Zanter 3rd Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 Again i reiterate, my comment is that I dont understand.............. So you want to make me understand I will be happy to listen to your explaination which I is somewhat valid. I have never said the religion is bad, in fact I subscribe to the teaching or Philosophy of Buddhism. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear September 14, 2010 Author Share September 14, 2010 Yeah I say I dont understand certain practioners of Buddhism..Is that wrong to say? Well eirther my English is bad or yours is worst haha. Anyway I was just saying it in passing. If you dont agree, fine. I dont really care eirther way cos we are going way out of topic. Well no, actually there's a huge difference between believers of Buddhism and certain practitioners of Buddhism. I'm pretty sure my English has not deteriorated that much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 Well no, actually there's a huge difference between believers of Buddhism and certain practitioners of Buddhism. I'm pretty sure my English has not deteriorated that much. And I absolutely agree with you on that point..so that why I say I dont understand some of these people. That, I am sure is a fair comment which I am entitled to make, yes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear September 14, 2010 Author Share September 14, 2010 And I absolutely agree with you on that point..so that why I say I dont understand some of these people. That, I am sure is a fair comment which I am entitled to make, yes? If you had said certain practitioners of Buddhism then I would of course fully agree. But not believers of Buddhism though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 U read that I said that I dont understand when ALL believers pray to Buddha for material wealth. Please check that I didnt say ALL believers...I said that WHEN those believer pray for material wealth..So pray tell what wrong when I said I dont understand when those believers pray for material wealth? Now, I didnt even say those believers are wrong..I said I dont understand...Cannot say I dont understand? So whose english is correct? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 lai lai lai...............enough liao lah guys..............all OT liao leh! this kind of topic no end one lah, whoever you pray to and believe or don't believe so be it lah................can let's go back to $$$$ and happiness ok cheers cheers!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maldini03 1st Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 Met up with an old friend from school last weekend and catching up over some beer. Have not seen him for a few years and when I last talked to him it was back when he was a struggling engineer driving a beat up Nissan. Back then when he was lowly paid he always keep telling our group of friends that money can't buy you happiness. Now he had ventured out to do his own business and is very successful driving a BMW. So i asked him about his favorite line and he told me with a straight face - 'knn that's what poor people say la, do you ever hear rich people say that?' At least he is honest and I can tell he's very much happier than he was a few years ago. So the question is what the bros here think about the statement? Do you think money buy happiness for you or have it already bought you happiness? I believe $$ can buy happiness. 90% of the world can be bought, maybe not anything but sufficient enough to make u a very happy man. I agree that only poor man say $$ cannot buy happiness. my personal opinion, dun flame me. hahahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 If people really want to know if money can buy happiness, they can just give some to me. I will test out the theory and tell evryone here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 If people really want to know if money can buy happiness, they can just give some to me. I will test out the theory and tell evryone here. er.......................can I help you with the test as your assistant? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmOm 5th Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 安于状态,知足常乐。 Happiness does not come from what you possess, it comes from what you are contented with. Shakyamuni Buddha was born as Prince Siddhartha about 2,500 years ago. As with all other beings, he experienced desire and attachment. It was not easy for him to give up what he was used to, particularly the family and new born son that he had. However, in the process of cultivation, he understood that such a step was necessary for the journey of discovering the solution to suffering for all beings. Mara (Lord of Evil and Death) was immensely jealous that the Buddha drew a strong following with his teachings. Many a time he tempted the Buddha but was rebuffed. He tried many ways of foiling the works of the Buddha but failed. Finally, he taunted the Buddha saying that there will come a time when the Buddha's teachings will fade away. When that time comes, Mara will send his underlings to infiltrate the ranks of monkhood all over the world. The Buddha, in his infinite wisdom, saw that it would happen for that is the karma of the world. However, the only response Mara got from him was a stream of tears born of compassion. 正法一千年,像法一千年,末法一万年。 We are now living in the times of 末法, more than two thousand years past the time of the Buddha. Today we see evil rearing its head in many places, manifested in many forms. Today, society is heavily driven by vices. The vicious cycle of negativity and evil has reached a critical mass and will cause great suffering until the next Enlightened One is born and has the opportunity to convey the Truth to the masses. I didnt say it was easy or hard for Buddha to give up his princely status, I was using that as a example that it is only the rich who are entitled to say that money cant buy you happiness, as they really know what it is like to have loads of money. Actually I dont quite understand it when believers of Buddhism, pray for money & wealth, as it is contrary to the core teachings of Buddhism or when Monks drive expensive cars & stay in posh condos, as Buddhism teaches the foregoing desire as a step to achieve Nirvana. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 Met up with an old friend from school last weekend and catching up over some beer. Have not seen him for a few years and when I last talked to him it was back when he was a struggling engineer driving a beat up Nissan. Back then when he was lowly paid he always keep telling our group of friends that money can't buy you happiness. Now he had ventured out to do his own business and is very successful driving a BMW. So i asked him about his favorite line and he told me with a straight face - 'knn that's what poor people say la, do you ever hear rich people say that?' At least he is honest and I can tell he's very much happier than he was a few years ago. So the question is what the bros here think about the statement? Do you think money buy happiness for you or have it already bought you happiness? haha now i ask u, no money u will be hungry right?? no food will u be happy?? will u be happy if u wear torn clothes? will u be happy if u homeless?? so happy come from$$$$ without $$$$, how to survive i this world?? in conclusion money is one of the basic needs of happiness! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 with money, 50% of ur happiness is guaranteed with money u can eat restaurants and hotels everyday with money u can buy great cars with money u can travel around the world with money u can buy big bungalows with money u can call 10 chicks with money u can adopt sons and create happy family with money u can have 10 wives with money u can buy branded goods with money u can buy yatch with money u can play golf with money u can buy the whole pub and drink all the beer with money u can pay ur medical bills easily with money u can cure ur terminal disease by go other countries seek medication with money u can buy anything that u like with money............ world will be more vibrant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 happiness is still priceless which cannot be bought by $$$ alone... with $$$ doesnt mean u will be very happy, but w/o $$$ it means u going to be less happy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but the realization of how much you already have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear September 15, 2010 Share September 15, 2010 Thank you for that most excellent answer. We indeed live in a era of vice, greed and selfishness. Our culture is increasingly defined by money. How much money you have will equate to the respect you receive. Its easy to chase money & material wealth, its hard to be enlighten and shed the burden of the eviliness that pervades all around us. Yet the teachings of Buddha stands out is a beacon of light...despite the many who pray to him for wealth instead of enlightement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear September 15, 2010 Share September 15, 2010 there are rich but unhappy people out there. there are also poor but happy people. i think that answers the question. if it was ever in doubt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged September 15, 2010 Share September 15, 2010 I didnt say it was easy or hard for Buddha to give up his princely status, I was using that as a example that it is only the rich who are entitled to say that money cant buy you happiness, as they really know what it is like to have loads of money. Actually I dont quite understand it when believers of Buddhism, pray for money & wealth, as it is contrary to the core teachings of Buddhism or when Monks drive expensive cars & stay in posh condos, as Buddhism teaches the foregoing desire as a step to achieve Nirvana. He also said the same thing when he was living in "poverty" i.e. without money or status etc.. Not arguing with you anyway. They who pray for such things don't understand the core values. However, Buddhism is not about self mortification either. You need money to survive plain and simple and get out and work. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...