Titaniumr Neutral Newbie August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Agree and good points. Smaller cc like 3 litres and below will need turbo to bring out some performance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Hey guys and fellow motoring enthusiast, Just wondering, why are people still buying 2.0l cars when the equivalent 1.4 (super + turbo charged) can be had at lower road tax and better performance, open for discussion:) Btw this is not a bashing thread for 2.0 vs 1.4 or VW vs honda (example only) kind of thread, parties who made whatever decision pls do share your reasons and thoughts, thanks! how about a 3.0T or above car? best of both worlds. road tax price??? why bother much??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 My stock NA car is even fun-nier (sorry, pardon the pun). Much more than your tuned-up 190 bhp. Untuned, my car is even more scarier in SG's traffic, where 0-100 is more relevant ..... But then, I have top speed too! Sorry my stock TC car is fun-niest among the 3 of us. De-tuned, my car is scarier then scary in SG's traffic, where 0-100 is most relevant..... Still then, i haven't touch on my top speed yet! i'm sorry too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeke1 2nd Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 i think small CC with turbo car is good in term of pick up..the car feel lighter...but u dun feel the substance...the performance will drop at high speed... big cc car generally good at high speed....effordless...but the car feel heavy and not so eager to rev at low speed... i think mark x is a very good option...it has good balance in term of low and high speed.. the car is heavy but it still can sprint from 0-100 in sub 8 sec..high speed at 190km/hr is effordless....fuel consumption is good too 11~12km/l....2nd car price is reasonable too....engine is quiet and u dun feel tired of driving long distance...a good car i would recommend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 I drive a Jetta Sport twincharged Bought it in Nov 2010 and have no regrets. Mine is tuned up to around 190+hp with a tuning box. Even at stock this car is fun. Tuned up, this car is scary in SG's traffic where 0-100 is more relevant than top speed.... 190+ bhp nia? No big deal leh. Your 0-100 cannot be <7 secs lah. Fun meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 how about a 3.0T or above car? best of both worlds. Like the twin-scroll 335i? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 my stock TC car is fun-niest among the 3 of us. De-tuned, my car is scarier then scary in SG's traffic, where 0-100 is most relevant..... Still then, i haven't touch on my top speed yet! i'm sorry too But your TC engine will still run out of puff leh, after max RPM / top speed is reached. However, a very large cc NA engine will continue to pull at max RPMs, yah. So how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 But your TC engine will still run out of puff leh, after max RPM / top speed is reached. However, a very large cc NA engine will continue to pull at max RPMs, yah. So how? you everyday go top speed huh?? if not, why you so concern about top speed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 On NSH, top speed more important than 0-100 leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Their pickup is already a monster. if i have the $$, will probly get a local pickup and lup a high power engine, lower the suspensions.... SGP ute which flies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeke1 2nd Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 both big and small cc car can cruise at 120 or beyond....but one is just breathing...the other one is yelling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 It can be a bitch to drive high revving engines as pple will think you are racing with them as the revs climbs up. The good thing is that most pple will siam when they hear you coming. happen to read through this very old thread again and saw many expert opinions and useful advice here :) and some very interesting comments by banned and un-banned members... :P just the other day, I had a chance to test drive the vw roc 1.4tsi, and indeed it has a very torquey feel to it. Felt that the 0-100 was dispatched much much quicker than what the official time denotes (at least, from my perspective). The pull from 1k rpm to 5+k rpm was the greatest, but noticed a loss in power after which, maybe the engine wasn't made to redline for power, very different from the working mechanics of bigger cc NA engines which have more power the moment it reaches higher rpm. After driving so many NA and turbo machines, I understood the difference in driving NA vs turbo engines, in my opinion NA with high revving capabilities seems to have a higher fun factor as well as giving a feel of more control over a turbo-ed car, at least to me that is. Hope you guys do not induce anymore flaming session, this thread is merely a thread to share experiences between these 2 types of engines and petrolheads for discussion and exchange, cheers! :) NA rocks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Drove the 4lit V6 Ford Falcon over at OZ about 2 mths back.. 1 word to describe.. SHIOK.. to the MAX.. The torque is awesome, and power comes very smoothly, unlike TC with about the same bhp.. After that, then i know why the meaning of "there is no replacement for displacement".. Come back SG, drove my 2L Civic.. feel damn sian.. and cheated.. cos the Falcon cost AUD32k NEW.. <_< Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Drove the 4lit V6 Ford Falcon over at OZ about 2 mths back.. 1 word to describe.. SHIOK.. to the MAX.. The torque is awesome, and power comes very smoothly, unlike TC with about the same bhp.. After that, then i know why the meaning of "there is no replacement for displacement".. Come back SG, drove my 2L Civic.. feel damn sian.. and cheated.. cos the Falcon cost AUD32k NEW.. <_< Yah lor. Compare my current 3L V6 NA, vs a previous 2L Supercharged engine. The 2L FI engine got a lot of go at lower RPMs ... but up to about 3500-4000 RPM, it just loses steam. Its mostly all noise and no (further) go beyond that. So for quick acceleration, its good for a 2L ... even then, no fight compared to the 3L NA. But on the back end, top speed, the NA engine wins hands down and will continue to pull and pull. So I read in this thread about the 'fun' factor. What is 'fun'? To me, a big-engined NA car is exhilirating to the full, up to the max engine design. TC cars are really point-and-shoot (same analogy with the P&S cameras vs SLRs). OK lar, for people with lesser budgets, but still want bang for the buck. BUT, they have their limitations at the top end. I have seen a video of an MX-5 (NA) racing with a WRX (TC) on the track. The camera was mounted on the MX-5's dashboard. Of course, on the green light, the WRX took off and opened up the gap - as expected. But each and every time they reached a bend, the MX-5 will be right behind and kissing the WRX's a$$. Its all about RWD handling and balance. Not just only straight-line acceleration. Point-and-shoot, as I mentioned ... no fun to me leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 I drive a Jetta Sport twincharged Bought it in Nov 2010 and have no regrets. Mine is tuned up to around 190+hp with a tuning box. Even at stock this car is fun. Tuned up, this car is scary in SG's traffic where 0-100 is more relevant than top speed.... just pray yr car wont give you problem. (I mean your tuned-up HP). The car agent will give you a hard time and charge you this and that to almost S$10K. Many cases already happen with higher tuned-up HP. I think they will change a new engine and a new ECU (If im not mistaken) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 just pray yr car wont give you problem. (I mean your tuned-up HP). The car agent will give you a hard time and charge you this and that to almost S$10K. Many cases already happen with higher tuned-up HP. I think they will change a new engine and a new ECU (If im not mistaken) Yup, the more-senior SEs at PA will tell you of a guy who had really wanted an S3 badly, but did not have enough moolah. So what he did was to buy the A3 2.0T instead and modded the ECU, turbo, air intake, intercooler, cooling system, brakes, suspensions etc. THEN, he went up north to test his modded car at high speeds ... only to be towed back to Singapore. Engine internals, valves all koyak, kaput. Sad story man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soran 1st Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 If i lived in a Need for Speed world, where i can drive nice cars all day long, of course i will take a big cc car and cruise. Unfortunately we live in a world where we pay farkloads for insurance and roadtax, plus we have to pay our bloodsucking LTA every ten years just to keep the same car Of course i know a small cc car with turbo will run out of breath at 150kmh+. I agree that at speeds there is no replacement for displacement. But we do not drive at those speeds everyday. My car is my ricebowl, and car ownership for the most part is a pragmatic decision. I am not a rich man, i am just a peasant trying to ek a living, and my car is a tool that helps me to do that. If i can save on the insurance and roadtax compared to a NA 2000+cc car, why not? I have driven a merc 1800cc kompressor before, a Honda civic 2.0 and a camry 2.4. Of course these are smoother drives and have their fun points. But those fun points to me are not worth the extra expenditure. Some people may take a different view and say that extra expense is worth it for the driving experience, and that is fine. As long as one is happy with the car, thats alls that matters. No point arguing whose e-penis is better.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Yup, the more-senior SEs at PA will tell you of a guy who had really wanted an S3 badly, but did not have enough moolah. So what he did was to buy the A3 2.0T instead and modded the ECU, turbo, air intake, intercooler, cooling system, brakes, suspensions etc. THEN, he went up north to test his modded car at high speeds ... only to be towed back to Singapore. Engine internals, valves all koyak, kaput. Sad story man know ur limit, understand ur car threshold. all these long forgotten, give ur an armour car also will fall apart. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...