(RANT) Why I hate YOG buses. Make me late for work...

Soran

Someone rich (preferably expensive sports car owners) should just hiong hiong stop in front of these irritating buses...fine fine la!

Who's talking about free? Why do you keep changing the subject ?

The subject was to show in what way YOG is productive - but you keep changing the subject. Let's address this issue first, since that kicked off the debate, before we move on to your other rants.

Hahaha... who keeps changing the subject. I already made it quite clear on the productivity part. The torch relay was meant to generate awareness, and it succeeded, though not in the most agreeable manner to everyone.

You on the other hand keeps changing the subject. First, it was torch relay cost 400m.

spend $400,000,000 just so that some people are aware of olympic tradition. This is your idea of productive? [rolleyes]

Next is food for volunteers no good, so 400m got hidden issues?

Jumping to conclusions?... hello.. are you even on the same planet here?... already there's proof of some fark up going on in the food catering for YOG, who knows what other hidden issues are surrounding these 400 million dollars.. and you say I'm jumping to conclusions?

Isn't it logical to think that if 400m went into torch relay, everything else must be free? You do not even know the budget catered for food, or for any other part of the games for that matter (nor do I [laugh]), but you still find it convenient to suggest financial improprieties. Looks like you should be the one to decide what exactly is your rant about. [laugh][laugh]

Come on guys

we, volunteers included, all know that YOG is the BEST planned event of the year!!!

It is a truism that everybody's priorities, preferences and requirements are different. What appears rational to one, doesn't appear rational to another. What appears a worthwhile investment to one may seem an absolute waste of time and money to another. In really basic layman terms, we say "one man's meat, another man's poison". To a closed mind, even the best laid out plans are but trash from an unsound mind.

I'm sure the YOG, as with any international event held the world over, has its share of hiccups, kalang kabot and everyone-TL-together moments. But I prefer to look at things from a holistic perspective rather than pick at each instance of inconvenience, crap decision, or crap food [laugh] and start tearing the whole project apart.

Personally, I always think spending money to raise the profile of youths is a good thing, whether in singapore or anywhere else in the world. Better still it is held in singapore, where the money goes into our economy. Give the youths hope, give them a stage to perform, give them an event to call their own. Some of them may go on to make it big, some won't. Some of these kids' countries are in conflict, so who knows what may happen to them. But at least they all have their day in the sun, and hopefully inspire others to work harder for their dreams.

Call my romantic, call me naive. Whatever. I only know our adult cynicism and self-interest have screwed up enough things. Why want to deny the youths of this event as well? Is 350m worth it? Would 35m have made it worth it? To the nay-sayers, even 3.5m will be a waste. So there's really no equilibrium point in this discussion. Enjoy the show.

It is a truism that everybody's priorities, preferences and requirements are different. What appears rational to one, doesn't appear rational to another. What appears a worthwhile investment to one may seem an absolute waste of time and money to another. In really basic layman terms, we say "one man's meat, another man's poison". To a closed mind, even the best laid out plans are but trash from an unsound mind.

I'm sure the YOG, as with any international event held the world over, has its share of hiccups, kalang kabot and everyone-TL-together moments. But I prefer to look at things from a holistic perspective rather than pick at each instance of inconvenience, crap decision, or crap food [laugh] and start tearing the whole project apart.

Personally, I always think spending money to raise the profile of youths is a good thing, whether in singapore or anywhere else in the world. Better still it is held in singapore, where the money goes into our economy. Give the youths hope, give them a stage to perform, give them an event to call their own. Some of them may go on to make it big, some won't. Some of these kids' countries are in conflict, so who knows what may happen to them. But at least they all have their day in the sun, and hopefully inspire others to work harder for their dreams.

Call my romantic, call me naive. Whatever. I only know our adult cynicism and self-interest have screwed up enough things. Why want to deny the youths of this event as well? Is 350m worth it? Would 35m have made it worth it? To the nay-sayers, even 3.5m will be a waste. So there's really no equilibrium point in this discussion. Enjoy the show.

Hmm.....you made a valid point here.

the point is wads the point of giving the youths are stage to perform when everything is jus an illusion ?

the main thing here is jus a publicity stunt to singapore, the promotion of sports is secondary

why ? cos sports in singapore is hopeless.

jus look at fandi case ? he was a legend during the 90s, but wads in store for him now?

i read with amusement the recent article abt his sons future whether they would choose to play for EPL or for Singapore and he cant answer.

jus compare the local soccer scene and EPL.

on top of that, the direction of Singapore sports is that FTs will be bought to play

even if u want to hold ur sports fanatic party, please do it in ur own compound n dont disturb others

because singaporeans are made to become milk cows in terms of taxes and field bufflao in terms of work.

if u want to inconvience road users for the party,

please make YOG a public holiday

Wah... just now Suntec jammed pack man.. thanks to YOG

During the slow traffic, took a glance at the taxi uncle... he shook his head then point middle finger at the bus with the blinking LED around his 5 o'clock position... lol ! [:p]

Wah... just now Suntec jammed pack man.. thanks to YOG

During the slow traffic, took a glance at the taxi uncle... he shook his head then point middle finger at the bus with the blinking LED around his 5 o'clock position... lol ! [:p]

u never join in the middle finger salute? can do in unison and shout "oh yeah oh yeah"! [laugh]

the point is wads the point of giving the youths are stage to perform when everything is jus an illusion ?

the main thing here is jus a publicity stunt to singapore, the promotion of sports is secondary

why ? cos sports in singapore is hopeless.

jus look at fandi case ? he was a legend during the 90s, but wads in store for him now?

i read with amusement the recent article abt his sons future whether they would choose to play for EPL or for Singapore and he cant answer.

jus compare the local soccer scene and EPL.

on top of that, the direction of Singapore sports is that FTs will be bought to play

even if u want to hold ur sports fanatic party, please do it in ur own compound n dont disturb others

because singaporeans are made to become milk cows in terms of taxes and field bufflao in terms of work.

if u want to inconvience road users for the party,

please make YOG a public holiday

Why is it an illusion? The athletes who are running, swimming, jumping, shooting, dribbling etc etc are all computer generated? These youths had put in their effort to be where they are at their age. What were you doing and what have you achieved when you were their age? Why beliitle their achievements simply because you don't like YOG or the MIW? [lipsrsealed]

So what event held the world over is not a publicity stunt? Beijing Olympics is not a publicity stunt for China? Athens Olympics is not a publicity stunt for Greece? Vancouver Winter Olympics is not a publicity stunt for Canada? London Olympics in 2012 is not a publicity stunt for England? What the hell are you ranting about? As for sports being secondary, you mean to say whatever the athletes achieved in the games is therefore diminshed simply because the country that hosted it is basking in the publicity? Why you so like that leh? [confused]

Hello, Fandi made his millions in football playing in Holland, Bolehland and Indoland. If he is doing badly financially now (is he?), than it is his financial management that is the problem. As far as I know, he has NEVER ever said that football got him into trouble. If Fandi was not a footballer, what and were will he be? What has playing in the epl got to do with playing for singapore? One side are football clubs, the other side is a country. Does Fernando Torres, Didier Drogba, Cesc Fabregas etc have a problem playing club football in a country different from their country of birth? Why treat Fandi's kids differently? If they can play football in EPL, then by all means go for it lah. We should all be happy for them. Just because the S-league is crap, Singapore cannot produce good footballers? I don't think so. Look at the leagues in Africa, and compare that to the number of African players in the top clubs in Europe.

You look the world over, sports is about the one best avenue that gets the most kids out of the slums. Kids that could have ended up in trouble became millionaires simply because they are willing to put in the effort. That, i think, is the defining difference between our local athletes and the foreign ones. Effort. In my personal opinion, our athletes currently do not have the same commitment or fortitude to want to achieve as much as the foreign ones. Blame it on our local culture lor. Once they become top few in Singapore, they are quite happy liao. Push them harder, they start complaining liao. Is it a wonder why FTs are doing better than them? Should they be complaining about FTs doing better than them when the FTs hunger for success is greater?

Go do a google on the tax structures of the other industrialised countries before you start kpkb abt being a milk cow. Don't want to say more of this issue as OT.

let's be practical....

singapore population 4million....

China population 1.4Billion....

we're no match when it comes to sports or frankly, anything....

YOG is just a medium to showcase Singapore to the world....nothing else....

Actually, i disagree with your suggestion that nations with small population cannot match up to those with bigger population. For your info, Singapore is 76 in the list of nations with smallest population.

http://www.worldatlas.com/aatlas/populations/ctypopsl.htm

Behind us are nations such as Jamaica (Pop: 2.7m) that produced Usain Bolt, Asafa Powell, Merlene Ottey and other top sprinters; New Zealand (Pop: 4m) that produced the world's best rugby team in my opinion (ALL BLACKS!) and Fiji (800k) also in rugby; Costa Rica, Ireland (4m), Uruguay (3.4m), Slovenia (2m); Iceland (300k) that have all played in the fifa world cup or produced top class footballers. There are probably others that was missed out by my limited knowledge in sports personalities.

If even an african country can produce skiers to compete in the winter olympics, why can't our athletes succeed in our kampung/hdb neighbourhood sports like football, badminton, basketball, swimming etc if they have the determination and the necessary support?

With regard to YOG being a showcase of singapore, yes, i agree. No different from any other country hosting olympics, winter olympics, football world cups, rugby world cup, F1 etc. So what's the issue with this?

Hahaha... who keeps changing the subject. I already made it quite clear on the productivity part. The torch relay was meant to generate awareness, and it succeeded, though not in the most agreeable manner to everyone.

You on the other hand keeps changing the subject. First, it was torch relay cost 400m.

Next is food for volunteers no good, so 400m got hidden issues?

Isn't it logical to think that if 400m went into torch relay, everything else must be free? You do not even know the budget catered for food, or for any other part of the games for that matter (nor do I [laugh]), but you still find it convenient to suggest financial improprieties. Looks like you should be the one to decide what exactly is your rant about. [laugh][laugh]

Bro.. you really should read posts before you reply. I have not said the torch relay cost $400m. My question was in response to your own reply that the torch relay was the productive part of YOG. You brought up only the torch relay and no other example. If only the torch relay was productive (in your opinion) - then you are saying the $400 million spent for the entire YOG is justified by the torch relay.. which (in your opinion) is productive.

Frankly, from all the various news sources... the torch relay HAS NOT been productive at all. It was all a wayang, and forcing kids to stand in the rain; the torch totally did not generate the awareness that (in your opinion) it should have. In fact, the torch relay has been most unproductive by bringing a lot of negative publicity to the YOG (other than that single 12 year old kid - who wasn't even part of the relay to begin with). Unless, of course, you count negative publicity as part of your productivity campaign.

Next you again mistakenly bring up the $400m with the food issue. My dear bro... the food catering cost $5.5million, not $400million. Please get your facts right before spouting your propaganda. If by allocating $5.5million, and yet unable to provide a decent standard of food for the volunteers... there are questions raised on the allocation of this budget of $5.5million. Are you saying there definately is no question about the use of the monies, even though there is proof of low quality products supplied? Absolutely no question? Are you really that sure? Can you guarantee that? If even a single doubt... then there should be an audit. Even if there is no doubt... there should be an audit - because we are talking about an immense sum of PUBLIC money. And the public has a RIGHT to know.

Oh, yeah.. back to the original point. Since I debunked your theory that the torch relay was productive, what else do you feel in the YOG is productive?

so far i watched swimming on tv.... [thumbsup]

but sad, only youth olympic level but already we cannot make it to any finals so far [:(]

so c'mon soccer boys

Ya lo because of YOG i have to kana deployed back for reservist.. Sian waste my time.. Don wan go back also bo bian LL suck thumb..