Newbie with conti car asking for advice

Lgt1977

My apologies, Lexus is not conti lah.... IMO, they are upgraded and better insulated TOYOTA and under LTA they are imported as TOYOTA as well.

I am saying that LEXUS is not a good car, it is a great car but I am not prepared to pay the premium for a "upgraded" TOYOTA.

[thumbsup]

one more thing, lexus interior look like TOYOTA!!! all the button, leather seat, steering and body like camry, so no difference maybe only smoother and quite ride

Have to be careful with our words here as some "koreans" will say that we cannot afford LEXUS and we are sour grapes....

BTW, LEXUS is TOYOTA and TOYOTA is LEXUS ....

Edited by Civic6228

Have to be careful with our words here as some "koreans" will say that we cannot afford LEXUS and we are sour grapes....

BTW, LEXUS is TOYOTA and TOYOTA is LEXUS ....

i thought its some chinese or malaysian???...

btw Toyota is not lexus but Lexus is Toyota [laugh]

hi bros, i need advice from bros here with conti experience.

I am thinking of switching car to a conti car if it fits into my budget and I am looking for car which is more then 5 years on the road. Can the bros here advice me on what are the things to look out for while searching for this type of 2nd hand cars? I am currently eyeing on some bimmers and VW that is available on the 2nd hand market but I will also jump at the change of own an audi or a merc if there is any.

I read so much pros and cons about the realibility and spare parts or maintance which is also a main concern of mine coz i dont know what to expect for this type of cars which is this old. Hopefully I can get some direction from bros here.

P/S my history of owning cars are rather young. I only managed to own a honda and a hyundai so far. ,

thank u bros in advance who take their time and patient to answer my noob questions. [thumbsup]

===================

In gist, similar car background history with yours (YOB: 1977).

[Extended Family: Hyundai, Subaru, Renault, Opel, BMW, Merc and Toyota ownership]

[immediate Family: VW & Merc (Present) ownership]

Mainly used/2nd hand cars above.

From the running costs (Petrol/Insurance/Maintenance) perspectives, go with Non-conti main stream cars.

For better safety 'rating' and 'secure corning/turning feeling', try Conti main stream cars.

Why:

The balance between safety vs running costs was in favour of VW. [sold off 1.4 TSI this year]

Add in the resale dimension, got a resale Merc. [suggest you use Excel to work out your financial estimates and comfort level]

Image wise, a decent and safe family car will project a 'solid' positive image for yourself & company. [Think Volvo]

What:

If you want to explore resale/2nd hand market, will encourage you to look at the OMV rather than COE as 1st base parameter.

Full maintenance records and low mileage (rule of thumb, less than 15K mileage yearly). You must also be prepared for minor stuff like light bulb change and brakes pads/disk changes etc. [Wear and Tear parts. Prepare $2K and below budget/contingencies for these 'once' off change].

Stay away from modified car. [Referring to engine/ECU/suspension, exhaust stuff]

Where:

Go to reputable and established 2nd hand carmart where certain brands are known to be resold.

Hope it helps.

one more thing, lexus interior look like TOYOTA!!! all the button, leather seat, steering and body like camry, so no difference maybe only smoother and quite ride

Just gotten comments from a neighbour of mine .. saying for the price of a C180, I should go for a hybrid Camry where it comes electric memory seats & rear folding blind, plus FC friendly :D Coincidentially he is driving a 2L Camry (re-badged to a 2.4) ...

So I guess different folks, different strokes - so prefer toyota over MB ( [laugh] my neighbour), etc ... me & wife do prefer Toyota over other Japanese brands though. My personal 2nd preference for Jap brand is Nissan ...

Just gotten comments from a neighbour of mine .. saying for the price of a C180, I should go for a hybrid Camry where it comes electric memory seats & rear folding blind, plus FC friendly :D Coincidentially he is driving a 2L Camry (re-badged to a 2.4) ...

So I guess different folks, different strokes - so prefer toyota over MB ( [laugh] my neighbour), etc ... me & wife do prefer Toyota over other Japanese brands though. My personal 2nd preference for Jap brand is Nissan ...

probably because its C180 and camry but if E200 and camry, i guess ur neighbour would prefer the MB. this is because C180 is a class below camry and camry is more spacious and environmentally friendly. Also for maintenance, its cheaper for toyota compared to MB especially servicing, Borneo Motor offer free servicing which C&C doesnt. last time my camry went for servicing and dun need to pay while my current E250 went for 15k servicing last month and charged $600+.

yesterday my E250 cost me 600+ in servicing and plus 80 dollar delivery charge cos i lazy send my car to workshop

overall 700+ [sweatdrop]

this is first service and only change oil and check here check there

my E class clocked 15k few weeks ago and i pay 600+ [sweatdrop]

probably because its C180 and camry but if E200 and camry, i guess ur neighbour would prefer the MB. this is because C180 is a class below camry and camry is more spacious and environmentally friendly. Also for maintenance, its cheaper for toyota compared to MB especially servicing, Borneo Motor offer free servicing which C&C doesnt. last time my camry went for servicing and dun need to pay while my current E250 went for 15k servicing last month and charged $600+.

YES BRO, WE ALL KNOW U PAY $600+ for ur 15K servicing.

No need to keep reminding us.

<_<

I guess not apple-apple comparison bah ... I personally tested the camry 2L and hybrid version. Yes, hybrid is silent, but power is not wow-wow thing also ... more gadgets though ... but if it's gadget, I would have gone for Passat which was abt same price [:p]

Servicing wise is part of the package. I was once offered IS250 for $145k with 5yrs free svcing, and then later $137k with only 1st 3 svcing free. Anyway MB also gives svcing credits right ? yeah... maintenance is higher, but as the saying goes "wanna eat salted fish, must be able to tahan the thirst" ...

I guess not apple-apple comparison bah ... I personally tested the camry 2L and hybrid version. Yes, hybrid is silent, but power is not wow-wow thing also ... more gadgets though ... but if it's gadget, I would have gone for Passat which was abt same price [:p]

Servicing wise is part of the package. I was once offered IS250 for $145k with 5yrs free svcing, and then later $137k with only 1st 3 svcing free. Anyway MB also gives svcing credits right ? yeah... maintenance is higher, but as the saying goes "wanna eat salted fish, must be able to tahan the thirst" ...

yah they give me $1k but i hear some ppl get 2k, guess i choose the wrong salesman [mad]

seriously it is like people who use Apple vs Windows.... the geeks will compare spec until cow come home. But the apples fans only look at the whole eco system and lifestyle appeal. Who the hack cares if it has 2T of hard disk or not... not that I download porn.

Anyway just for that matter, BMW 3 series outsells Mondeo in UK despite it being car of the yr in UK by top gear.

yah they give me $1k but i hear some ppl get 2k, guess i choose the wrong salesman [mad]

I can confirm that my father got $2k servicing credit when he bought his C180 (a bit more than a year old now).

Think all the same one, some give 2k svc credit, but 1k more discount, while others give 1k svc credit and 2k further discount.

Dude, were you driving various Japs bread and butter cars for over 10 years before switching to MB? Tio Toto?

No such luck to tio toto, tio summon plenty lah ... just one of those impulsive moment or maybe "see open" suddenly or some say mid-life crisis ... :D still paying installment through the nose ...

Anyway it's an entry-level model which many here won't even consider ... they say "if C class must at least be a C200" ... so nothing to shout about ... -_-

Edited by Hungee