Inconsiderate 7th month behaviour

Ahtong

I have running nose everyday & puffy eyes everyday ever since day 1.

Car covering in ash.

I am a free thinker and I still respect what they are doing lor.

It is about respecting each other for all races.

Don't think China is a good example...cos they have technically no religion, especially during the early part of communism. I do agree that people should be more considerate and more mindful of fire safety. There were lots of unburned paper all over the streets and burned patches of turf in my estate. But again, maybe those who chose to doing their offerings on places other than the drum provided by TC, may have a very valid reason for doing so.

Last time, my area have a drum which was buring since 6pm as per quote msg from my mum.

At 9.30pm, it is still buring as someone threw plastic into the bin...

Smell is horrible and I am staying at 14th floor, I could smell it.

Called NPP, they sent 1 fire engine, 2 bikes, 1police car and I looked at my wife in shock....

How come they never call army over and my wife laugh...

Then I say, waste of human resource and she replied they were asleep just now and you wicked person woke them up...

After the survey, they called me back and I told the NPP, I told you clearly it is smoke from the drums... Why sent such a big force over and why dont you put out the smoke??? They say, no immediate danger to the neighbour so no need to....

Smoke not harmful to enviroment meh???

What lor, that was not singrish format. Singrish format like this one hor...so you dun anyhow play play with my england. So long you catch ball can right?

Otherwise later I off computer and dun post.. [:p]

Seriously though - would you believe in my day job I am split half half between marketing director and journalist? I tend to change style a little for the informality of MCF - normally I am a lot wordier :D

Just out of curosity, do you still buy in the whole BANT concept?

Hang on, it will soon be gone in another generation or two.

How many 20s do you see burn incense and stuff?

It gives me an idea.

Open a shop which people come in to order the things they wish to burn.

After placing the order, we will show them into a room, turn on the TV and show them what you had bought to be digital burn :D .

Extra cost for smoke effect if require.

This might change for the next 2 generations.

Bear with it lah... Yesterday I saw 2 china PRC guys took the offering food and eat. Worst still ta boa! I see Liao , duuno should laugh or not... :huh: :huh:

wah kao.. so gian peng? they should befriend BraT Lau laa.. then will have good FREE food to eat..

sth wrong here...

population, china about 200 times more than singapore

land area, china more than 10,000 times than singapore

so the smoke will not be worse than singapore now :D

Can you imagine 1 billion Tiongs burning hell money at the same time? [dead] The whole Asia-Pac region will be smothered in smog.

As a believer, I also understand the difficulties that is affecting others. Just like how the traffic jams caused by illegal park cars affect me on every Sunday and Friday.

Here are some suggestions to control this problem.

1) Set up special burning avenue, not just metal bins that look like garbage bin. Mabbe a nice looking concrete shed with tall chimney to channel the smoke(remittance). This building will be label as HSBC, Hell Singapore Bank Corp. Only money burnt in this shed will be remitted over, all else will be lost. We need MAS to get into talks with Hell via the Taoist association to spread this new concept of remittance.

2) As inflation increase in Singapore, pay also increase, burnings also increase. If 10 years ago u pay $2 for a stack of paper worth 10b Hell dollars(HD), today these relative earn more burn more lor. so we need MAS to regulate the xchange rate. H$10b will be SGD20 today, so it will moderate the burning. So instead of burning 10 stacks, they can only afford 1 stack like last time. Coz in future, u see 1 person burn 2000 stacks if xchange rate is not regulated.

BTW - there is one service that you can sign up to that will send email from "beyond the grave" ...I think either google or yahoo offer as something you set up before death, and then if you dun check in on specific date they send out email....

yes i know. I just want to point out to him that Tiong Kok not doing is due to the culture rebellion and not because its outdated nia. so that this thread wont end up look like religion bashing mah [:p]

Nah I doubt it can become religious bashing with my statement. At worst it'll just become culture bashing [:p][laugh]

I know we must be respectful of others' beliefs but people should also be considerate when practising their customs. Every year, I know it is the start, middle and end of 7th month by the epic amount of smoke and ash in the air. Worse still, every patch of grass have those red incense sticks bordering them. To my knowledge, even Tiong Kok never practice 7th month anymore.

Isn't there a more civic minded way of doing things?

such topic is rather too sensitive to bring it out.

i'm sure we can easily dig out the cons from each and every religion.

think wiser, bro. ;-)

For me the burning is fine and I actually love the incense smell. Only that some put the sticks right at the edge of car park lots. When reversing it us hard to notice it such as this small ones

such topic is rather too sensitive to bring it out.

i'm sure we can easily dig out the cons from each and every religion.

think wiser, bro. ;-)

Not so...if such topics are always taboo how are we supposed to learn? So long as people don't get nasty, vindictive and personal is fine...

The old Sammyboy had this down and out guy claiming he ate some pao left as roadside offerings. That night, he was visited by a female spirit who wanted to be his ghost bride.

OH YA i remember this when it was hosted in e delphi forums, damn those days were so entertaining with so many funny stories!

I know we must be respectful of others' beliefs but people should also be considerate when practising their customs. Every year, I know it is the start, middle and end of 7th month by the epic amount of smoke and ash in the air. Worse still, every patch of grass have those red incense sticks bordering them. To my knowledge, even Tiong Kok never practice 7th month anymore.

Isn't there a more civic minded way of doing things?

tolerate others and others will tolerate you

This week I'm in Taipei. Here I see streams of shops have table altars with food, fruits, can food etc and Joss sticks urns and burning the Incense papers. The air is so thick with the smoke everywhere and also very hot and humid.

I see these customs still very much alive in Taiwan, Malaysia and Singapore.

China, HKG no. China I understand from earlier posts...

Really interesting why HKG dun have.