Ex-smokers and those trying to quit.....

Lex250

this is a good online support group to encourage each other, keep it up [thumbsup]

but better not to meet each other [sweatdrop][laugh]

Why ?? You think Lex250 is bluffing ? or those who claims have not smoke but actually smoking ?

Glad to know you have succeeded.

Yes after smoking so long, each time we see friends or coffee shop displays of Cigs... there is a lingering memory of yesteryears we were happily puffing our lives away.

Then, with all the truth laid out in front of us, we chose to ignore them, thinking Lung Cancer to us or to others won't happen.

Some may argue that Old men/women living in mountains or some kampongs had smoked since 5 yrs old and still living at 100 yrs old. Or Some other old men in your HDB flat - BUT you are not like them. For every surviving smoker that lives long life, there are 99 dead before their prime.

We become numb to the peektures on the cig boxes too.

And that is what a Habit will do to us. Be it Smoking, Drugs, Sex, Gambling, Alcohol...

I'm not trying to Glorify our success in stopping.

If we can quit/stop smoking, which we thought were IMPOSSIBLE, ANYONE CAN !

Some may find this thread repeating itself on the same old stuff but, no amount of remainders is too much.

DO Join us in our Quest to keep this Thread Alive and we welcome all smokers and ex-smokers here.

Bro,

Well done for sticking to your "stopping" decision. I have decided to adopt bro Tigerwood's saying that we never really quit...we merely stop.

I started in JC days and soon developed bronchitis while serving NS. Most smokers should suffer from this condition and my throat gets inflamed pretty easily over the years. So I do know where you're coming from. Yet with all these markers I was still not convinced. I mean we all know the risks whether exaggerated or not. Yet we somehow just turn off my mental faculties for this addiction. This somehow only hit me after 20 years! A bit slow rite? But better late than never! I'm doing good so far even by my own standards I must say. I intend to keep that way. Hence the motivation for this thread. If you don't see me posting for awhile means I've succumbed to the temptation already. I am hoping fellow forumers here will keep me straight.

As for avoiding temptations, I think that's close to impossible since it;s not a banned substance like chewing gum. But I gather that you still pay attention to 'products' and that's not all healthy since you have stopped. Products should not be something you concern yourself with. I don't bother to know what's out there now. I hope to forget everything. I don't notice cigarette counters anymore. I suggest you try the same.

Here's to wishing you will look back at 3 DECADES of stopping rather than 3 yrs!

Cheers & do stop by often.

Hi Bro Lex250,

Thanks for your reply, really appreciate it!

Don't worry, i'm sure many bros here will keep u posting here almost every other day, this thread was started by u leh.... :D

Err... 20 yrs later, it's better late than never right?

I can tell u are all hyped up and determined to make it and, u will make it.... :p

I pay attention because every time i go to the counter and order my "kopi o siu siu dai", the cigarette counter is just in front of me leh...

So i can't help it bro.... [sweatdrop]

Glad to know you have succeeded.

Yes after smoking so long, each time we see friends or coffee shop displays of Cigs... there is a

Then, with all the truth laid out in front of us, we chose to ignore them, thinking Lung Cancer to us or to others won't happen.

Some may argue that Old men/women living in mountains or some kampongs had smoked since 5 yrs old and still living at 100 yrs old. Or Some other old men in your HDB flat - BUT you are not like them. For every surviving smoker that lives long life, there are 99 dead before their prime.

We become numb to the peektures on the cig boxes too.

And that is what a Habit will do to us. Be it Smoking, Drugs, Sex, Gambling, Alcohol...

I'm not trying to Glorify our success in stopping.

If we can quit/stop smoking, which we thought were IMPOSSIBLE, ANYONE CAN !

Some may find this thread repeating itself on the same old stuff but, no amount of remainders is too much.

DO Join us in our Quest to keep this Thread Alive and we welcome all smokers and ex-smokers here.

Hi Bro Tigerwoods, thanks for your reply as well! Really appreciate it too!

So, u too, like me, still have lingering memory of yesteryears huh...? :D

For me, it was my 2nd attempt that i finally stopped.

1st attempt was back in Lasalle when i gave in to my new classmate's temptation and took one....

After that "one" suck, then..... [bigcry]

1st attempt was back in Lasalle when i gave in to my new classmate's temptation and took one....

Same. My 1st attempt is 1995~1997 no smoke. Then I took 1 stick from colleague and men it tasted like sh1t. But that 1 stick became 1 softpack...

I stopped again in 31st Dec 2008 till now.

We are those ppl that only stopped smoking. We can't count as Quit.

But I will NEVER EVER take another stick again. You too, OBIGOOD...

Hi Bro Lex250,

Thanks for your reply, really appreciate it!

Don't worry, i'm sure many bros here will keep u posting here almost every other day, this thread was started by u leh.... :D

Err... 20 yrs later, it's better late than never right?

I can tell u are all hyped up and determined to make it and, u will make it.... :p

I pay attention because every time i go to the counter and order my "kopi o siu siu dai", the cigarette counter is just in front of me leh...

So i can't help it bro.... [sweatdrop]

Ermmmmmmmm bro you go SGCMmrHonda's office la. HE got some sweetie colleague making special kopi for him! LOL..... :ph34r:[laugh]

Ok seriously.....think you have to attain ' nirvana' as in you observe the cigarette counter but you don't really see-register it in your mind. How's dat?

okok...sori ah you guys more senior in stopping than me....I'll see how i fare in a year or 2 and compare it with you guys [;)]

Edited by Lex250

Hi Lex250,

You manage to stop smoking? I hope you made it this time. [:(]

on the way there bro! Thanks! How about u?

Brudder,

How's it going for you ?

Do update us again !

Hi Bro

So far still so gd..

Still in the process.

Meanwhile, I also got PM bro Lectro..Heard from him is that he is also going well..

I really appreciate this thread!

Hi Bro

So far still so gd..

Still in the process.

Meanwhile, I also got PM bro Lectro..Heard from him is that he is also going well..

I really appreciate this thread!

hey bro, thanks for the pm and the reminder to check back this thread. really appreciate it. good job to you!

i still gives in to temptation. but im cutting down slowly.. i have a colleage bside me my so call trainer... everytime i wan smoke he wil ask mi do other things... hahaha thanks to him that i still managed to cut down slowly [laugh]

cut down if you must... but you can actually go cold turkey! I've done it. Prior to that, I always gave excuses to cut down, gradual, slowly etc etc... but always came back, so one fine day I've decided to leave it once and for all! it's been 8 years I quit... yes, it will make you hungrier than usual.. you MUST balance it with exercise, if not you will gain weight in no time..

yeah... i am testimony to that... no exercise sure pui damm fast