Fisbike 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Just bump a taxi's back with minor scratch on its bumper, want to settle privately, but taxi driver wants to claim rental, loss of income ++++ and change bumper too. I offered and offered but he keeps saying too low. Seems no end. If go report, I still have to pay excess and premium affected for next year, or should I give in to him even if he demanding more than $400? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Just bump a taxi's back with minor scratch on its bumper, want to settle privately, but taxi driver wants to claim rental, loss of income ++++ and change bumper too. I offered and offered but he keeps saying too low. Seems no end. If go report, I still have to pay excess and premium affected for next year, or should I give in to him even if he demanding more than $400? how much is your NCD? i got into a minor accident with a taxi uncle.. but he was a kind man, took just $200 to settle it... I hit and broke his rear signal lights... private settlement form was written and kept... seriously, i think can talk it out one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fisbike 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Author Share August 4, 2010 50% but talk and talk still not much progress.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgg687z Clutched August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Just one hour ago, I stopped at junction. A small lorry hit my car from back. I took photos first. Then we drove to a workshop together. On the spot, the workshop owner gave quotation for all the repairing and painting. The lorry driver paid full amount. Settled . heart pain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 teksi lau is like that one hence when teksi lau comes along to bang a car, usually the car owner will also show no mercy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicz Clutched August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 When i was a P plate, drove my dad's car & bumped into a Lady's Honda Stream. I was pretty freaked out. It was a really minor paint chip & she was nice enough to just let me off. Really appreciate her kind gesture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 even $1000 also give to settle... normally i will say anything below $1500 better pay then report... if not lose your NCB.. and next year up up!!! pay until u siao... and there a bmw bang my friend... my friend asking for $1000... the bmw owner hear wrondly or what... pay my friend $2000 and give my friend a good lunch... hahahaa... and he say he save lot of money without report... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whisper_2000 Clutched August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 You kenna one big big buaya lar. U give him $2000 maybe he will settle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Just bump a taxi's back with minor scratch on its bumper, want to settle privately, but taxi driver wants to claim rental, loss of income ++++ and change bumper too. I offered and offered but he keeps saying too low. Seems no end. If go report, I still have to pay excess and premium affected for next year, or should I give in to him even if he demanding more than $400? Get NCD protection....in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunburnsam 2nd Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Hi there, I just got into the same situation as you (not taxi). I keep persuading the owner to settle private. The workshop called and keep insisting on reporting to insurance and ask me to claim. I call and sms the owner directly to persuade him to settle. Just to check if your own car substain damages that need $$ to repair? If not...go with what most of the bros here recommend settle it privately even up to 1.5K as mention by someone. Call up the driver speak to him sincerely and tell him that your position and hope that can arrive at a simple settlement. Try your very best. once agree....quickly settle and do a sign off for both. (same day before change mind) Protect NCD + if possible dun leave a blemish on your file ....if not very jialat when come to insurance renewal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bieffe 2nd Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Just bump a taxi's back with minor scratch on its bumper, want to settle privately, but taxi driver wants to claim rental, loss of income ++++ and change bumper too. I offered and offered but he keeps saying too low. Seems no end. If go report, I still have to pay excess and premium affected for next year, or should I give in to him even if he demanding more than $400? So how much this fellow wants? Unless his cab cannot move...i suggest u go with him to a workshop of ur choice....dunno who try AMK Autopoint level 4 or sin Ming. Then ask the shop quote price and how long the job. Assuming takes 3days...but his cab w/o bumper still can drive mah......so settle at that take it or leave it. He say all those words to "hang" u no scared him. Delay few more day he will be LPPL...cos more than 24hrs u can deny if it even happened. Unless got picture....etc. Worst case u pay him is damage repair + $100 to cover his rental for the cab.....if u want up to ur excess is all u give.....want more.....claim lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Just bump a taxi's back with minor scratch on its bumper, want to settle privately, but taxi driver wants to claim rental, loss of income ++++ and change bumper too. I offered and offered but he keeps saying too low. Seems no end. If go report, I still have to pay excess and premium affected for next year, or should I give in to him even if he demanding more than $400? Quickly pay him before he wanted more!!!! Workshop claim much worse, they are merciless..... 4000 also possible.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clneosg Clutched August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Tell him $200, take it or leave it. Tell him report report lor, he luggi only as he got bad driving records later on as usually accident nowadays insurance company 50/50 for those hard to prove case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 TS, unfortunately u met a nasty cabby. He is taking u for a carrot head. He fm Comfort? In any case, if he claim he cannot drive on to pick up passenger, tell him u wl ask LTA to recall his taxi and check if he got pick up passengers after accident. Meter can be checked and LTA got authority to check meter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reuters Clutched August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 TS, unfortunately u met a nasty cabby. He is taking u for a carrot head. He fm Comfort? In any case, if he claim he cannot drive on to pick up passenger, tell him u wl ask LTA to recall his taxi and check if he got pick up passengers after accident. Meter can be checked and LTA got authority to check meter. this is good info! at least we know that we won't be by the taxi drivers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 (edited) TS, unfortunately u met a nasty cabby. He is taking u for a carrot head. He fm Comfort? In any case, if he claim he cannot drive on to pick up passenger, tell him u wl ask LTA to recall his taxi and check if he got pick up passengers after accident. Meter can be checked and LTA got authority to check meter. u forget... taxi all got their own company workshop... and idac with them... once go in to the workshop... LTA cannot help... they sure say change to new part... since all taxi under 3 yrs old... sure cannot drive.. as they will want to pay the taxi driver the rental free... and pay them some cash... and all claim from you! even can repair in 1 day... they will say 4-5days... all claim from you.. then next yr when u renew your insu.. die liao... sky high! and for your info... if is not taxi driver fault... all taxi driver will want to sent back then repair outside... cos they can go for short holiday and paid for by their company (must see how much income they report, if report 5k then everyday company pay them $166 in workshop... rental stop counting... all can claim from you... Edited August 4, 2010 by Jeffang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 just settle and move on before the price keeps rising. however don't forget, u settle privately with taxi driver, not the company that owns the vehicle. so does it mean the company will have their rights to claim again? can anyone advise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie August 5, 2010 Share August 5, 2010 No matter how private is the settlement, always remember to agree on the amount then sign the memo within the same day. If not, better go report b4 more problems come. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...