thing either. We just stated it as it happened. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 unfortunate event..similar to what happened to me mine was, I was travelling in my own lane, another car cut into my lane and banged into me.."side swipe" each side only scratches can be solved with 100-200 each..other party GL, refused to pay and even wanted me to compensate..we went ahead with our straight story plus pictures etc in the end insurers didn't really bother with investigating the stories thoroughly..end result was 50-50..if want to proceed with 3rd party claim will have to dispute in court LL..decided to drop the claim and ownself repair so sis, in such a situation, I would suggest trying to get private settlement..all the workshops, insurers etc all waiting to have a piece of the action only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched July 21, 2010 Author Share July 21, 2010 unfortunate event..similar to what happened to me mine was, I was travelling in my own lane, another car cut into my lane and banged into me.."side swipe" each side only scratches can be solved with 100-200 each..other party GL, refused to pay and even wanted me to compensate..we went ahead with our straight story plus pictures etc in the end insurers didn't really bother with investigating the stories thoroughly..end result was 50-50..if want to proceed with 3rd party claim will have to dispute in court LL..decided to drop the claim and ownself repair so sis, in such a situation, I would suggest trying to get private settlement..all the workshops, insurers etc all waiting to have a piece of the action only My workshop did advise that initially. They wanted to call the other party to arrange a private settlement as in each party pay own damage and sua. They said this is the only win-win case where NCD won't be affected. Turns out both me and the other party have 40% NCD. But they checked and the other party has already handed over his vehicle to a workshop, Workshop thinks we have chance of 50-50 and won't totally lose the case so we proceed with 3rd party claim. Will lose 20% NCD due to other party's claim against me unless liability is found to be less than 50% on my side, then workshop said in such case can still 'cham siong' with insurer not to reduce NCD. Workshop did advise on the possibility of going to court and I am prepared to attend if necessary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 My workshop did advise that initially. They wanted to call the other party to arrange a private settlement as in each party pay own damage and sua. They said this is the only win-win case where NCD won't be affected. Turns out both me and the other party have 40% NCD. But they checked and the other party has already handed over his vehicle to a workshop, Workshop thinks we have chance of 50-50 and won't totally lose the case so we proceed with 3rd party claim. Will lose 20% NCD due to other party's claim against me unless liability is found to be less than 50% on my side, then workshop said in such case can still 'cham siong' with insurer not to reduce NCD. Workshop did advise on the possibility of going to court and I am prepared to attend if necessary. talk to insurer to inform you of the result and amount. tell them once finalise you may want to consider paying it out of your own pocket. by doing this, if come out 50-50.. each pay own repairs...especially if both same insurer... i think you may be able to save your NCD.... do check with your agent or your insurer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 sardin you not playing BC2 meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched July 21, 2010 Author Share July 21, 2010 no matter what shdnt scold vulgarity... just show that is damn ah beng la... anyway TS, ur car is it that type run on road will go BOOOOOOOOOOOOOM.....? Hahaha... Nooooo... My car very quiet one... hehe Anyway my hubby did apologise to the Latio driver for using vulgar language later on, he frankly told the Latio driver that it is his stupid wife making all that noise that made him lose his temper. This he told me when we were later discussing about the incident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 My workshop did advise that initially. They wanted to call the other party to arrange a private settlement as in each party pay own damage and sua. They said this is the only win-win case where NCD won't be affected. Turns out both me and the other party have 40% NCD. But they checked and the other party has already handed over his vehicle to a workshop, Workshop thinks we have chance of 50-50 and won't totally lose the case so we proceed with 3rd party claim. Will lose 20% NCD due to other party's claim against me unless liability is found to be less than 50% on my side, then workshop said in such case can still 'cham siong' with insurer not to reduce NCD. Workshop did advise on the possibility of going to court and I am prepared to attend if necessary. If you can't claim more than 80% from the Lation, you gonna lose your ncd. And looking at it I think at most you get 70-80%. Most likely 50-50. Anyway, I think after what happened, the other party most likely will not private settle. But please do try anyway. Try got 50% chance. Dun try means no chance. Small repair only from what I see. Will be best if you get your hubby to do the talking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched July 21, 2010 Author Share July 21, 2010 talk to insurer to inform you of the result and amount. tell them once finalise you may want to consider paying it out of your own pocket. by doing this, if come out 50-50.. each pay own repairs...especially if both same insurer... i think you may be able to save your NCD.... do check with your agent or your insurer Different insurer. I don't think it is an option coz repairs already handed over to workshop who will be making full claim. If really wanna settle own repairs hubby has his own contacts who can do it cheaper for us. When other party is GL then talk so much also no point. Right? I don't mean that I will be satisfied with a 50-50 result but I understand that 100% win is difficult for my position. But still, got try better than not trying at all. Now let the insurers fight lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edminski 2nd Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 First of all, i see that the Latio driver is totally blind (He is driving forward and cannot see whats infront?) From the picture, i see that its the Latio bang on TS... Basic rule, any car coming out from carpark should give way (applies to the Latio) 2ndly, i agree with TS about the hazard light... Turn on hazard light to signal that your car is coming to a complete stop Then turn back in to park. Wrong meh? I see some kuku drivers, never put hazard light and stop immediately.. Those cars behind also jam brake immediately. Causing so much hazards to other drivers. Nothing wrong with using hazard light to park Ok if you signal left (if you want to park left side), some cars dont stop behind you and continue to accelerate to over take you (isnt this cause more hazards?) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 My workshop did advise that initially. They wanted to call the other party to arrange a private settlement as in each party pay own damage and sua. They said this is the only win-win case where NCD won't be affected. Turns out both me and the other party have 40% NCD. But they checked and the other party has already handed over his vehicle to a workshop, Workshop thinks we have chance of 50-50 and won't totally lose the case so we proceed with 3rd party claim. Will lose 20% NCD due to other party's claim against me unless liability is found to be less than 50% on my side, then workshop said in such case can still 'cham siong' with insurer not to reduce NCD. Workshop did advise on the possibility of going to court and I am prepared to attend if necessary. Sis, let me tell you how much you will potentially lose by the NCD thingy: Existing 40% NCD. Renewal 10% NCD. (NCD drops by 30%). After one year you get 20% NCD. 2 years later 30% NCD. 3 years later 40% NCD. 4 years later 50% NCD. So in the first year you lose 40% you could have gotten 50% NCD but you get only 10% after a claim. 2nd year you get 20% NCD so you lose 30%. 3rd year you get 30% NCD so you lose 20%. 4th year you lose 10% NCD. Now I am assuming you get be claims free for the next 4 years. And assume basic premium is a low S$1000 (which you will not get after an accident). So after claiming and going all out on a 3rd party claim, you lose a total of 100% of the premium. Meaning you stand to lose at least S$1000/-........ You will only not lose so much if you can get less than 30% blame. Dun think so in your case. Right now most basic premium is more than S$1000 so your potential total loss is more likely about S$1500. At the same time you still must pay for your own repairs first cos it is below excess and you case is 50/50 so workshop will not repair for free. Settle privately maybe cost $300. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edminski 2nd Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 (edited) Hazard lights as a signal to park...Actually yup, driving school doesn't teach that. But frankly speaking, I have encountered drivers who signal left or right to park and find it even more confusing. Are they going to turn or park? They signal to turn but then suddenly they stop without warning and wanna reverse park. Maybe such signal applies more appropriately when the vehicle is gonna park head-in, but in SG we mostly reverse park right? Hazard lights effectively signal we are gonna stop, and we have to stop before we can reverse, ya? Some have rightly pointed out that in my situation, using right signal light is worse coz anyone on my left side cannot see the signal. I agree with your point 100% Hazard lights will reduce confusion, cos you already giving signal that you are coming to a complete stop ready for parking I tried before, using left/right signal. Those cars behind me still keep close to me If i use hazard lights, they will prepare to stop and let me park Edited July 21, 2010 by Edminski Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear July 21, 2010 Share July 21, 2010 SimonTan Yesterday, 07:23 PM Post #145 Small accidents I suggest better settle privately and not report to ins. ------------------------------ This advice is not wise. It is mandatory to lodge an accident report to one's insurer so that in the event the other party makes a third party claim, the insurer of the policy holder reserves the rights to deny representing their case if it is not reported. Reporting an accident does not necessarily mean that one will automatically lose their NCD. At the same time, a third party claim can be challenged unless a situation is obvious. If both parties are willing to settle the matter privately, it is necessary to have a written agreement while an insurance report is made as required. Unless one can be sure that the other party will not make a claim for an accident, it is best to do the necessary to protect one's interest. While main reason for mandatory reporting is to prevent fraudulent claims, I think it is also to instil into drivers to be more careful when driving so that inconvenience to report even a minor accident can be avoided. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...