YOG volunteers' food... hahahaha...

Mockngbrd

Food taste pretty good and yes, personnel are free to take 500ml bottled drinks from the coca-cola fridge.

Edited by Nicz

like that sound fair, nothing else to pick about. [laugh]

but what about the food in the picture, have you come across anything like that? is the food you get come pack in plastic containers or form boxes?

Honestly, the food isn't that bad as it is supplied by a reputable commerical caterer (won't quote the name here). Food are served buffet-style with a server assistant to help scoop each food item (machiam cookhouse) onto your paper plate. I haven't seen the athletes' meals (as its only served at the Youth Olympic Village) but for sure ours r not as appetizing as theirs...

The workforce/volunteers are issued with one meal voucher each for lunch. If they are required to work past evening time, another meal voucher for dinner will be issued. I haven't ate the Macdonalds yet, not sure how it will be served (will update again).

Drinks are free-flow from a man-size fridge at another corner n the drinks are not barrel or can type, but those standard bottle type (the smaller version, not the 1.5l type)... Drinks are always replenished throughout the day to ensure they never runs out~ There's also a coffee-maker machine (free-flow too) at the side too !!

In fact, there's even vitamin C pills given out (the orange tube brand) so as to keep everyone healthy~

So all-in-all, the workforce/volunteers are well-taken care of !!! :)

Edited by Beachboys

the most important thing is whether the food is tasty or not....

the food may look good and presentable,

but put in your mouth,

taste like crap....

do i then care about presentation???

nope....

and you know when it comes to catering of food for students/ volunteers,

you know what kind of food they'll be getting lah....

[nosebleed]

well..................

step 1, see what kind of food is provided 1st, quantities good or not? enough dishes given? got veg, meat and fruit? got drinks?

all these must meet 1st, because basic need is to fill up with enough food and energy, than we talk about is the food tasty, because tasty or not is subjective, some like plain, so more spices means not nice, some like salty, less salt means very plain no taste.

if food provided is fair, than taste hard to comments. [cool]

oh ya....

plastic boxes costs more than foam boxes right???

yes, plastic meal boxes cost more than form boxes.

just ask any hawker or check it out at any outlets selling them.

Honestly, the food isn't that bad as it is supplied by a reputable commerical caterer (won't quote the name here). Food are served buffet-style with a server assistant to help scoop each food item (machiam cookhouse) onto your paper plate. I haven't seen the athletes' meals (as its only served at the Youth Olympic Village) but for sure ours r not as appetizing as theirs...

The workforce/volunteers are issued with one meal voucher each for lunch. If they are required to work past evening time, another meal voucher for dinner will be issued. I haven't ate the Macdonalds yet, not sure how it will be served (will update again).

Drinks are free-flow from a man-size fridge at another corner n the drinks are not barrel or can type, but those standard bottle type (the smaller version, not the 1.5l type)... Drinks are always replenished throughout the day to ensure they never runs out~ There's also a coffee-maker machine (free-flow too) at the side too !!

In fact, there's even vitamin C pills given out (the orange tube brand) so as to keep everyone healthy~

Ur setup sounds similiar to mine.

Are u based in one of the hotels in town area?

maybe it's my school cheapskate food catering....

looks decent, taste horrible....

rice all hardened and stuff....

so ya....

my impression for student volunteers food became a nightmare....

oh ya, just happen to me last week.............. [laugh]

maid fry kway teow mee, smell oh very nice, look also like those sell in hawker centre, my girl came running to me shouting, daddy ani fry the mee smell very nice leh.

next thing i know she shouted, ani what you cook, so nan chi one!!! [laugh]

I tasted, went over took maggi tomato, pour and just finish it lor.

hmmmmmm..................................

free flow of coffee and Vit C! [thumbsup]

I think I can rest my case liao.......................

now for my meals! [grin]

Ur setup sounds similiar to mine.

Are u based in one of the hotels in town area?

I think the dining setup is the same for all venues (other than VIP hotels/Youth Olympic Village)...

I'm based at a competition venue in town~

hmmmmmm..................................

free flow of coffee and Vit C! [thumbsup]

I think I can rest my case liao.......................

now for my meals! [grin]

aiyoh....

but too much food and drinks not good leah....

what happened to the balanced diet thingy???

[laugh] [laugh]

I think the dining setup is the same for all venues (other than VIP hotels/Youth Olympic Village)...

so how does it feel to be a volunteer???

i hope you're proud of your job....

keep up the work....

[thumbsup]

so how does it feel to be a volunteer???

i hope you're proud of your job....

keep up the work....

[thumbsup]

well, technically not a pure volunteer this time round but part of the workforce as I'm a paid seconded volunteer (cheem !!!)

But yes, I'm quite active in volunteering for AYG/F1~

I also kana, but not volunteer. kana reservist for this YOG....food wise is actually not bad & yes drink is free flow.

Edited by East539

well, technically not a pure volunteer this time round but part of the workforce as I'm a paid seconded volunteer (cheem !!!)

But yes, I'm quite active in volunteering for AYG/F1~

mind giving us a range on how much you're paid for this job???

haha....

[laugh] [laugh]

Ok, i can roughly guess where u are based.

I'm just opposite u, and i'm there as a contractor, not volunteer.