Sonata Cabs Really Power!

Mini-itx

Not really leh... some people aren't used to the acceleration at first and think its very fast. But personally I think the seats of the Sonata are much more comfortable than the older Crown/Cedric seats. Also, the automatic transmission means you don't have to contend with bad, jerky gear changing which so many of the Crown/Cedric drivers seem to practice in their manual vehicles - I feel the constant jerks of bad gear changes more likely to induce motion sickness than mere speed.

Then again, this is quite subjective from person to person.

True true, i spend a sizable sum on taxi rides every month. If possible, i always try to avoid the older Toyota Crown cabs. Firstly, they tend to smell a little stale and musty, and their air-con is really weak. Secondly, taxi drivers tend to be really jerky with their gear shifts, a learner driver drives smoother than most of them. I blame it on the long hours they spend on the road, gets really tiring to drive manual transmission properly. Anyway, both factors conspire to make me puke and giddy after the taxi ride.

Anyway, there is no point out-accelerating taxis at the traffic lights, there will be another few more somewhere further down the road. Just knowing that you are faster than them is enough.

Everytime at traffic ligth they will accelerate much faster than me one. They can easily pull a 20m gap ahead of me with ease man... Despite me revving till 2.4K RPM then change gear still no way to catch them. These cabs are really powerful.

Sorry, edit... its till 2.4K RPM, not 2K. 2K is what I normally change gear at. ITs not when I drive harder.

i was taught to change at around 4 k, who teach u to change at 2k?

Unless the car has a second high cam profile, otherwise most engines are already out of breath after revving to 6.5k rpm.

try changing at > 6500rpm, the higher the better, feel ur car surge at every gear change....shiok.....tail them and see at what speed they run out of breathe...that's about the only way a NA car beat a turbo, if can beat in the first place ler...

but waste petrol ler...not worth it

Yes. I took out the Euro R badge at the back so pple think that it is a CL7A.

urs issit vtec power?

Edited by Jchuacl

I use VW's DSG launch control, ESP off and in Sports mode, also lose to Sonata taxis all the time when i move off from a traffic junction.... Wait, why do you all like to drive like that? :p

Trying to prove a point (a ridiculous one) at the expense of other road users' safety? But quite fun when I see taxis racing against each other.

Bro, hw did u do ur speed launch?

are you on stage 1? coz i heard speed launch would damage the dsg if use too often unless u done stage 1

Unless the car has a second high cam profile, otherwise most engines are already out of breath after revving to 6.5k rpm.

yes agree. anyway driving a Honda, with the characterictic of the NA engine, makes driving very engaging, requiring more range of legworks because of the RPM range available, tio boh?

Yes. I took out the Euro R badge at the back so pple think that it is a CL7A.

Likewise, a lot of Accord dressed to look like Euro R...

The wider range of rpm is only for certain models of Honda engines and yes it is very engaging as I've to keep shifting gears due to the gear ratio plus there are 6 gears.

yes agree. anyway driving a Honda, with the characterictic of the NA engine, makes driving very engaging, requiring more range of legworks because of the RPM range available, tio boh?

Bro, hw did u do ur speed launch?

are you on stage 1? coz i heard speed launch would damage the dsg if use too often unless u done stage 1

here is a very detail step by step of how to do LC on a DSG. in SG context, try doing in very early in the morning. lesser traffic and cooler air. turn off aircon, make sure you use S mode instead of manual. slightly less than 1/4 tank of fuel to get the best timing. enjoy and have a safe launch. :-)

the DSG gearbox is able to take the beating. dont worry.

Edited by Vega

try changing at > 6500rpm, the higher the better, feel ur car surge at every gear change....shiok.....tail them and see at what speed they run out of breathe...that's about the only way a NA car beat a turbo, if can beat in the first place ler...

but waste petrol ler...not worth it

yes i agree.

infact i think most of the 1.6litre NA car should be able to beat the sonata.

i used to drive Esi and rev to more than 7k and able to beat the Mercedes cab and Skoda.

now my 1.5litre car with redline of 6.5k,iam able to smoke those cab at 3.5k-4k rpm.i guess their rpm should be around 3k and redline at about 4k-4.5k rpm.

TDi not very good for drag race imo.

Diesels have a very narrow usable power band, and they run out of puff at higher RPMS, hence i dont think its difficult outdragging them with a decent 1.6.

Edited by Magfocus

Difficult to out run these sonata lah.They acceleration is really fast.If you really sit in one before and they pull off from traffic light,it is really effortless.Try driving a 3L turbo diesel van,auto one.You'll know the different.If those 3L dyna turbo have 268Nm of torque,these 2L diesel turbo should have around 200Nm of torque at their disposal. Normally their max torque kicks in at 1.5k RPM or so.

flooring the pedal does not mean the fastest acceleration cos the car power band not there yet, gear not optimise, only WOT but do nothing much, drink petrol only. if floor pedal at the right gear and rpm, then u will be shiok ler...and let the sonata hear ur fren screaming ivtec maybe...

M means manual issit?

I dont think he was at the wrong gear. He was at around 6k rpm already. He change at the redline. Ya. manual.

The wider range of rpm is only for certain models of Honda engines and yes it is very engaging as I've to keep shifting gears due to the gear ratio plus there are 6 gears.

true, usually higher end models. Honda usable range also very wide even for normal ones, like mine, old school Honda, they are built to be revved.

addictive I would say.

yes i agree.

infact i think most of the 1.6litre NA car should be able to beat the sonata.

i used to drive Esi and rev to more than 7k and able to beat the Mercedes cab and Skoda.

now my 1.5litre car with redline of 6.5k,iam able to smoke those cab at 3.5k-4k rpm.i guess their rpm should be around 3k and redline at about 4k-4.5k rpm.

TDi not very good for drag race imo.

tried just a few times just for fun when coast is clear, i.e. wide open road, clear junction. Unless the Sonata uncle never floor all the way, but I am able to match the speed but I usually let go below 100kmh, no need to try so hard, did not hit redline, just change at about 5000 or so, but aircon I off lah...is that considered cheating???

I dont think he was at the wrong gear. He was at around 6k rpm already. He change at the redline. Ya. manual.

hmmm...btw what is the redline of a modern stock civic?

6k rpm can also mean wrong gear, means he forgot to upshift.

Ur jazz modded? Or maybe the taxi not even flooring the pedal. Cuz I was sitting in a colleague's 2.0M civic when he tried to overtake a taxi. The taxi managed to block him to prevent him from overtaking. Not sure what was the speed but he was already flooring the pedal.

must depend on situation and whether the space is enough to do overtaking.

but i suspect in your case is not enough space for overtaking,most likely alot of vehicles infront.

2litre civic should not have problem overtaking if the road is clear.