SupperTime Clutched September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 Normally I dont have time or energy to wash car myself, so i go to those petrol station ones. Tried all liao, SPC, caltex, shell... they all have the same problem. When after wash drying up the car, they opened the boot by using their hand to lift by the spoiler. All the car wash people i know seem to do it and i fear my expensive spoiler getting cracked or bent. They dont understand the value and i sympathize with that as it is very cheap labour. Finally found one caltex that didnt lift my boot like that. Just now went to queue 30 mins and wait for my turn to wash. End up after wash instead of closing the boot he just tap the boot + spoiler and it drop down hard breaking the lock. He didnt even notice anything wrong with doing that and they dry up using foam instead of cloth. Where do you go to wash your car and does this kind of thing happen alot to you ? Thanks In Advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahjoe Clutched September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 this kind of problem always happen , next time open the boot yourself for them to clean and close back yourself again after they are done lah. the best method to solve it is to wash yourself but you already said you have no time & energy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched September 18, 2010 Author Share September 18, 2010 Agree man... need to keep a very close eye on these guys. Worse still sometimes the boot not even open yet they try and lift... oh my gosh.... I try to keep a watch on them when i can. Worst case scenario i thought of doing it myself but using those techno car wash thing... price is insane though.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 I used to send my cars for cheap petrol wash, as I am too lazy or deem myself too bz to wash my own car, but mainly just lazy. One day I was returning home & saw this uncle at my neighborhood washing his own car, a Ferrari f430, I feel very guilty. If an elderly & rich guy can bother to wash his own car, why I can't wash my own car? Since then, I washed my own car. I do send my car for polish & sealant once every few months, but I always washed my own car in between. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 my method of self washing is the simplest and fastest. Materials needed: 1. Hose, with hose tightener 2. 1 large pail + 1 smaller bucket 3. a couple of large microfibre cloths 4. a large sponge 5. carwash detergent I bought a hose from a hardware shop - about 7m should be sufficient - at about $1 to 1.50 a metre, should be about total $7-$11. You also need a hose tightener - these is like a wide ring and screw to tighten the host to the tap - should be about a $1. Total damage: $12 Method: 1. Park car in MSCP washing bay 2. plug in hose to tap and tighten. Stretch out hose around the car to prevent kinks in the hose 3. insert cash card and press start (25cents) to start 35-40 secs of water. 4. fill pail, and use the rest of the water from the hose to wash off the dirt and grime from the car. 5. pour some carwash detergent into small bucket, and mix sufficient water from larger bucket 6. using 1st cloth, completely soap the whole car, and also rims (using the sponge) 7. pop in cash card again for another round of water spray with the hose to wash off soap 8. use 2nd cloth to dry off car 9. use the rest of the water in the pail to wash all the equipment including the cloths. 10 dive off and park somewhere, if you want to continue waxing or cleaning the interior of the car Total carwash time: 1/2hr or less. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zztensor Neutral Newbie September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 I used to send my cars for cheap petrol wash, as I am too lazy or deem myself too bz to wash my own car, but mainly just lazy. One day I was returning home & saw this uncle at my neighborhood washing his own car, a Ferrari f430, I feel very guilty. If an elderly & rich guy can bother to wash his own car, why I can't wash my own car? Since then, I washed my own car. I do send my car for polish & sealant once every few months, but I always washed my own car in between. Maybe the guy is retired n got the time, plus he also very sim tia his precious car, so want to wash with his own hands mah.... For me, sometimes i work late n reach home after 11 pm, n also sometimes burn weekends....where got time to wash myself....sometimes dun even have time to let the petrol station wash my car, end up washing car once in 2 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched September 18, 2010 Author Share September 18, 2010 Hi all and thanks for comments so far. Think the best way for me as mentioned is to get the hose + hose tightener. Most likely going to soap it up, then use the small pail as recommended before. A big pail seems inconvenient as it is difficult to lug around. Dont mind going back and fourth 3-4 times with a smaller pail. Or i could go for a big pail and a scoop, that might work just as well. Going to try this on monday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 (edited) Normally I dont have time or energy to wash car myself, so i go to those petrol station ones. Tried all liao, SPC, caltex, shell... they all have the same problem. When after wash drying up the car, they opened the boot by using their hand to lift by the spoiler. All the car wash people i know seem to do it and i fear my expensive spoiler getting cracked or bent. They dont understand the value and i sympathize with that as it is very cheap labour. Finally found one caltex that didnt lift my boot like that. Just now went to queue 30 mins and wait for my turn to wash. End up after wash instead of closing the boot he just tap the boot + spoiler and it drop down hard breaking the lock. He didnt even notice anything wrong with doing that and they dry up using foam instead of cloth. Where do you go to wash your car and does this kind of thing happen alot to you ? Thanks In Advance. Duh....... then you should remove your spoiler cause its nothing more than a piece of junk meant to rice up the car. I have nothing against you or your spoiler but I just hate people installing such things to riced up their cars. If really want to install a spoiler, make sure its a functional one to provide needed downfoced, not show. My car has a spoiler too and it came stock with the car. Slam it, lift it whatever, its strong and it won't break. Do you know how strong a spoiler has to be in order to withstand the amt of the force caused by the air as you are zipping at 100-150KM/H? Edited September 18, 2010 by Mini-itx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 Maybe the guy is retired n got the time, plus he also very sim tia his precious car, so want to wash with his own hands mah.... For me, sometimes i work late n reach home after 11 pm, n also sometimes burn weekends....where got time to wash myself....sometimes dun even have time to let the petrol station wash my car, end up washing car once in 2 months. Same here. Especially if you have family and need to help out in housework too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched September 18, 2010 Author Share September 18, 2010 Same here. Especially if you have family and need to help out in housework too. Hehe so instead of having the weight of washing a car, some choose to just plain not wash it. I guess after awhile it becomes a chore, especially with a family. Not worth to do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 (edited) Same here. Especially if you have family and need to help out in housework too. AND 40+ years old . . . . Heart pain everytime after car wash at petrol kiosks you find new scratches . . . . Edited September 18, 2010 by Vroomtattat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 Normally I dont have time or energy to wash car myself, so i go to those petrol station ones. Tried all liao, SPC, caltex, shell... they all have the same problem. When after wash drying up the car, they opened the boot by using their hand to lift by the spoiler. All the car wash people i know seem to do it and i fear my expensive spoiler getting cracked or bent. They dont understand the value and i sympathize with that as it is very cheap labour. Finally found one caltex that didnt lift my boot like that. Just now went to queue 30 mins and wait for my turn to wash. End up after wash instead of closing the boot he just tap the boot + spoiler and it drop down hard breaking the lock. He didnt even notice anything wrong with doing that and they dry up using foam instead of cloth. Where do you go to wash your car and does this kind of thing happen alot to you ? Thanks In Advance. sad to say thats why u seldom see expensive exotic cars being washed at the public car wash......its better to either wash your self or get your maid and teach her to wash for u..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched September 18, 2010 Author Share September 18, 2010 (edited) sad to say thats why u seldom see expensive exotic cars being washed at the public car wash......its better to either wash your self or get your maid and teach her to wash for u..... agreed bro, although i see alot of conti drivers do have preference for the public car wash also. perhaps time constraints? regarding the maid idea, its ended badly before. im sure some can relate to. never let the maid even near your car... Edited September 18, 2010 by AceofproZ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 No Way! I have never let the service station car wash touch my ride. Just look at the colour/stains on that piece of cloth they use to wipe dry! That piece of cloth on average wipe dry how many rides per day!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched September 18, 2010 Author Share September 18, 2010 No Way! I have never let the service station car wash touch my ride. Just look at the colour/stains on that piece of cloth they use to wipe dry! That piece of cloth on average wipe dry how many rides per day!!!! bro hehe how do you end up washing your ride then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 No Way! I have never let the service station car wash touch my ride. Just look at the colour/stains on that piece of cloth they use to wipe dry! That piece of cloth on average wipe dry how many rides per day!!!! That's what I used to say Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 (edited) First of all I will never let the cheapo car wash at petrol stn wash my car again. Last wash at petrol stn was more than 7 years ago, after being rudely treated with mop head on my roof. I would say 9 in 10 times I wash myself. Even I got a maid, but they dont have to wash my car. Wash cycle 2-3 times a month at most. Too tired and no time, so dont wash. When really too dirty, such as after long trip from KL, I will drive to ST inspection centre at Boon Lay. They have good car wash facilities and staff. $5 for cars, $6 SUV/MPV. Generally, cant go for this type of car wash on permanent basis. it will stripe wax and coatings from your car over time. Edited September 18, 2010 by 5936 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 My car has a spoiler too and it came stock with the car. I didn't know invisible cars came with spoilers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...