Vhtfhwlego Supercharged October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 I knew u would say that. Whole of this week, I had been asked by those evil friends of mine everyday to jio others out. When you be free as everyone is in town. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 had done a 2.4 CRV with head porting, bore throttle body, intake manifold, n exhaust. re-tuned & gain 7whp. no bad fc after that. all hand job, no machine involve. many ws can do it. pnp alone shd cost around 1.5k. down time bout a week +. best is ws hv spare head u intend to stroke it n pnp or jus pnp? if jus pnp, better upgrade ur cams wah bro mod so much only 7whp diff? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 wah bro mod so much only 7whp diff? Well, he already mentioned its hand job, not machine job. However, head porting alone is not going to give you much gains. Sometimes, its even negative gain.... IF you have bigger ports to flow more air, your cams and valves must match it as well, else it will become a bottleneck and makes porting useless. http://www.billzilla.org/engcombust.htm Chck out this great website about 4AGE head. See the port angles. If engine head is not designed for performance, porting will hardly improve anything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accordboy 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Author Share October 7, 2010 IMO,7whp gain for NA engine is gd..kinda hard to extract hp from na engines... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 IMO,7whp gain for NA engine is gd..kinda hard to extract hp from na engines... Agreed. Its hard to extract power form NA engines. Even stroking up an engine yields little power increase as well. Eg. going from 2L to 2.2L yields just around 20-30HP for NA. Very little compared to FI engines. Going higher RPM is the only way to gain alot more HP but you need to do lots of work to get there (head word, lighter internals, stronger valve springs, cams etc....) Then you can maybe extract 280-300HP from a 2L engine (provided you redline it at 10K RPM). But then at such RPM you will have to rebuild engine very often..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djdp Clutched October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Well, he already mentioned its hand job, not machine job. However, head porting alone is not going to give you much gains. Sometimes, its even negative gain.... IF you have bigger ports to flow more air, your cams and valves must match it as well, else it will become a bottleneck and makes porting useless. http://www.billzilla.org/engcombust.htm Chck out this great website about 4AGE head. See the port angles. If engine head is not designed for performance, porting will hardly improve anything. second that, in the case that i mentioned, totally stock engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djdp Clutched October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 IMO,7whp gain for NA engine is gd..kinda hard to extract hp from na engines... agreed. tc much easier. either that, u can also pay higher price for a ported head from USA. But again, it depend on what other mod u intend to do. Easiest way, drop a k24, or supercharge it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 because a simple tune would usually yield around 5bhp for NA alr taking into account 20% transmission loss you still get 4whp and porting + boring of tb should yield quite abit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 agreed. tc much easier. either that, u can also pay higher price for a ported head from USA. But again, it depend on what other mod u intend to do. Easiest way, drop a k24, or supercharge it. supercharging is too complicated. installing a roots blower or a twinscrew would cost too much turbo is easier + better to mod Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Well, he already mentioned its hand job, not machine job. However, head porting alone is not going to give you much gains. Sometimes, its even negative gain.... IF you have bigger ports to flow more air, your cams and valves must match it as well, else it will become a bottleneck and makes porting useless. http://www.billzilla.org/engcombust.htm Chck out this great website about 4AGE head. See the port angles. If engine head is not designed for performance, porting will hardly improve anything. HeeHee! Sounds kinda wrong "hand job"! Anyway, thanks for the link! I'm running a 4AGE 20V Blacktop which probably needs overhaulin' soon. Plan to do it at the end of this year. Wonder if I should change the head to a Silvertop one since the website recommended a closed head with "squishing" areas... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 supercharging is too complicated. installing a roots blower or a twinscrew would cost too much turbo is easier + better to mod Actually roots Supercharger can be easily to customised one and CHEAP!! Don't need oil and water lines. Just get used Eaton superchargers from ebay and you can fabricate some pipes and brackets and feed air into the manifold. Because of low boost, don't even need intercooler. Many chargers comes integrated with a bypass valve so don't need BOV. Some even come with a electromagnetic clutch and you can on it only when necessary. And roots charger is instant power right at the foot. No lag at all. I almost do up a custom M90 charger for my M42 motor till I sold the car and have to scrap the idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Actually roots Supercharger can be easily to customised one and CHEAP!! Don't need oil and water lines. Just get used Eaton superchargers from ebay and you can fabricate some pipes and brackets and feed air into the manifold. Because of low boost, don't even need intercooler. Many chargers comes integrated with a bypass valve so don't need BOV. Some even come with a electromagnetic clutch and you can on it only when necessary. And roots charger is instant power right at the foot. No lag at all. I almost do up a custom M90 charger for my M42 motor till I sold the car and have to scrap the idea. cheap? the pulleys cost a bomb already leh. okay la used then worth it. but low boost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Actually im of the impression that stroker kits are mainly for gains in torque rather than BHP, do pardon me if im wrong :P Its gonna be extremely costly (not even mentioning drivability yet) for a 2L engine to hit 300bhp, even if u dump in a k24 its for torque gains mostly. Imagine the torque of a 250-300bhp TC engine minus all the lag. Yummy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djdp Clutched October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 because a simple tune would usually yield around 5bhp for NA alr taking into account 20% transmission loss you still get 4whp and porting + boring of tb should yield quite abit The CRV is awd. Loss is even higher. Another point to note is that car is stock so not looking at fig only. Overall performance n drivability is achieve through the process Sc is bolt on for certain make Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 wah bro mod so much only 7whp diff? I agree... 7whp most butt dyno also cannot tell the difference... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 I knew u would say that. Whole of this week, I had been asked by those evil friends of mine everyday to jio others out. When you be free as everyone is in town. All your evil frens ask you jio others out? For what sia? I sure last car de...... You must have done something to your car recently and now find people to tear like tissue paper right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 The last thing I did was to wash my car. That was during F1 weekend. Maybe smoother surface and they wanna see before and after lor. But anyway, your Euro R is a dream car for mr personally as got the exclusive drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djdp Clutched October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 I agree... 7whp most butt dyno also cannot tell the difference... mayb diff butt anyway the car is already tuned b4 pnp & it's now over 200hp ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...